We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bakery on the north shore”

Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best bakery on the north shore”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Found this place as we were looking for pastries, recommended by a local and it didn't disappoint. We didn't eat there and bought a variety of pastries to bring back to our rental. The cookies are excellent!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ainhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    161
    67
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best pizza on Kauai”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a place we seem to keep returning to on our visits to Kauai. The pizza is outstanding although somewhat expensive for a large (20-30$) but there are few cheap options on Kauai to be honest. We especially like the Island Stylin’ pizza which is their variation on a Hawaiian pizza (the chipotle peppers really give it a zip). Crust is thin and very good. Most of the baked items here are excellent especially the macaroons. Limited seating inside with covered tables outside. Service can be good to indifferent. Located in Kong Lung Center. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJean681985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, Great Experience!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff is great! I've been here many times over the past 3 years and have never had a bad experience. This is the place to come for soups, pizza, pastries, etc. If you want something else, go somewhere else. I really have seen nothing to justify the negative reviews here. We sometimes take their soup home for lunch. But, mainly, we come in the evenings to enjoy the pizza and salad with friends. Order inside and sit at one of the covered patio tables. Bring your own bottle(s) of wine or beer. They supply wine glasses.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bakers who know what they’re doing!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Desperate for coffee after a jet-lagged visit to the Kilauea Lighthouse, we spotted the Kilauea Bakery nestled in the small Kong Lung Market on our way back to Kuhio Hwy (56). First, their organic house brew is fine coffee. But what delighted us was the quality of their baked goods. On our multiple visits, we sampled cookies (fancy & fun), pastries (the apple strudel was only surpassed by the mango strudel), and breads (Hawaiian sourdough & Semolina). All offerings were spot on – someone in back really knows how to bake! Sitting outside at one of their umbrella tables, we could relax, get a great caffeine & sugar fix, and just soak in the local ambience. Prices aren’t bargains, but don’t exceed top flight bakeries in urban locales back home. Ordering & customer service had a bit of an assembly line feel (a little unusual for the island), but our overall experience was very positive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSS_BJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast pastries, really darn good ingredients in everything”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We live by this bakery, about 10 minutes away. The pastries and breads are all really good. The pizzas are good too. We teat ourselves when we go there. We are immune to the prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing