We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful luxury B&B with great breakfasts”
Review of The Palmwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palmwood
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilauea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Our honeymoon at The Palmwood was amazing. This B&B had a wonderful touch of subdued luxury that fit right in with the gorgeous landscape and incredible views. The decor was absolutely beautiful, the rooms were cozy, lovingly decorated and there were special touches everywhere. We enjoyed the private jacuzzi outside of our room every evening, and the outside shower was a very special highlight, complete with very nice and natural bath products, orchids and starry nights, I don't think we ever used the indoors one. The garden hammock was perfect for relaxing and enjoying nature.
This is one of the quietest and most relaxing places we have ever stayed in. Far removed from noises, people, businesses, this was the best way to disconnect and enjoy nature and good company. I would love to go back to Kauai just to stay here.
Edi was an incredible hostess. Her breakfasts were absolutely delicious and I wished we could have eaten there every meal. We walked to the beach nearby often, and then drove to explore the rest of the island. I cannot say enough how nice The Palmwood was and how well worth it it was to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NataliaRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for The Palmwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

We just returned from a 6 night honeymoon on Kauai, the first 3 of which we stayed at the Palmwood (East room) and we can't say enough good things! The view from the lanai is just gorgeous. The Inn is in such a peaceful area and only about a mile (easy walk) to Moloa'a Bay which is a great beach to spend the afternoon. And the breakfasts were incredibly delicious. Eddi made something different every day; it was exciting to wake up and wonder what surprises were awaiting us at the breakfast table! I would recommend this to any couple.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Palmwood for a week for our honeymoon on Kauai. The facilities were fantastic - clean, comfortable and luxurious. We stayed in the west room and it was very private, with your own private hot tub, outdoor shower and hammock, we felt very comfortable and the only way we knew someone else was there was when we left and saw another car in the driveway. The outdoor shower was our favourite and was wonderful after a day at the beach, We never took a shower indoors! Kauai, especially the North Side, shuts down pretty early which makes for a very relaxing trip. Very quiet, relaxing and romantic.

Breakfasts were delicious, I wish I could remember them all, each day was different and surpassed the previous. Very healthy and creative Another thing really appreciated, was that Edi allowed us to keep our luggage in the lounge and use the shower before heading to the airport even though there were guests coming in that afternoon.

We loved running to Moala'a Bay or Larson's Beach jumping in the water and running back before dark. Both beaches are desserted, though not fantastic fo swimming. The inn is about 20 minutes from the nearest restaurants

When we go back to Kauai, we will be staying at the Palmwood!

Room Tip: West Room!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is a wonder spot for couples looking for peace and quiet. We stayed in two different rooms: the East Room, which has the most comfortable bed we've ever slept on and a great outside lounge area and garden, and the Upper Suite, which is very large with a top floor deck. Both rooms were very clean and had great breezes for a comfortable sleep. Overall, the house is beautifully decorated and the landscaping is gorgeous and well-maintained. Eddi's breakfasts are by far the BEST FOOD ON THE ISLAND. So delicious, so fresh, and always served with a smile. It really doesn't get any better than the Palmwood on Kauai!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon and would highly reccomend this place to any traveler wanting to get off the beaten path in Kauai. It's a beautiful property, very tastefully decorated, wonderful soft Egyptain cotton sheets, artistic furniture, and beautiful landscaping.

Although its not immediately near the ocean (a short walk or drive down the hill to Moloa' Bay) you never feel like you ar missing out because the view from the patio is so serene. The outdoor shower on the west side is fabulous- you overlook the entire valley amist bamboo and flowers and lava rock. The hair products and soaps are high end (Jason) and plentiful. The outdoor kitchen is great for cooking simple meals, and comes supplied with everything you need. The breakfasts were OUTSTANDING. We are foodaholics, and take great pride in eating well. We were there for 5 nights and every morning was such a treat. Edy also was kind enough to prepare a "light breakfast" on the day we had to leave at 7 for our helicopter ride. This included a smoothie in to-go cups, hot coffee, freshly baked cookies, and an egg cheese and bacon wrapped in puff pastry. we were so appreciative of the effort she made in feeding us at such and early hour.
Overall this was a truly fabulous place to stay. Its small, intimate and private, allowing you to enjoy the surroundings and your travel partner. Perfect for a romantic holiday or a solo getaway.

Room Tip: We loved the west side, its a bit more private since the breakfast room in on the east side. But wit...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Palmwood, and it was glorious. There was a mix-up with the reservation (we had reserved the West room, but ended up in the East room...no worries, though, the East room was lovely as well). As a honeymooner, I definitely wanted peace and quiet and we definitely got that. I felt like we were a million miles from everything. Another reviewer mentioned that he/she felt that Eddi not available...that is perhaps a bit true, but I felt that she gave us a good overview of the property and nearby things to do/places to eat and that was perfect for us. There was also a copy of a great guide book provided in our room...I like to figure things out for myself a bit anyway! The breakfasts were amazing...we even had an early morning kayak trip and Eddi packed us coffee, delicious breakfast burritos and cookies to go. We also took advantage of the projection TV in the common room (where breakfast is served)...picked up a Redbox rental at the Foodland in Princeville (about 15 minutes away) and camped out on the floor with snacks. I wish there had been comfy couches to sit in...but we made do on the floor with pillows. We also used the private outdoor jacuzzi (each of the bottom floor rooms has their own) and the hammock. The bed was super comfortable...a memory foam mattress on a Asian style platform bed with very nice linens. The little refrigerator at the outdoor kitchen was broken when we arrived...no problem, we were provided a little replacement refrigerator in short order for the beer and snacks we picked up at Costco.
The feel here is being away from it all...if you need a travel planner to figure out your itinerary, you are better off at a resort. If you want a quiet (only 3 rooms!), beautiful getaway within a short drive of Princeville and Hanalei, this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelQueen129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The Palmwood is perfect. We loved that it was hidden away, nestled in the mountains- but only a short drive to the beach and great shopping/dining. We stayed in the upstairs suite- loved the shower!!! Our view from our lanai was breathtaking and we slept so soundly every night with our windows open and the cool breeze drifting in. We woke up every morning to the aroma of freshly brewed coffee and the smell of Eddi's delicious breakfasts. Eddi is a wonderful hostess- she gives great (and honest) advice on the best places to eat and beaches to visit. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Kauai. Thank you so much, Eddi!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoiseLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmwood

Address: 6867 Koolau Road, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilauea
Price Range: $352 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palmwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palmwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmwood Hotel Kilauea
The Palmwood Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing