We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, bad service, decent food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro: A small restaurant serving moderately priced meals in a modest setting.At the Bistro our goal is to serve fresh,local,and great tasting food, while trying to minimize our environmental impact. Please enjoy yourself in our modest bistro,and be assured that we put faith in taking time to enjoy food,drink,and life.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Expensive, bad service, decent food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

On the positive side the atmosphere is pleasant and the food quality is good. Unfortunately that's the end of the pros.

The staff is just friendly enough to not be rude. They did the absolute minimum. We couldn't even get our waiter to describe meals to us. He just said, "you know" got flustered and "whatever." He never refilled drinks. The food portions were incredibly small I paid $25 for three scallops. If there was alcohol in my drink I couldn't tell. Once the bill was presented we never saw the waiter again even to pick it up. No offer of coffee etc. the kids were also dissatisfied with their meals.

I would not visit again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    183
    50
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent, nothing too spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I ate here last night. I had the Kauai Prawns (prawns over linguini), and they were OK. The service was prompt, although the waitress was not all that knowledgeable. She did warn us that the scallops on the appetizer menu was actually only a single $12 bacon-wrapped scallop. You have to buy the salad separately, no bread comes with the meal, and you very well may leave hungry. I have also been suffering some "intestinal issues" today, and it's likely the the prawns are the culprit. I wouldn't pay as much as I did for what we received again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMCMFFAA1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downtown Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sublime dinner choice in Kilauea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This indoor outdoor restaurant had a really relaxed yet hip ambiance. A real balance of island feel and sophistication. Nice little"local" style bar in the front too. I highly recommend the Kalua Spring rolls appetizer, a lightly fried shell stuffed with Kalua pork and spicy mustard. My wife had the fresh grilled catch (white bean, arugula & tomato ragu prep) and I had the grilled strip loin. I had a plan to do different restaurants every night of our week on the North Shore, but we ended up coming back twice more it was so good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetsunshine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is very cute, with a very Kauai feel. The food was very good ,with a homemade freshness to everything.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiamiBeachPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Took forever to get food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was the only restaurant we regretted choosing during our trip.

The setting is pleasant and the live music was lovely.
The server was friendly but rarely stopped by our table.
Not many draft beers and mine was not filled to the top and didn't seem fresh.
Ordered: fish rockets, beef sliders, scallops.
Fish rockets were not so great- ahi wrapped and deep fried and overcooked.
Beef sliders were okay.
Scallops were overcooked and a little rubbery. As the food took close to an hour to arrive, it just didn't seem worth it to send it back.
Overall, a disappointing dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing