We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really annoying place to eat.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro: A small restaurant serving moderately priced meals in a modest setting.At the Bistro our goal is to serve fresh,local,and great tasting food, while trying to minimize our environmental impact. Please enjoy yourself in our modest bistro,and be assured that we put faith in taking time to enjoy food,drink,and life.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Really annoying place to eat.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were somewhat used to the birds flying around and landing on the tables to pick up scraps, but the dog wandering around begging was way over the top.

Good beer selection; but food really at the low end.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HLAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aLOHA1988, Manager at The Bistro, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I guess you don't like dinning with the locals. The Bistro is in a local community,it is not St, Regis a tourist only hotel or in a tourist town like Hanalei, and yes people that live in Hawaii have dogs, and yes, in a open air restaurant birds can fly in, and yes we do have lower price food for locals that can not afford to spend a lot an a drink and something to eat. We pride ourselves on being part of the blue collar Kilauea community. Please don't bash on our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    186
    50
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dependable, casual spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We ended up eating here three times, so it's safe to say we liked it. The food is decent, the prices are resort-high, much like everyplace else -- but not outrageously so. We saw thick hamburgers pass by our table during our first visit, and was disappointed on our return to learn they were not on the dinner menu. Instead, I ordered the hamburger sliders and, frankly, was disappointed at the skimpy size of each slider. We had burgers on our last meal, which were more satisfying.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank melsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“One to give a miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Not much choice locally so we tried and were disappointed. Perhaps it was not a good night but both steaks were tough and the service worse. Not cheap either.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulinVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place but poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Bistro is in a nice open-air location but it took us over 1/2 hour to get one rice bowl and two beers. When it finally came the rice bowl was good but the place wasn't that busy to merit such an unfortunate delay

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Cozy place, fresh fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a surprisingly attractive spot in a small shopping center. There is no view, but nice open-air seating with pleasant breezes. Fresh fish specials are posted on the blackboard as you enter. It’s a very casual and friendly café, which seems to be frequented by the local residents.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing