We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poipu Rd.
Description: Chef Jean Marie Josselin has created another masterpiece with this new and unique tapas restaurant. Imagine dining in a rustic, yet contemporary, style dining room with an open view of the kitchen where the wood-burning oven cooks fresh, local produce, fish and meat to perfection. Share several different tapas and taste incredible culinary creations. Enjoy refreshing signature sangrias served tableside like you have never had it before. This chic new hotspot on Kauai"s south shore will have you coming back time and time again, making each experience a memorable one. "The Whole Process is About Sharing."
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

wonderful choices of tapas. You can eat as much as you want and as much variety as you can imagine. The food was well presented and very tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank louis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    235
    107
    53
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We love this place! visit as often as we can. This time with friends from the mainland. We ordered for the group and they raved about every dish!

I recommend going with a group so you can try loads of different dishes. The new Blackened Ahi is amazing and we are loving that the Thai Bisque is back. Now if only we could talk them into bringing back the Lemon Pot De Creme! ;)

The staff is always friendly and accomodating. We look forward to something new on the menu each time we walk in the door.

The only thing I miss is when the staff used to explain each dish when they bring it to the table. Though we are regulars, our guests are not always...it's nice to have that extra touch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HIppine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a reservation for 8:30 pm to celebrate my birthday at this restaurant. When we arrived, the hostess did not even make eye contact, said "name" and began walking away. We followed her and were seated at a table in the middle of the restaurant. As soon as we sat down, the waitress informed us that the kitchen closes promptly at 9 and the sangria cart earlier, so we "better get our orders in". We mentioned that it was my birthday and she responded by saying "the kitchen closes at 9" and asking whether we had decided. We ordered 5 dishes to share between the 2 of us and the food was quite good- not spectacular but better than average. At the end of our meal, we received the bill and no birthday treat or even acknowledgement that we were there celebrating a special occasion (which obviously isn't expected but is a nice touch). The staff were clearly eager to go home and we left feeling a bit rushed. As we were leaving 2 staff were on the porch, loudly talking on cell phones, swearing and "counting my f-ing tips" as they so nicely put it. Not a great way to leave.

Helpful?
3 Thank MolAndMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josselins, Owner at Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Aloha,

I'm writing in response to your review of our restaurant and want to apologize for your experience with us. This is unacceptable behavior as we strive to be one of the best restaurants on the island of Hawaii. Can you please provide me such details as to what day was the day you came in and who was your server? Description of the two staff that you saw outside? I want to make your experience on the next visit an enjoyable one, if you would give us another opportunity. I am personally inviting you back the next time that you are here. Mahalo for your feedback!
-Andrew Ha (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great sangria!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is always a fun night! There is a wide variety of small tapas dishes to pick from and every one is excellent. The rolling sangria bar is fun and the sangria choices are great and potent! Service is top notch. The entree portions are small for the price so you'd probably be better off just picking more small tapas choices for the money. The only problem is that because it is a tapas bar you can run up a pretty hearty bill quickly just by ordering a variety of things to try. It is fun, but I personally wouldn't bring small children. The food and atmosphere aren't really conducive to kids. The live music was nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vheckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The title of this review says it all so I will provide some advice here. Keep in mind that Josselin's serves it's meals ohana (family) style. So what you order all comes out ala carte so you order the side dishes separately. If you are with a group of people you can quickly order a lot of food and rack up a pretty high bill (I was with seven people and the toal bill including drinks came out to around $560). So if you are prone to sticker shock keep that in mind. That said, it was a truly great meal and the price did not bother me as it was considered money well spent. Special shout out to Taylor the bartender who kept the drinks coming and recommended a couple of very tasty ones.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing