We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views at the end are worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Awaawapuhi Trail

Awaawapuhi Trail
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Kekaha
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Views at the end are worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This trail is at the 17-mile marker as you head up to Waimea Canyon and the Kalalau Lookout. We stopped at the museum and the lady at the desk said that it was the first dry day in the last 5 and this trail should be ok. It was definitely muddy along the way, especially the first 2 miles or so, but eventually we came out of the forest onto a beautiful ridge with view at the end that were just spectacular. It's all downhill on the way in, so be prepared for all uphill on the way back and give yourself enough time. We packed some sandwiches and some fruit & sat an enjoyed our lunch while taking in the view, plus it gave us some time to re-charge before heading back up on the trail. You'll definitely want some hiking pants, hiking shoes and some insect repellant - and your camera once you get to the view at the end!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTraveler1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    27
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“once in a lifetime view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We almost were not able to go on this hiking trail as it had rained quite hard that early morning. Everything was still quite wet but when we arrived at the Kokee Lodge, the rain had simmered. We decided to hike on the Awaawapuhi Trail as planned. The parking lot was quite small, fit may around 10 cars at the most. There were about 5-6 other cars parked there already. The other trail was closed due to recent flooding. The trail was somewhat wet but bearable. The flowers and plants had droplets of rain which made a good picture .

There were little mile markers to help guide you along the trail. About 1 hr. in, you get a view of the valley-- very stunning with clear blue skies-- no sound of anything around-- you can even hear a pin drop. There were very few hikers-- ~10 who were coming back up.

Many beautiful plants/flowers seen along the trail. At the end of the trail ~3 hrs. into the hike, there is a metal rail and a sign that prohibits you to go further. You can see the ocean and helicopters that take people on the circle island tours. Views are unbelievable. If you fear heights, this is not the hike for you. Surprise, wild chickens are here also!
Definitely worth the hike-- semi-strenuous and enduring but nice views guaranteed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chillywillypenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views but tough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Some really nice views along the way and a great view of the coastline at the end of the trail but man, is it ever tough on the way back! My wife and I didn't get much of a sweat on the way to the coast but were winded after just a few minutes heading back. Using a walking stick (aka. branch someone had left at the beginning of the trail) was a huge help!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank crazee_dada28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great View at the End!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This trail located at mile marker 17 as you head up Waimea Canyon is in my opinion a moderate hike with a stunning view at the end. My husband and I do a lot of hiking and right before this trip had hiked 8 miles on the Appalachian Trail. The 6 miles out on this trail is for the most part down hill which of course means the way in is 6 miles up hill. However, it was definitely easily doable if you have some experience hiking. If you are pretty sedentary normally then I think this would be a very challenging trail. The trail is well marked and some locals were leaving walking sticks along the trail which ended up being very helpful. It took us about 3.5 hours to complete this hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awaawapuhi Trail also viewed

 

Been to Awaawapuhi Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing