We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jewel Of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro: A small restaurant serving moderately priced meals in a modest setting.At the Bistro our goal is to serve fresh,local,and great tasting food, while trying to minimize our environmental impact. Please enjoy yourself in our modest bistro,and be assured that we put faith in taking time to enjoy food,drink,and life.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Jewel Of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Being on the north shore you are some what limited to really nice restaurants unless you go to the St. Regis, the Westin or bar acuda. We found this jewel and was beyond impressed. Everything from the appetizers to the dessert was nicely done. The pork spring rolls are amazing. There were 4 people in our party and all were impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    186
    50
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

They treated us so good. My brother makes his dried fruit in the restaurant kitchen "Uncle Mikey Dried Hawaiian Fruit - no weird stuff added" so maybe that is why we were treated so special. But, we have been there on other trips without all the family and were still treated very well. The food is very good. Try the Pork Belly hors d'oeuvres --so very yummy. I had the Lamb lollipops. Very, very good, but a small portion. With all the hors d'oeuvres I really didn't have room for more. The open sided building makes it quite comfortable. This restaurant if much more affordable than our other favorite places and the food is very, very good. The chef prepares unusual dishes as well as the regular fish and steak dishes that everyone has. It is a must go to on your vacation!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at The Bistro. The service was attentive and the food was excellent. The fish was prepared well with nice size portions. It is a relaxed little restaurant with typical open air seating in the little village center. I look forward to returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brentp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in an Open-Air Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Kilauea is a small town, so it would be easy to overlook this restaurant. That would be a mistake. The food was very good. We started with a delicious ginger carrot soup, and the entrees (pork chops and chicken) were very well prepared and nicely presented. The service was great, and there was live music (low-key Hawaiian jazz). The restaurant is open on all sides so that you get a nice breeze throughout your meal. We noticed lots of "local" diners which is always a good sign. Nice place for a quiet, relaxed dinner. Didn't have room for dessert!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank QBzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal at the Bistro. It is a little on the pricey side, but not much isn't in Kauai ;)
But, for the price the portions made is very worth it. The food was very flavorful and the staff was great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vetgal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing