We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good burger!”
Review of Bubba Burgers

Bubba Burgers
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretty good burger!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I really enjoyed and was glad that i stopped at the Hanelei bay location. I got my burger the signature bubba style with cheese and i also enjoyed a large pickle. Both were definitely in the top 10 burgers I've had, although the one piece of advice was they went very heavy on the sauce so if you don't like too much sauce on your burger you might want to speak up.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCGirl5201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    429
    281
    86
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Go to Hanalei Bay location”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband had the most amazing banana shake at the Hanalei Bay location and I promised myself I'd get one for me when we got to Poipu. Well unfortunately the shake tasted like a McDonald's vanilla milkshake and when I inquired, she told me they use a syrup and not real bananas like in Hanalei Bay. I advise you hit that one. It's well worth the drive and all the delicious calories. I only wish I would have ordered one for myself then.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonntag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“Slow walk-up counter service and a decent 'nothing-you-haven't-tried-before' burger.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Bubba's is one of those places you've read about in the guide books that you 'must try'! We found it to be nothing 'out of the ordinary', however it was a decent burger and offered 'cheap eats' in the high-end resort town of Poipu.

Waiting in line to place the order at the walk-up counter was PAINFULLY slow. The small restaurant offered some indoor booths and minimal outdoor seating. TVs graced the wall and the stereo screamed awful country music. There was, however a nice view out the window at sunset.

The burgers were good, but nothing different than what you've tried elsewhere in 'upscale burger restaurants' (ie. not fast food like Micky D's), so don't get sucked in by the hype. I would highly recommend they hire more staff to cope with the long lines. We found Kauai in general had extremely slow service at walk-up counter style establishments like Bubbas, Starbucks, hot-dog places, etc.

The restaurant is in a high-end outdoor strip mall in Poipu which made for a nice place to wander around afterwards and get dessert at an ice-cream store!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great burgers for lunch”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had burgers one day after the beach. They were really good just as thy make them with no changes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Red meat”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was very impressed with the burgers that they served and also good country atmosphere. Service was quick and friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing