We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get in the park to see the sunrise”

Kilauea Point National Wildlife Refuge
Book In Advance
More Info
$233.99*
and up
Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with Picnic Lunch
More Info
$155.21*
and up
Best of Kauai Tour by Land River and Air
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Can't get in the park to see the sunrise”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We went early one morning hoping to see the sun rise from the lighthouse point. We found that you can reach the edge of the refuge but you can't drive out to the lighthouse point until 10 AM as the gates are locked. There isn't a sunset to see if you are just standing at the edge of the wildlife refuge, but you will see tons of birds! The birds are very active in the morning and it is nice to enjoy them in the calm of the sunrise.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    170
    39
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nature at its best!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Crystal clear water, great for bird, dolphin and whale watching. Binoculars provided free of charge, great volunteers to educate you on the history of the lighthouse and its natural habitat.

Helpful?
Thank Kauai13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun Bird Watching”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our 14 month old loved watching the birds at the lighthouse. Beautiful coastline views, we even could see a few whales.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank meganlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Postcard perfect view”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Postcard perfect view, easy to visit on your way to Princeville. You can enjoy the lighthouse view for free if you do not want to pay the admission to the refuge.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Go if, and only if, you love birds and a great sea view”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

As an avid fan of birds this is your moment to see colonies of albatross, boobies and frigate birds. For less than the price of a cup of coffee ($5) stand and be amazed, look down at the ocean, admire the old lighthouse and maybe see a whale or two.
A couple next to me moaned that there was nothing there while a magnificent frigate bird soared twenty feet above their heads. I do get it - this is not everybody's cup of tea but for me it was worth every penny.
Understand what it is about, consider whether you want to see it, think about the wild life and make your decision accordingly. I'd go again tomorrow.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Point National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Kilauea Point National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing