We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super sweet, affordable cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Acres Cottages
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in one of Tony's cottages for three nights while staying in Kauai. It was the perfect spot to land for a few days. It's a quaint, clean space that has everything you need. The space is on a citrus farm and you are free to wander the land. The complimentary breakfast was especially nice. The cottages are right near Common Ground-- an incredibly good farm-fresh restaurant. The jacuzzi wasn't working when we were there but the spot is so perfect we didn't even seem to mind. The cost is half that of a traditional hotel and has much more personality. Tony and family are very genuine and generous. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Two are smaller and one is a little larger. Three rooms in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Green Acres Cottages for 7 nights May 24-31, 2013 and I must say the service, location, and property is excellent. It is in close promity to Kapaa (south on Kuhio Hwy) and to the north coast of Kauai (Hanalei, Princeville, Haena Beach Park, Kee Beach, etc..). It is also a very peaceful and quiet location. The only thing you will hear on the property is the chickens wake up call in the morning. (Chickens are everywhere on Kauai).

It feels like home and is clean. I traveled a long way from Texas for my first ever trip to a Hawaiian island (Kauai) and I'm glad I picked GAC for lodging. The owners Tony and Tran are very friendly. I did enjoy cracking my own macadamia nuts on the back porch. That was a treat after the long fun day at the beach and hiking trail.

So if you want a great excellent lodging experience on Kauai then Green Acres Cottages is the place. Great for solo travelers.

Thank u Tony and Tran! See u next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveO1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Green Acres Cottages a total of 7 nights and we do not regret it at all. It has three cottages and they have a good price-to-quality ratio (it is not expensive at all considering the other alternatives in the island).

It does not have the luxuries of a resort (large swimming pool, perfect rooms) but it has other things that make it more interesting as a lodge: it feels more like being at home compared to a hotel (which we appreciate when we travel), it has a huge yard full of fruit trees (citrics, mangoes, ...) where the kids can run freely (and you can pick the fruits if you want), it has a jacuzzi (we did not use it though) and the owners (Diane and Tony) take good care of the customers (the carrot cake that Diane prepared for us was delicious!).

We stayed in the nautic room, which is very convenient for a family of 4 members. This room has a queen bed and two twin beds. Also it features a refrigerator and cooking gear that is useful if you plan to cook your meals (which we did extensively).

If you like the hikes and beaches of the north and east shores of Kauai'i, this is definitively a good option for lodging.

Room Tip: If you are a party of four, for instance a family with two kids, consider asking for the Nautic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miquelg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

As a budget traveller it is not easy to find a good acoommodation in Kaua'i (except on campsites), so we've been happy to find the Green Acres Cottages recommendation in the Lonely Planet Guidebook. And what we found when we got there was a lot over our expectations! The hospitality of Tony and Diane, the cozy and clean room (Nautical Dreams,which is big enough for 4 guests), the kitchenette with table, the fruits and cakes, the mac nuts, the dvds in our room and much more made us feel at home. We've been travelling for 4 month and this was one of the best places we stayed in! Go for it!

Best Pizza (European Style): Hanalei Pizza
Best Na Pali Cruise (if you are not seasick): North Shore Charters

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettlae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at Nautical Dreams, we were there for 3 nights, we live in Honolulu but wanted to stay away from traffic and city view. Ocean is not a new thing for us and we chose to be there. It was perfect and we really appreciated Tony and Diane hospitality. Room was clean, especially for the Macadamia nuts basket had been served for all guests. We love the quiet environment, green trees, orange, grape fruits, lemons, picked them up whatever we want and eat, it was great and you will never get that kind of feeling in big city. Tony let us use for his barbecue grill and it was such a great time for our vacation. I would encourage for everyone to be there for being quiet, stay away from traffic, this place is not near bar & night club. Any way, we did right choose for our stay in Kauai, We will be there again if we visit to Kauai. WE LOVE Green Acres Cottage. Mahalo, Moe & Ryoko

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent five days with Tony, the owner of Green Acres Cottages, in the “Nautical Dreams” cottage which lies directly behind his house.

Tony took care of us through thick and thin. When I was sick and vomiting for two days straight, he offered to take me to the hospital, gifted me a bottle of Tylenol, Pepto-Bismol and cans of chicken soup. His care was truly genuine and comforting. When you are not feeling well far away from home, a host’s kindness can really make the difference.

His selflessness didn’t stop there, when our Apple didn’t pick up the wireless signal, he let us borrow his personal laptop anytime we wanted so we could watch Netflix movies. His friendly wife and son were also on-hand to assist us with anything we needed.

Our cozy cottage overlooked Tony’s fruit orchard, which guests are free to pick from and nosh on. Upon check-in we found fresh fruit form the garden and homemade brownies in our fridge.

Our stand alone suite cost $75 a night, which is really the price for standard room, but we were upgraded free of charge due to availability. There cottage had a small kitchenette equipped with the essentials: dishware, a hot plate, microwave and refrigerator. We also had bath towels, beach towels and a cooler at our disposal. Tony allowed us to launder our clothes complimentary as well.

They have boogie boards, old beach chairs and snorkel gear stacked up on the side of the house to use for a day at the beach. In the middle of the cottage cluster sits a hot tub, which always seemed like a great idea, but we never dipped in.

When I say that Green Acre Cottages is a hidden gem, I really mean it. There is a very small, almost imperceptible sign, bearing its name next to a dusty driveway. In the day it was difficult to find. At night it was so laughable it became a game; we had to memorize every landmark in order to use as clues for when to slow down and begin the search for our driveway.

To stay at the Green Acres Cottages we definitely needed a car. It was about five-minute drive to the closest beach on the North Shore, a 30 minute drive to Kapa'a, and a one-hour drive to Poipu; all of which we visited from there, and many times in the same day.

What we loved most about our stay was that we were supporting Hawaiians who lived and worked in the community. They were a lovely family and we felt very welcome and comfortable in our cottage. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an economical accommodation off-the-beaten track on Kauai.

Room Tip: Our Nautical Dreams cottage was large, it is great for a family traveling with children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here for the extra days waiting for our condo on the south shore. Loved it. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the pillow was good. The orchard was a treat, we had fun picking grapefruits and lemons for breakfast. And macadamias for later in the week. For the price you can't beat the comfort or location. Can't wait to go back. Hosts are very nice and had a snack with banana bread and fruit waiting for us. Also had a cooler, mats, and beach gear for our use while we were guests. Nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Acres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Cottages

Address: 50421C Kuhio Hwy, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754-5531
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kilauea
Price Range: $75 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Green Acres Cottages Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing