We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“macadamia crusted chicken”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bistro: A small restaurant serving moderately priced meals in a modest setting.At the Bistro our goal is to serve fresh,local,and great tasting food, while trying to minimize our environmental impact. Please enjoy yourself in our modest bistro,and be assured that we put faith in taking time to enjoy food,drink,and life.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“macadamia crusted chicken”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stopped in for lunch. I had the macadamia crusted chicken and a Ceasar salad with iced tea. It was the best meal I had in Kauai. My dining companion's food was average, but I loved mine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alis60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    192
    51
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's a must”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Definately go to this restaurant. Food is outstanding. Every dish was wonderful. Nice fresh food. Killer maitai.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a return trip & dinner”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great restaurant tucked into Kilauea Town. I am sure it will become one of our favorites here. Homemade soup, fresh food and they even have happy hour specials. We will be back on the island in August and are sure to make plans for another dinner here. Yum. We all had something different but everything we had was great. Fresh Fish, Scallops and even the dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food! Great value!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Came here by accident. Was heading to Kileaua Bakery but their menu wasn't to our liking. Luckily, the Bistro was right next door. Lovely ambience and very reasonably priced. My husband had the special which was ahi tuna and he had it blackened. He liked it so much he asked how it was prepared. I had the local rice bowl which is basically a ton of smoked pork and rice...excellent. Service was great and the price was right. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janetkais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great dinner and value”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I believe they have changed their name from the Lighthouse Bistro to The Bistro. We ate here twice on our recent trip and found it to be very good. For the price it was far better quality than some of the other more expensive restaurants we ate at in Hanalei. We ate their fairly early on both nights so it wasn't very crowded and the restaurant is open air which was nice and the service was very friendly. Food was tasty and the mai tai's (it was happy hour) were good as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing