We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fruit!”

Banana Joe's Fruitstand
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Kilauea
Attraction details
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
275 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Good fruit!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We like this place - as kama'aina - for the local fruit and vegetables which leave supermarket prices locally for dead! We tend to buy our bananas, fresh root ginger and vegetables here above all as they are local, good and very reasonable in price. For some from the mainland, the overall experience and decor might be a bit "rustic" but value and quality are important on Kaua'i where nothing is cheap! Being well healed is all very well but a dollar saved is another dollar to enjoy elsewhere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great after a Beach Visit”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Banana Joe's is a great way to refuel after a visit to one of the local beaches! The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The smoothies were refreshing and tasty. Banana Joe's also provides a variety of local produce and products. There is a nice gazebo outside to sit and enjoy your beverage or food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Allergy friendly frozen frosties!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

It was refreshing to be able to order frosties that are made solely with frozen bananas or pineapple (or both). No preservatives or dairy and the juicers used to create the frosties are never used with nuts. We also purchased delicious fresh fruit and veggies. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PurpleMuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Not sure how this place got such high ratings. The smoothy menu was limited (meaning one kind). I'll be looking for other options.

Helpful?
1 Thank _derekboyes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious banana bread but indifferent service”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband loves banana bread and Banana Joe's met his expectations (earning a 4.5/5 stars) especially since it included chocolate chips! However, the service was poor as the staff seemed indifferent to our being there and barely looked up from the counter to take our money. It could have been a fun, quirky foodie highlight of our trip (the stand itself looks so cute from the road) but the service brought the experience down for us.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank KaT95682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Joe's Fruitstand also viewed

 

Been to Banana Joe's Fruitstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing