We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, Romance, and Renewal at the Palmwood”
Review of The Palmwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palmwood
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilauea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2008

My husband and I found an absolute gem when we found The Palmwood Inn on Kauai. We traveled to Kauai for the first half of our 10-year wedding anniversary trip in November 2008. Owner Eddi Henry was the most gracious hostess and innkeeper--and a phenomenal cook! And such a nice person! Very down to earth. We felt like were at home (even away from home). We came a long way, from MD, so comfort was important to us. Breakfasts were delicious, and we always got to pick from five or six options the night before each breakfast (all of them tempting and delicious!). Very private (you have your own side entrance to your room); very, very quiet and peaceful, especially at night. We stayed in the East Room and loved the various amenities--namely, the outdoor shower, our own hot tub, our own hammock overlooking the amazingly beautiful mountains. Eddi provides you with beach towels, beach chairs, and snorkel gear. You get a pretty decent sized small refrigerator for leftovers and wine and such. The inn is very eco-friendly, which held tremendous appeal for me (I teach yoga and try to practice conscious living)--organic, locally grown, fresh food was served; organic shampoos and soaps, and even natural fiber linens and bathrobes! The inn sits cozily among the foothills of Kauai and feels very much like a mountain getaway yet is only a mile from the beach (closest beaches are Larsen's Beach and Moloa'a Boach). Best of both worlds. (Although I don't recommend walking to the beach b/c of the busy road you have to take to get to it.) We found the north shore to be quieter and happily away from the hustle and bustle of the south shore or even the Hanalei area (which is charming but more populated). Closest towns are Kilauea (5 min north), Hanalei (10 min north), and Kapa'a (about 30 min south, near the airport in Lihue). The inn is a little hard to find in the dark, so make sure you get good directions from Eddi. I would recommend this lovely little inn to anyone looking for a high-quality stay where you are very much treated as a guest yet also are greeted daily as a friend and are given as much privacy and personal space as you'd like. We are definitely coming back to the peaceful Palmwood Inn and we wish Eddi and her husband Stephen the very best! When you stay there, tell them Kathleen and Jeff from Maryland said hello!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kkhyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for The Palmwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Palmwood was definitely the most wonderful bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. On our trip to Kauai, we stayed at the Palmwood, the Westin Ocean resorts, and the Hyatt. The Palmwood was, without question, the best of the three. Eddy was a wonderful hostess who had delicious breakfast ready for us in the morning with different choices of juices, coffee, tea, smoothies, lovely exotic entrees, and fruit fresh from the farmer's market. We had the West room, which was unbelievably perfect, with a hot tub all to ourselves, an outdoor shower surrounded by a beautifully landscaped waterfall and pond, the most comfortable bed ever, and a gorgeous view right outside our door. At night, little glowing lights outside along the pond and waterfall as well as tiki torches that could be lit gave our room and lanai a romantic ambience. Everything was beautifully decorated and very secluded. There was even a barbecue area and media pavilion, as well as a lovely veranda upstairs where we watched the sunrise every morning. Eddy had a supply of beach mats, snorkeling gear, beach towels, and ice cooler all ready for us. She paid such careful attention to detail. One time, we brought back leftovers from dinner and put them in our minifridge, but we didn't have any plates or utensils to eat with. The next day, we noticed that Eddy had put some plates, napkins, and utensils next to our leftovers for us. Every day, we would come back and find our room immaculate, with all our luggage neatly stowed in the closet. We could not have asked for a better place to stay our first time in Kauai. I would recommend anybody looking for a relaxing, memorable getaway to stay at the Palmwood. It is definitely more than worth the price and most likely the best place to stay in Kauai.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

The Palmwood was just great!!! The best Food on the Island by far! It was always a pleasure knowing that we could start our day off with a good meal and good company.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enorris001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Although it has been three months since our absolutely AMAZING stay at the Palmwood Inn, our enthusiasm for this unique boutique B & B has not waned. We are from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada (a large city west of Toronto). The Palmwood Inn came highly recommended to us by a young honeymoon couple who were there in July 2007. On that verbal recommendation, we chose this place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and a birthday. Our stay was phenomenal. We have stayed at many great B & B's across Canada, but this one on Kauai is certainly in a league of its own.
You can expect to pay more at the Palmwood Inn than at other B & B's, but the quality at this 'boutique' B & B certainly justifies the price. The experience began as we drove up the landscaped hillside driveway to find ourselves in front of a Japanese-style hilltop country estate setting. WOW! The view was breathtaking. We found our hostess, Eddi, to be warm and welcoming. The decor of the house and the landscaping of the outside grounds were personally designed and cared for by Eddi and her husband. Great attention was given to detail.
We chose to stay in the East Room (slightly cheaper than the West Room) and found it to be extremely comfortable. The bed was GREAT! The open windows and ceiling fan kept the room at a comfortable temperature. The calming sound of running water could be constantly heard through the window. Yes, off in the distance, the early morning roosters could also be heard, but not enough to disturb our sleep. Although there is an ensuite bathroom complete with shower, we opted to shower outside in the oriental-style facility constructed of exotic tropical hardwood. For those people staying in the West Room, they have exclusive access to the outdoor waterfall shower. Each guest room has french doors that open to a totally private deck with a spectacular view of the mountains. Each deck has a private 2-person hot tub (which we enjoyed at least twice a day), 2 luxurious lounge chairs, and a 2-person hammock. Although these decks are side by side, oriental grass screens and plants have made them very private. The rooms are tastefully furnished with designer furniture made of palmwood and leather. Guest rooms are equipped with a wall-mounted flat screen T.V. Upstairs on the main floor is the kitchen, dining room, and common living room with a mountain-view wraparound deck. Eddi was very attentive to our dietary needs. Luckily, we were willing to let her be creative with the breakfasts. She is an excellent gourmet chef. We particularly remember her banana-coconut-macadamia nut loaf and her poached pears. YUMMY! No breakfast menu was repeated during our 3-night stay. Morning coffee was ready at 7 a.m. (to enjoy in your room or on your deck), followed by Eddi's tradition to serve breakfast between 8 and 9 a.m. Sitting around the table in the dining area with the other guest couple was most enjoyable. They were a young couple from Florida on their honeymoon. At times, we were so engrossed in our conversation that we didn't realize half the morning was gone. Everyday, we would exchange our notes on sights to see and activities to do while vacationing on Kauai. Although each guest room is equipped with the Ultimate Kauai Guidebook (6th edition), we highly recommend purchasing a copy of this amazing book before you leave home. The nearest beach to this B & B is Moloa'a Bay. Since one can expect daily rain showers - last about 7 minutes - we chose to drive the short distance to the beach. Best swimming on this bay is on the protected south shore. Eddi does provide her guests with beach mats and snorkel equipment. For those into hiking, you can hike north along Ko'olau Road and take the trail to Larson's Beach or go south on Ko'olau Road from the main gates of the B & B to Moloa'a Road. When it came to dining out for dinner, Eddi was happy to give suggestions for restaurants along the north shore and as far down as Kapa'a. For an island of only about 70,000 residents, Kauai boasts an amazing selection of excellent dining establishments. (An outdoor BBQ is available for guests wishing to stay in and prepare their own dinner. Bar fridge provided with each guest room.)
The Palmwood Inn is definitely a B & B that we would like to re-visit on our next trip to Kauai. It is very difficult for us to come up with anything we disliked about the place. The Palmwood Inn is well cared for and a great deal of consideration was given to ensure that we were comfortable during our stay. As we told Eddi, her property is a photographer's paradise. The photos attached to this review are only a sampling of what we captured during our quiet and romantic stay at the Palmwood Inn. What a fabulous hideaway to celebrate an anniversary!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NikongirlD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Our stay at the Palmwood was phenomenal. We have stayed at many B&Bs on the mainland and this was our first on the islands. It definably was in our top three. The only thing I didn’t like was breakfast was served in the dining area with the other guest. I just prefer to have it in my pajamas in my room, total personal preference. The breakfast was delicious. And Eddi was very accommodating, asking what we liked, didn’t like, vegan, vegetarian, coffee, tea, allergies, etc. The rooms were really private. We had our own private entrance so we really felt secluded. The deck is next to the other room but it was still very private. Private enough to use our personal hot tub that sits on our side of the deck. The outdoor shower was also so secluded, total privacy. I can’t stress how secluded it is! The inn is on a large plateau with the nearest neighbor miles away. In fact the only way you can see any neighboring houses is if you walk to the edge of the property and look just right. We had an amazing couples massage on our deck. I strongly suggest it. Very reasonable and relaxing. Eddi can give you her number or you can check it out on this website
http://www.blueseawaves.com/profil.htm
There are many beaches nearby, but some of the best ones require a little walk/hike. Larsons beach is great for sunning or walking around, very pretty. Not great for swimming as it is full of lava rock. We drove down to po’ipu beach on the south shore. I know it gets a lot of great reviews but we didn’t like it. It’s full of coral rock and sea urchins. The snorkeling was good but not enough to outweigh the bad. The beach is ok but had a lot of debris on it. If you go you have to have reef shoes or water socks.
There are a LOT of waterfalls on the island. There are a few you can see but just driving up to them. They are Wailua falls, ‘Opeaka’a falls and Roadside falls. There’s so much to see that we couldn’t fit into our schedule. If we go back I would like to take the movie tour and a snorkeling tour of the Na Pali Coast and Niihau (the forbidden isle).
The winter months are not the best time for snorkeling and it does rain a bit more, although it is the rainiest place on earth! If you have any other questions I recommend “The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook” this is also the book they have in all the rooms at the B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meaganmarie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaenderAbenteuerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Lucana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmwood

Address: 6867 Koolau Road, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilauea
Price Range: $352 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palmwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palmwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmwood Hotel Kilauea
The Palmwood Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing