We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million dollar views, 2 cent sound proofing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wailua Bay View Condominiums
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Just returned from a week at WBV #312. The unit was very nice, and had a ton of extras. I think we took the cooler on almost all our trips that week. The kitchen was big and new. The appliances are top notch and very new (I'm pretty sure the kitchen is nicer than most folks kitchens back home). You can tell that the owners takes great pride in this unit. Would not think twice about staying there again.

The vew out of the back patio is to die for! It is by far the nicest view I ever had on vacation. The ocean is just below and the waves hit so hard, you can feel it! Pictures out the back are postcard worthy!

Now the bad news. The builder of the complex could have spend a bit more on sound proofing the place. I think they really wanted to take advantage of the trade winds as a natural way to cool the place. They used windows and doors made up of 4 inch slats of glass that can be cranked open and closed. They work great in letting the wind in, but really stink in keeping sound out. Even with all the windows and doors closed, the street noise is loud. We had to turn on the A/C just to generate "white noise" to drown out the folks drag racing down the highway at night. Also, those lovely roosters' are plenty loud at times.

Tip: For those who are light sleepers, bring ear pulgs. At night, close all the windows that face the street, including the small one above the door. Open all the back windows, so the ocean sound comes in. Turn on the A/C, ceiling fan or box fan to generate white noise. By doing these things you'll have a pretty quite place.

In summary, come with a plan to limit the noise at night and you'll be rewarded with one of the best condos you can rent anywhere. It is by far the best bang for the buck in Kauai!

Stayed: June 2006
12  Thank topcatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2006

I was immediately depressed the day we checked into Unit #207 at Wailua Bayview because it was nothing like it appeared in the pictures on the website. I learned my lesson and will not fail to check TripAdvisor next time before booking. The building backs up to a busy highway and a Shell Station with an attached mini mart. And the beautiful beach in the pictures, was littered with driftwood that made it almost impassable. It was a total obstacle course. And you can't get to the beach without going around the building and walking next to the highway.

The unit itself was clean, adequately stocked with essentials and altogether satisfactory although the furnishings were nothing like the picture advertising it which isn't right. HOWEVER, the biggest problem with Unit #207 (in center of building) was the lack of air conditioning (AC) in the bedroom. Temperature-wise, we would have been just fine without AC but the noise at night from the motorcycles, cars and kids going in and out of the Shell Station and up and down the highway made it difficult to sleep and impossible to remember you were in paradise. And don't get me wrong, the caretaker, Fred, does a superb job on the grounds but he begins his work early in the a.m. which includes the burning off of the barbeque units in the pool area and hosing down the sidewalks. Those barbeque units are directly below Unit #207 with the fumes and smoke coming right through our open windows. Besides being nearly asphyixiated, who could sleep through that with the windows open? So, it may be possible to have a restful vacation at Wailua Bayview but not in Unit #207.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank conlangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2006

My partner and I have just returned from two marvelous weeks at the WBV condo #114. The location is perfect, midway between the North Shore and Poipu, convenient to shopping, theaters and restaurants.

This unit is away from the main Kuhio highway and therefore the street noise is no issue at all, indeed the roar of the crashing surf was the only noise we heard. The views of Wailua Bay are lovely, and though they can't compete with p'ville, poipu or hanalei, the price is a fraction thereof.

This unit is perfectly stocked for a beach holiday with beach chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, coolers etc. Bed and bathroom linens are of high quality. TV/DVD/CD all worked well and the W/D is very convenient. The kitchen is well stocked with microwave, D/W and ice-maker. The king size bed comfortable and note, the A/C has been replaced and is in perfect order (cool, quiet and comfortable.

The small pool and bbq area are very nice indeed and almost always empty, there were many days when I was the only person around for my mid-morning swim.

All in all this may be the best value in Hawaii.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichardSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2006

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Kauai at Wailua Bayview. For the awesome price and the amazing views, it was totally worth it. We didn't hear any noise from the highway, although our unit was on the opposite end; not to mention on the 3rd floor. Yes the furniture was outdated, but we didn't go to Kauai to spend it inside so it didn't bother us one bit. The only downfall was there wasn't a beach right in front to lay on; but we had plenty of other beaches to choose from and it was nice to experience other parts of Kauai. We'll definately be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orange, CA
16
Reviewed May 16, 2006

My wife, two children, and myself spent one week at Wailua Bayview in unit 201. This unit was newly refurbished in 2004 with new flooring, furniture, TV, stereo, and DVD player. The bathroom and kitchen have been completely remodeled with nice tile and appliances. There are air conditioning units in the family room and bedroom and ceiling fans throughout the condo. There is some road noise, but generally is not noticeable as there is an extra set of sound proof windows in the bedroom. We would leave the family room sliding glass door open at night and listen to the crashing waves. The condo is centrally located to beaches, restaurants and anywhere you need to go on the island. The pool area is well maintained with new BBQ"s ready to be used. This is the perfect place to stay for families as it is a home away from home. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2006

After spending 3 weeks at WBV in April (this is our forth trip in 4 years) I can say noise doesn't have to be a problem. We were in #312, but we've stayed in 203, 303, and 310 as well. I must say we prefer the third floor (better view and no one walks around over you) and the higher numbers (306 and above) due to less noise and a better view. But noise hasn't been a problem for us in any of the units. First, if you close the bedroom windows at night you probably won't hear any noise other than the ocean waves (leave the lanai doors open). We use the ceiling fan in the bedroom, but if it were really hot there is an A/C in most rooms. We have only used A/C one night just to try it. We prefer the ocean and ceiling fan! After all we are in a tropical paradise, let's enjoy it. 312 is probably the nicest unit we've stayed in, but 310 is a close second. Every unit is independently owned and owner tastes and decor vary. Both 310 and 312 have A/C, newer appliances, carpet, furnishings, etc. Anyway, don't let the noise keep you away, just learn to manage it. This is the best value in Hawaii, and a great place to stay! Excessive noise is the exception, not the rule, and it is caused by a few inconsiderate people with loud cars or loud talking late at night. With the windows closed, ceiling fan on, and lanai doors open, all you will hear is the ocean. I'm going back this summer, WE LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Kapaaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed April 30, 2006

My husband and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary in April of 2006. Iit has been 10 years since we were in Kauai. Staying at the Wailua Bay View Condos was not what we had in mind. Don't get me wrong the location and the view were the best, but unfortunatly the room was not clean. The sheets had make-up on the pillow cases and the bathroom was a mess. Not to mention the hair that was on the kitchen counters. If you could look beyond these things the room could have been very nice.

When we returned home we received an email from Wailua Bay asking for comments, whch we were more than happy to give. In the end they gave us an $85.00 credit for the maid service.

Thank goodness we had a great place in Maui or this could have ruined our trip.

Keep in mind that the condos are individually owned, the room we stayed in was 111. Again it was a great location and the view was wonderful. But I didn't have that warm fuzzy feeling about walking in my bare feet!!!

Robbi & Greg
Orient, Ohio

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.8 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#2 of 11 in Kapaa
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailua Bay View Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailua Bay View Condominiums

Address: 320 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $201 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailua Bay View Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wailua Bay View is a three-story oceanfront condominium complex overlooking Wailua Bay, a popular surfing and kite surfing beach in Kapaa. Each condo has a private lanai overlooking the ocean, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wailua Bay View Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Hotel Kapaa
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing