We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Tapas on the South Shore”
Review of Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill
Price range: $31 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poipu Rd.
Description: Chef Jean Marie Josselin has created another masterpiece with this new and unique tapas restaurant. Imagine dining in a rustic, yet contemporary, style dining room with an open view of the kitchen where the wood-burning oven cooks fresh, local produce, fish and meat to perfection. Share several different tapas and taste incredible culinary creations. Enjoy refreshing signature sangrias served tableside like you have never had it before. This chic new hotspot on Kauai"s south shore will have you coming back time and time again, making each experience a memorable one. "The Whole Process is About Sharing."
Issaquah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas on the South Shore”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Dropped into Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill on a Friday evening at 7:30 PM with no reservation. They offered to seat us in the lounge, which they did. There is a gorgeous, low wood table at the end of the bar with two comfortable couches. Perfectly set for four (we were three), it could easily seat 6 adults. Service was perfect, with our waiter suggesting some of his favorites. We tried some of his, and more. Each plate was excellent and generous for three to share. Will be back again next year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    235
    107
    52
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“WOW! Coming back for more.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place was wonderful. We loved it so much we came back. They have sangria carts to choose from 3 different sangrias. Very strong drinks which is good. Amazing presentation and delicious food. Wonderful, friendly staff. LOVE LOVE LOVE.... Wish we had it here in Chicago.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angm212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“tasty, pricey”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

when we visited Josselin's when it first opened, it had many more dishes, some of them quite small. It has pared down the menu and made the dishes somewhat larger, so it is not true tapas. We each had two dishes, and that was plenty. We had the red-wine classic and pomegranate sangrias, but excellent (the lychee is too sweet for us). A salad came with an ingredient not listed on the menu that I don't like, and it was promptly and cheerfully replaced. Salad, duck and shrimp tacos, and squid were all excellent. Good, professional service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Ryan at the bar was really nice and friendly. We wandered in for a drink, looking for a happy hour in Poipu and had not previously heard of/looked into this place. We had excellent sangrias, lychee and pomegranate were both tasty and only $5 on happy hour menu. I ordered the pumpkin ravioli tapa and it was delicious. If we were staying closer to Poipu, we would go back, but we're in kekaha, so it's a bit of a drive for us. Overall, a lovely place to chill out for a while after a day of sightseeing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TENNESSEE
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and GREAT SERVICE”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here 2/23/14 and it was excellent. The service was top notch. It is tapas dining and the selections are quite varied. I had the tuna roll and it was delicious as was the scallop dish. We also had the beet ravi's as well as the salad with goat cheese. One note , they have a sangria cart they roll around the tables. It is not free, $11 a glass, but if you like sangria you would probably like it. The only negative was that they did not explain that there was a charge for it. We do not drink sangria so we did not order but they should notify you that there is a charge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IRONMANTENNESSEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing