We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service while keeping a friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poipu Rd.
Description: Chef Jean Marie Josselin has created another masterpiece with this new and unique tapas restaurant. Imagine dining in a rustic, yet contemporary, style dining room with an open view of the kitchen where the wood-burning oven cooks fresh, local produce, fish and meat to perfection. Share several different tapas and taste incredible culinary creations. Enjoy refreshing signature sangrias served tableside like you have never had it before. This chic new hotspot on Kauai"s south shore will have you coming back time and time again, making each experience a memorable one. "The Whole Process is About Sharing."
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and service while keeping a friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Four of us enjoyed a very pleasant evening enhanced by the food and service at Josselin's.
Upon walking up the stairs to the entrance one is greeted by a very friendly staff and this continues throughout the entire visit. You feel welcome and relaxed here.
Their special drink is Sangria, three of their special blends. Not the very sweet Sangria one normally encounters but very interesting blends. I like the Sangria.
We ordered five appetizers, of which we shared and some of us loved them and some thought the sauces were a little too sweet. The Duck tacos were especially good and the Nan bread with pork. We also shared four entrees and they're were all very, very good. The Butterfish is perfection.
The only reasons I have given four stars is that you can't do half stars, which I would rate four and a half, and that everyone has different tastes and a couple times it was mentioned that the sauces were too sweet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickHLihue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    235
    107
    53
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
529 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Great service and good food upstairs in a shopping center.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a first class waiter who was anxious to please, but looking over the specialty drinks list, I had noticed a couple of drinks with some kind of Hawaiian vodka. Picking on the waiter a bit, I asked what they used to make this unusual vodka. With a straight face, absolutely sincerely, he patiently explained that their vodka was distilled from fermented sea water from the Hawaiian sea. Fermented sea water? Yes, absolutely (no pun apparently intended). We will be searching for the distillery to investigate this phenomenon and report it to the scientific community.

We skipped the Hawaiian vodka and split four orders of tapas, which were perfectly prepared except for the roasted cauliflower, which was much over-salted--that dish was immediately taken off the bill when we asked the waiter to tell the chef about this.

The menu was significantly different from the one on the restaurant's web site. We had a dish of risotto between servings of lamb meat balls and spare ribs, all of which came with other complementary ingredients. Overall we were very pleased with the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

After checking out all the menus at this shopping area of varying cafes and restaurants we decided to try Josselin's and were very glad we did. The menu was interesting and very well explained by a lovely waiter who was both patient and informative. His knowledge of the menu made it easier to decide what to order. The service was quick and the meals presented were pleasing to the eye and definitely to the palate. Our only regret was that we passed on dessert to try the local ice-cream at Lapperts and were left feeling very disappointed. We should have had the dessert at Josselin's...Lapperts was very ordinary.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stokes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahola, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Worth a Detour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The experience was pleasant, but quite ordinary. Not worth the detour to climb the steps.
The food was good, but overpriced. Service was very spotty. Very few locals, so mostly the visitors to whom this shopping center caters. Better deal is Lapperrt's Ice Cream store across the street!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“2013 update”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The place is continuously and definitively our number 1 on the Island for quality of food and service. There are few new additions to the menu, all delicious. There are few which kept the name but changed the receipt, are different but equally tasty. There are now theme evenings; each time is something different and special. Live music was introduced on selected evenings, as it is really good it is another nice addition. Tapas is good for short break and for long and celebrated dinner as well as everything in between. This alone is top qualification. But the greatest added value is the Chef with all his inventions we so much appreciate, and the dedicated team, which makes you welcome and feeling as with family. For first time visitors: the menu is extensive, discuss with the staff what your taste and preferences are, they will be happy to suggest. For returning visitors: check what the Chef is working on this evening, it might be something new and special. Each visit there might be an extraordinary culinary experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing