We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find with a Great Hostess”
Review of The Palmwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palmwood
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilauea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2011

My wife and I spent the first three nights of our honeymoon at the Palmwood in late January. We stayed in the East Room which was really nice; the view from the back patio was wonderful, overlooking the valley and mountains behind the inn. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean and well kept. Eddi makes an amazing breakfast! The fresh fruit smoothies were excellent, along with the coffee and hot teas. Eddi made some squash pancakes our last morning there and reduced some blueberries and other fruit to make a simple syrup, much like a compote. What made even cooler was the other couple there our first morning celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary. There is also a lot of privacy at the Palmwood if you just want to have a lazy day. If you're looking for a great place to stay, but don't want to be in a hotel, the Palmwood is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for The Palmwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

My partner and I Stayed at the Palmwood the first 7 days of December 2010 to celebrate his 50th birthday and had a wonderful time, the photos on the web site are exactly what is there, clean and exquisitely decorated and looks brand new, location was great easy to go north or south depending on weather/activity. Eddi was a fantastic host, all her recommendations for food and trips were fantastic, as with many reviews of the Palmwood her breakfasts are incredible, my favorite was poached eggs on crab cakes, fresh smoothies, incredible coffee an amazing start to the day. If you want to be left alone with peace and quite, and to completely relax away from everyday hassle and noise I would highly recommend The Palmwood we cant wait to visit again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clivesmith67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

A B&B owner once told me "When you have the words bed and breakfast in the name of your place, you'd better be good at providing both." The beds at the Palmwood were great but the breakfasts were absolutely fantastic. Our host Eddi cooked something different every day for a week, all made from fresh ingredients. The grounds were immaculate and beautiful -- soothing Japanese influence everywhere but with plenty of modernity. The view from the back decks and lawn was great. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We loved our stay at The Palmwood Inn. The room was gorgeous, the grounds are breathtaking and the breakfast was fresh, creative and delicious each morning. We stayed at the Palmwood for 3 nights out of 8 on the island and we were sad to leave when it was time to go. It is in a very quiet and secluded location and very close to beautiful Moloaa Beach. Eddi provided us with a lot of information of sights to see near by and on the north shore. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to friends. It was a very romantic and luxurious stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thogan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying with Eddi at The Palmwood on our honeymoon. Eddi's breakfasts were hands down the best breakfasts either of us had ever had, my husband was especially overwhelmed with how good it was. The place is stunning. The outdoor design is particularly amazing, with an outdoor chaise lounge BED, a gorgeous mountain view, hammocks, and the most romantic outdoor kitchen to cook a delicious fish on the grill meal ever. Tiki torches, hot tub, screening pavillion, snorkel gear, beach chairs, you couldn't ask for more. Eddi is a wonderful hostess. Thanks Eddi so much for a lovely few days, we wish we could have stayed longer and hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Loved the Palmwood! Eddy is a wonderful host. Very quiet! Loved the hot tub!!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank skivler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Palmwood for four nights and we believe that it is the best B&B we have ever stayed at. The decor was soothing and artistic, Eddi has really made this as a destination to relax! We looked forward to our delicious breakfasts every morning and she would prepare everything so thoughtfully (so many delicious options!). We loved our private room (the west room) with the water features, outdoor shower and hot tub. It was a perfect place to return after a fun day at the beach (Ke'e was our favorite!) and hiking. Eddi gave us so many great suggestions for hiking and beaches that was very helpful to plan our day. This B&B alone makes us want to return to Kauai so we can enjoy all the amazing sights and activities of the island but come back to a personalized and relaxing place to rest!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmwood

Address: 6867 Koolau Road, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilauea
Price Range: $352 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palmwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palmwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmwood Hotel Kilauea
The Palmwood Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing