We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poipu Perfect Grand Hyatt and James Beard Recommended”
Review of Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill
Price range: $31 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poipu Rd.
Description: Chef Jean Marie Josselin has created another masterpiece with this new and unique tapas restaurant. Imagine dining in a rustic, yet contemporary, style dining room with an open view of the kitchen where the wood-burning oven cooks fresh, local produce, fish and meat to perfection. Share several different tapas and taste incredible culinary creations. Enjoy refreshing signature sangrias served tableside like you have never had it before. This chic new hotspot on Kauai"s south shore will have you coming back time and time again, making each experience a memorable one. "The Whole Process is About Sharing."
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Poipu Perfect Grand Hyatt and James Beard Recommended”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Asked the Granh Hyatt Concierge for a recommendation. She gave me a long list of choices but I said "I don't hear any recommenations in there". She said "Josselin's you'll love it" She was right.

Only recommendation is order appetizers seperate from entrees. As it's a Tapa's bar orders come out as they are ready, not as they are ordered. My blackened Ono came out first followed closley by our Watermelon salad came out. They tasted great together, but everyone else wanted to eat mine!

The Sangra cart was a real treat. For $9.50 a glass it was great. Wish we had a place like this in Seattle.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    235
    107
    52
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
central cove
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exceptional !”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Staff was professional, knowledgeable and efficient, the food was delightful. We went back a second time just to try additional tapas. It was nice to watch chef orchestrate his sous and prep. they did an exceptional job.
If you only budget for one pricey restaurant let it be this one, you won't regret the experience.
It's also fun to watch the folks at the bar get stupid with foo foo rum drinks.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spudcatCentralCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wow! Were we surprised!”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

OK. Hawaii (in this case, Kauai) is not my favorite place to vacation. Increasingly, I find it to be not much different than home in California. OK, the weather is a bit better and it is less densely populated, but increasingly it is a land of chain restaurants and strip malls. In three trips to Kauai we have found the food to be mediocre and the service to be disinterested (Roy's, for example.) That changed on this trip. We tried Josselin's based on a recommendation from the guys from whom we rented the condo. We were surprised. The food was excellent, the service attentive and the prices, by Hawaii standards, very reasonable. We paid the same amount for our dinner here as we paid for a mediocre fish taco/fish and chips lunch at nearby Brennecke’s. What a difference in the food!
The first interesting thing at Josselin's is the sangria cart. It rolls to your table with three variations including an interesting white wine/lychee fruit concoction. Both sangrias we had were excellent and lasted through dessert. We had a shrimp and pork shumai that was delicate and flavorful, a pork taco that was anything but, served on a delicate shell that was more Asian than hispanic and two or three other tapas. Every dish was excellent as was the chocolate souffle with a local fruit salsa. We will definitely return.
A great choice!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SenorVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillard, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun Atmoshpere, Professional Service!”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a must for dining on Kauai. It starts the minute you make a reservation (which I recommend) and extends throughout every employee in the restaurant! We were professionally greeted and seated by the hostess. Our busser introduced himself and was attentive the entire night. Our server was knowledgable and recommended some wonderful dishes based upon our tastes. When we left one of the chefs made eye contact and thanked us from behind the open kitchen. Yes, they wowed me with their service!

The food was fantastic! Let's start with the Sangria, they have a table-side cart where you can choose from three different styles. They even give you a sample so you can be sure to make the right choice.
The dishes are all designed to share, hence the name tapas. The Tempura Ahi roll was terrific, so good that my non-sushi eating husband tried a slice and liked it. I also recommend the Winter Risotto, and Roasted Feta Salad. Warm feta cheese that melts in your mouth complimented by a light vinaigrette dressing. We also liked the Korean Short ribs, nice flavor and they are served over a rice noodle wrapped vegetable medley in sweet-tangy sauce. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu, talk to your server about what you like and they will steer you in the right direction.

We liked it so much we returned again.

The portions are large for a tapas place, the value is terrific and the service was top notch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReneeHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally delicious!”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We saved Josselin's for a special dinner. It was delicious and totally worth the wait. We ended up ordering 4 plates plus 3 drinks included the blueberry sangria. My husband ordered the big tapas ono plate (bigger and very tasty!) and I got the watermelon salad (also really yummy!).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanneHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing