We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloha Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$384
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$630
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$339
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$390
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$331
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
32
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 34 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2007

My boyfriend and I were looking for the perfect place to stay on the North Shore of Kauai, and we definitely found it! This place has everything you could want for an excellent price. It is a home away from home with a full kitchen, washer and dryer, and entertainment center. It is convenient to Hanalei and the Napali Coast. And despite what you may imagine, it is very private. The property is beautiful, and the property owners are charming and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone and will absolutely go back.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank kmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

The Aloha Sunrise Inn is set on an exceptional estate within minutes to some of Kauai's best beaches (Hanalei, Tunnels, Annini) . It's like being in your own private tropical forest, yet you are right near the sweet town of Kilauea, with restaurants, market, shops, world class bakery, etc.. The cottage is pristine, with new bamboo floors, all the amenities you need : full kitchen, bathroom, and dining area downstairs; nicely appointed, skylit bedroom and living room upstairs. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank deborahd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Staying at The Aloha Sunrise Inn was like staying at your home away from home. Hosts Alan and Catherine Rietow could not have been more welcoming. They were able to answer any questions we had about touring Kauai, gave us wonderful suggestions for hikes, restaurants, beaches, etc.

The Aloha Sunrise Inn is conveniently located on the north shore of Kauai. We were but a few minutes by car from Kilauea, Princeville and Hanalei Bay.

The cottage is tucked away in a private corner of the extensively planted lawn. It is perfectly designed for two people, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is totally equipped for cooking. Television, radio, movies, cd’s and guide books are all there for guests to use. The added bonus is your own washer and dryer.

The Rietow’s lawn and gardens provide a beautiful and relaxing setting. Taking a walk through their lawn and enjoying the plantings is a special treat. One can see and sample fruits such as oranges, limes, grapefruit, avocado, lemons, and enjoy colorful blooms and foliage of native plants.

The hosts, the accommodations, the setting, the location on north shore of Kauai are all reasons for our eagerness to return to Kauai and the Aloha Sunrise Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Charlottesville365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

The Aloha Sunrise cottage was the first of three spots we stayed at during our recent holiday on Kauai. We enjoyed our stay here for all the reasons mentioned in the other reviews.... well maintained, well appointed accomodations on a beautiful secluded property. We really appreciated the warm welcome we received upon arrival and the helpful nature of our hosts during our stay. After travelling for nearly 24 hours to get to Kauai, this was a great introduction to the island. We immediately began to feel relaxed and comfortable as soon as we arrived at this lush retreat.
This is a good location from which to explore the North Coast area which, with its beautiful uncrowded beaches and great hiking opportunities, turned out to be our favorite part of the island. We hope to return to Kauai in 2008 and if we do we will definitely return to the Aloha Sunrise Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dmockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2007

My husband & I stayed in both the Sunrise and the Sunset cottages on the Aloha Inn property during the first week of February, 2007.

We would highly recommend both the properties for the qualities noted in the other review. We travel regularly and stay at luxury hotels as well as B&Bs and we found the Aloha Inn to be an excellent value for the traveller who wants to have lots of privacy and a relaxed environment. Both cottages were very clean and extremely well stocked and well designed, with good kitchen equipment. We were especially impressed with the up-to-date guide books on Kauai and local pamphlets and flyers on local attractions and restaurants. The owners, the Rietows, are friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable, but will give you as much privacy as you'd like during your stay.

The cottages are well located, close to Kilauea and only a five mile drive to Princeville and good (grocery) shopping. There are wonderful beaches nearby, including the famous Lumahai Beach, made famous in the film, "South Pacific". One of the great things about the north shore is that there are few crowds and you can have a fabulous beach like Lumahai or Anini all to yourself. The cottages come well stocked with beach "equipment" such as beach chairs, towels, snorkeling gear and boogie boards, to make your time at the beach a comfortable one.

We thoroughly enjoyed the properties and the area and would unquestionably return to the Aloha Inn on our next trip to Kauai. The two cottages are idea for family travel, though not accessible for people with mobility issues.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love_to_Travel_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews