We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkeling adventures and beaches found”
Review of Kauai Eden Tours

Kauai Eden Tours
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Kealia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Truly experience, and photograph many of Kauai's most spectacular and off-the-beaten path locations with a friendly, personable, fun private guide! Sightseeing tours to moderate hiking adventures to waterfalls and breathtaking secluded coves. These are private, customized Kauai day trips! Like to snorkel? Great! We are here to create a fun, memorable day on Kauai for you and yours. Want to experience opening a coconut with your bare hands? Let's do it! Explore breathtaking beaches, vistas, waterfalls, Kauai movie locations, safe places for children, enchanted forests, restaurants,and more. All Tours include: water, beverages, fruit and Karen Tilley's Kauai guide book. I look forward to meeting you. Karen
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling adventures and beaches found”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of meeting Karen; she is a wonderful person to explore the ocean with.
We had great fun snorkeling and she knows where the green sea turtles often frequent. Sure enough, we were able swim with a giant green sea turtle and amongst many unicorn fish (she knows how not to spook them). On our snorkel adventures, we were in the water for about 2 hours each day, which is longer than any of the other snorkel tours I did or even read about.
Karen also knows gorgeous places that are not crowded - as well as the more popular beaches. Even on the popular north shore, she can take you 10 minutes from your vehicle and have you feel like you are in the jungle. I also appreciated her sincere interest in protecting and preserving the natural environment; her tips are spot on.
Her recommendation of where to eat on the north shore was excellent. In fact, my son insisted that we eat there again - with ample rainbows both nights and underneath the stars almost. Both my wife and myself were fine with that as their food was quite good.
All in all, Karen helped make our trip to Kauai more memorable as we were able to connect with a friendly local there, who cares and respects the land and the creatures that live there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    4
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour of local delights”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's hard to go wrong on Kauai - it's a beautiful island with friendly locals and plenty of places to kick back and relax. But some of the best spots are known only to locals and if you are led by the guidebooks, every OTHER person reading the guidebook will be there with you. An island tour led by people living and loving Kauai gives you the very best of the best, and both Karen Tilley and Jay Dorrance know the island and it's people inside and out. Karen is a creative woman familiar with local singers and artists, Jay is a walker extraordinaire who has visited almost every island trail and can choose the excursion appropriate to a visitor's expertise. Both are adept at island "talk story" and can give you insider knowledge of the history, myths, politics, and lifestyle of this very special island. Booking the tour as a first stop on the island was a bonus for us, because Karen was able to tell us what was going on all around the island, and how to plan for the week ahead. We were able to find a talk by a local historian, catch a drink at a seaside bar with an excellent slack-key guitar player, and snorkel at a spot that was perfect for us unseasoned snorkelers - she even told us where to buy inexpensive swimming shoes to protect our feet from coral, and how to find the best deal on snorkel equipment. Both Jay and Karen are friendly and fun, and happy to adapt to any of your requirements based on age, interests, and physical ability. Be sure to bring your camera and good walking shoes. Karen provides a yummy lunch and snacks, plenty of refreshments and there are food stops to sample local goodies along the way And she wields a mean machete when it's time to open up a coconut!..Fresh coconut milk was light, refreshing and delicious - although she was right when she warned me to be careful with the fresh coconut shell. It makes an indelible stain- my marker for a unforgettable day on Kauai. Thank you Karen and Jay for helping us make Kauai our own paradise! We'll be visiting again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NimbusCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Guide for a Perfect Place”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you have dreams of hiking through the forest, snorkeling in turquoise blue water, swimming in a crystal clear gorge, or lounging underneath a gushing waterfall then stop! drop! and book a tour with Karen of Kauai Eden Tours! She knows more about this exquisite island than any guidebook will tell you. Her knowledge of the flora and fauna, the trails and lesser known beaches make Karen the best investment you can make to explore this beautiful paradise!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMayorOfHappytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1000 oaks, ca
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“PARADISE FOUND....Kauai Eden Tours with Karen and Jay Tilley”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For anyone looking to see Kauai from a "local" point of view.....this is the tour company for you! Karen Tilley and her husband Jay run Kauai Eden Tours and will personalize a tour to your specifications. If you like nature, there are hikes, waterfalls, a bird sanctuary, and whale spotting. Karen is an expert on the flora and fauna of the island. If you are more into seeing all the "sights" of Kauai, Karen and Jay can do that as well. You are able to specify exactly how you would like to spend your precious time on the Garden Island. Karen will adjust all tours to the mobility level of the customers. We returned last night after spending the day with Karen on Saturday and I can't begin to tell you everything we did, saw, and ate!!!! From the fresh fruit (passion fruit, banana, pineapple, and papaya) smoothie at Banana Joe's to the exotic fruit found at a local farmers market, we enjoyed every morsel. Karen supplies a wonderful sandwich, fruit, water, snacks, and fruit juice as part of her tour. Photo opportunities abound, and Karen is happy to stop and let you "capture the moment". It was such a great overview of the island, it allows you to note the places you may want to revisit later in your stay on the island. I would highly recommend taking this tour on one of the first days that you arrive. It will give you a better perspective on distances and times it takes to get places. You also get a booklet that Karen has written detailing the "best places to go" on Kauai for shopping, restaurants, attractions, best beaches, etc. The last pages are blank for your personal notetaking......I filled them all! She is just a treasure trove of valuable and fun information. And then when you get home, a CD comes in the mail with pictures taken during your tour. This is one first class operation, and I'm glad I got to see some "inner Kauai" with Karen. I'll definitely be back for one of her hiking tours. Like Nike says, JUST DO IT and tell her Linda sent you! :)) I'll be more than happy to answer any questions you may have regarding this great tour. ALOHA and MAHALO for reading my review!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank flyn2lax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great memories for us - highly recommend Karen.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I found Eden Tours online before we made our trip to Kauai in July 2011. After several e-mail conversations and a phone conversation with Karen, we decided on a tour of several beaches, the settings of a Gilligan's island pilot and some light hiking. Karen provided a lot of valuable insight into Kauai - places to go, places to eat, local culture, flora, fauna etc... She guided us on a light to medium hike to Sea Lodge beach where we had the beach to ourselves (except for a sleeping monk seal on the beach). We spotted a snowdrift eel while snorkeling as well as other fish etc... Karen took some great pictures of our family and provided a great lunch for us too. Our tour included sights mainly on the north and northeastern end of the island. We also went to Anini and Moloaa beaches as well as doing a couple other things. On Moloa beach, we opened up coconuts, saw where Gilligan's island's pilot episode was filmed and my wife and niece dressed up and did the hula. We all posed as the crew of the SS Minnow too. Overall, we all had a great time and learned a lot of things about the island.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SmithFamilyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Eden Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing