We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gardens and Exotic Plantation!”

Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens
Ranked #6 of 28 things to do in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens and Exotic Plantation!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We reserved ahead, then took the "Stroll & Ride" Formal and Wild Gardens "tram" tour. Dick was our driver and narrative guide. I was so amazed that he knew the names of so many plants. At one point I commented to my wife that one almost enters a state of sensory overload because of so many beautiful flowering plants. The bronze statuary alone is an incredibly tour, but when you add to it the beautiful array of flowering plants you can't help but marvel at what the developers of this attraction have accomplished.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaPaDave42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    45
    17
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pamiruru
Level Contributor
339 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Favorite Garden on the Island”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I love this place and cannot tell you how many times I've been there I think I could give the tour. The tour guides are the best and most knowledgable of all the garden tours. We've even had the pleasure of having Mrs. Doty give us a tour years ago. Don't miss this beautiful location by the sea, the gardens are gorgeous.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamiruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another Jewel to experience - Gardens, Art & History”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

240 Acre Botanical Gardens and 90 large bronze sculptures. It is a nature tour and art tour in one. Most remarkable and beautiful. Excellent variety of guided tours to meet different interests - Tours are from 1.5 hours to 5 hours. You will be happy you took the time, paid the fee and supported the vision for others to enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank maa3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Contagious enthusiasm”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The two guides who conducted our tour of the botanical and sculpture gardens extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic They seemed to really love their jobs, which made our visit all the more enjoyable. The whole park reflected that this work has been a labor of love for those involved. A special highlight for us was the albatross nesting area. We also liked that the gift shop had lots of interesting items in a wide price range.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank j2dor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
260 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Variety of tours available”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We took two tours here -- the 1.5 hour walk through the 11 original acres of gardens and 3 hour 'stroll and ride' tour. I think there are at least three other types of tours on offer -- including one that is designed for children. We watched part of two of those child-centered tours and it looked like the children were totally engaged.

We had been warned it would be buggy and to use bug spray. Between the two of us we didn't see a single 'bug' other than a few spiders, so don't be put off by the warnings! We loved the fact that there are a lot of sculptures throughout the gardens. They were each chosen with great care by the founder of the gardens -- and in many cases specifically commissioned.

You can not just wander the gardens on your own. You must be part of a group tour at all times. Which is a sadness to us as we are passionate, but amateur, photographers and would have liked to have a chance to wander and dally at will to take photographs. They are only open Tuesday - Friday and each tour has a maximum of 8 people. So reserve ahead! On the longer tour they do provide for bathroom breaks three times in the course of the tour. The terrain you walk on is quite easy. I don't know if there is a way you can find out who your guide will be when you make a reservation, but we found our guide Helen to be extremely knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing