We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - questionable food - lame policies”

Lava Lava Beach Club
Ranked #31 of 129 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Description: Lava Lava Beach Club is committed to providing uncompromised hospitality and service to our guests, offering a fun, toes in the sand, laid back luxury experience complete with passionately inspired island cuisine and libations.
Restaurant details
Description: Lava Lava Beach Club is committed to providing uncompromised hospitality and service to our guests, offering a fun, toes in the sand, laid back luxury experience complete with passionately inspired island cuisine and libations.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

I love this location on Anaehoomalu Bay. It’s very peaceful. And it’s got a great outdoor game area for the keiki, and fun trees for them to climb. This location has HUGE potential to be something really great. And, it’s most of the way there, but it needs a few critical adjustments. Specifically, it needs some work in food quality, better service training, and a review of policy.

The food is not that good and it is high priced resort fare typical of the area, so we usually just order drinks. This last visit, bartender Candy was very militant about keeping us from using acrylic bar wear in the outdoor game area. She forced us to use single use “eco” plastic cups instead. Not a huge deal, but I specifically requested that type of cup and she refused. I had to trick a busser into giving it to me. It kinda wrecked the vibe after we had already been using the nicer reusable acrylic cups. The plastic “eco” cups aren’t really very “eco”, and they have a good chance of going into the ocean if it’s windy (which does happen from time to time in Waikaloa) Next time we will consider just grabbing a bottle from the grocery store nearby, and enjoy the shore line access without patronizing the establishment.

Still an increbible location on the island. Just consider BYOB. You can buy a soda in a plastic cup so the family can enjoy the games.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Canyon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Highly recommend their happy hour from 3 to 5 PM. They provide free Valet parking, there is only one lane for both in and out traffic. They have a special Happy Hour menu. The Margherita pizza is excellent as good with a great crust that is not too thin or thick that packs a lot of flavor. The Hugo’s Mai Tai is a great drink to enjoy. Very good service, staff is friendly and it can get very busy and loud. It’s a party atmosphere which is what a happy hour should be.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank RustyWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_First, Other at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thanks for your great review, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at Lava Lava Beach Club. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Whenever we are on Kauai we make it a point to go back to Lava Lava Beach Club! Just arrived today and made a beeline here! Can't beat the view and happy hour!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_First, Other at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

We appreciate your review and we love to hear from our supporters. We hope to see you more while you are on island. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We visited LLBC a year or so earlier for their happy hour. You can probably find that review if it might be of interest. The conclusion was pretty much that the view was very pleasant, the drinks reasonably priced and better than the appetizer(s) we tried.

During this year's visit to Kauai, we went off for lunch, and the place we intended to visit was unexpectedly closed during normal operating hours. We thought we would give LLBC a try for lunch, particularly because it was close by.

The view remains very pleasant. My wife had a Mai Tai made with Koloa Rum Company rum. We like their rum a lot, buy it on the mainland, and highly recommend a visit to their tasting room. I digress. I had a Negra Modelo beer that seemed a bit flat. My wife decided to make a lunch of nachos. I had the LLBC burger. The fries were nice and crisp on the outside without the use of the corn starch coating that some other restaurants on the island seem to be using. It was one of the few times I have ordered a burger medium rare and gotten a medium rare burger. We both enjoyed our lunch.

In the bigger scheme of things, LLBC does not make my list of restaurants that are a high priority to revisit. There are several places on Kauai spanning a broad range of price points that I enjoy more. However, if you are looking for a good meal with a beautiful view of the ocean, then LLBC should be on your list of places to visit, and especially so for lunch.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_First, Other at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thank you for visiting and sharing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Ate there for breakfast twice, right after "Yoga on the Beach". Going again this summer. Beautiful spot.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank DayTrip797682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_First, Other at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at Lava Lava Beach Club, we look forward to seeing you this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lava Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing