We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Condo with good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wailua Bay View Condominiums
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice Condo with good and bad”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I chose the Wailua Bay View because it was in the middle of Kauai so that I could explore the the island. The condo was clean and bug free and good choice for this trip. Previous times i stayed in the South Shore area, which I now know I prefer. I thought the condo 214 was very nice but even though at the end furtherest away from road, still had road noise. The bedroom is on the road side so hard to sleep past 6am. If you want to explore the island staying on the east side is good, but if you want constant sun, stay on the South shore!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnylooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    63
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
166
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This condo, though unassuming from the front, is a hidden gem on the island and is really the best bang for your buck. Located right on Wailua Bay, every single unit has incredible views of the bay. All of the units are nice, with kitchens, washer and dryer, and ability to sleep 45 comfortably. This is located in Kapaa town which is centrally located for a good jumping off point.

Only down side is you are located right off the main highway so there is road noise, especially in the bedrooms. I would recommend a lower floor unit to limit this noise. This is also not a good place if you want to go and stay at your condo all day. Best as a jumping off spot for further exploration of the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 115 and while it was basic, it had great views and limited road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWtraveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Wailua Bay View and condo 115, which our vacation rental company manages. We agree that the value and location of the Wailua Bay View is hard to beat!
We hope to see you back on property in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in 214 a few weeks ago and we are still dreaming about it. The condo was perfect for us. It was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The kitchen had everything we could have needed and that view! We watched surfers, kayakers, whales and dolphins all out front! The owners have really thought of everything and outfitted their condo with all a traveller would need. There were beach towels, umbrellas, chairs, coolers, and snorkeling gear for your day at the beach. They had umbrellas to use in case of rain, hawaiian CDs, movies, books, puzzles, even reusable shopping bags. We loved it! The location is great- bakeries and restaurants across the street along with the kayak launch for the Wailua river and the trail head for the sleeping giant. The central location made access to the other parts of the island just a short drive away. We are already planning when we can go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bari73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of Wailua Bay View and condo 214, which our vacation rental company manages. I am glad you found the condo comfortable, well stocked, and close to all sorts of on-island attractions. We hope to see you again at the Wailua Bay View again!

Mahalo
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 10 nights in unit 310 at Wailua Bay View. I wish I could say it was spectacular. Sorry, I can't. The good points: The view is unbelievable, the ocean roar is very loud, even in the bedroom, and the washer/dryer made it nice.
The bad: The condo is not even close to deluxe - rusty and broken pots, the kitchen utensils and dinnerware were dirty (you are responsible for cleaning that part), the bed was very uncomfortable, and the condo needs a lot of renovating. The bathroom needs to be redone. I would not have taken a bath. It is adequate, but when I am paying the high priced amount of $$$$$$ money I did, I expect much better!!!
The location is central for getting around the island. The traffic in front of the condo is VERY loud. The gas station was quiet. There is a great bakery across the road!!!
If it weren't for David at Beach Condos, I would have been very angry. He tried to make our stay better. Be advised, when it rains the view of the water does not look like the pictures posted. The river is right in front of the condo, and when it flows, the ocean is brown and muddy. You can't swim in the water there. If you want to be able to swim and snorkel, you are better off staying at Poipu or near the south side. It is much sunnier down there also.
Overall, I was very disappointed in #310. I'm sure other units are nicer. The manager was very rude. I would not stay there again. :(((

Room Tip: Choose another unit! Pick a unit on the ocean end of the building. Our view was cut off by the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gcracker310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy condo 310, which our vacation rental company manages. We were surprised you did not enjoy the condo, as this condo was given a 5-star review here on Tripadvisor by the guest that stayed directly before you. All the living room furniture (expect for the dining table and chairs) is new, and the bedroom features new bedding, pillows, and towels. We apologize that a few of the pans were not up to your standards and we hope that the new ones we purchased and delivered to your condo helped resolve that issue. We also work with professional cleaners to assure the condo is cleaned to the highest standards for our guests.
We hope you give the Wailua Bay View another chance on a return trip to Kauai.
Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapaa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Tim is the name of the onsite manager. He was extremely friendly and helpful. Spent time on several occasions telling us about the area and great suggestions o, what to do. Also worked very hard to maintain the prosperity.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cbh95971t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road to Rock'n'Roll
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband & I recently spent a very satisfying 8 nights in unit 310 at Wailua Bay View.

The location is great for the East side - incredibly close to the ocean. We could have literally thrown a rock from our lanai and had it hit the water (not that we would!) The view from the lanai is beautiful, and you get a peek of Nounou (sleeping giant) mountain as you leave.

There is some road noise in the bedroom, but I'm confident the air conditioner would've drowned it out (we didn't need AC and didn't try it.) With little traffic at night we were able to fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing and mainly noticed the road sounds as more cars starting moving in the mornings. We didn't hear any disturbances from the gas station - just the sound of cars passing by on the road. We slept better and longer there than we ever do at home.

I knew WBV would be a good choice for us when I saw a couple reviews complaining that the ocean was too loud. Loud it is - gloriously! We really never heard another sound - nothing from neighboring units or anywhere else. Just beautiful waves.

The condos are individually owned so the decor varies between them. If you need upgraded finishes and stainless steel appliances, you'd do better in another unit. But 310 was more than fine for us. I was more concerned with being further around from the road with the most direct ocean view than granite counter-tops, and we got that - though I seriously doubt I could complain about the view from any unit here.

The condo was nicely furnished with fun Hawaiian-inspired artwork, does have newer cabinets and fresh paint, and is stocked with more things than we'd need if we were moving in permanently. From kitchenware to beach gear, it pretty much had it all - even one of those elusive electric tea kettles. And it was impressively clean - the inside of the microwave was positively immaculate!

Having in-unit laundry was fantastic - no wasting Vacation days in a laundromat or carrying extra luggage.

My initial plan was to stay at another complex, but they were fully booked. We're glad we ended up here - it was perfect. Mahalo!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamalamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Mahalo for your review of the Wailua Bay View, and condo 310, which our vacation rental company manages. I am glad you found the condo well equipped and spotless. The views and sounds of the ocean really are quite memorable! We hope to see you at the Wailua Bay View again in the future.
Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Spent the first week of February in unit 115. Loved the location, the view and the sound of the ocean each night. The unit is privately owned. The kitchen is updated and the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, the bathroom is dated with fixtures rusting and/or losing finish. There was only 1/2 of the drape unit to cover the windows and sliding door onto the lanai. As a result, not much privacy in the living room and kitchen at night. Drapery rods in bedroom were rusty and the whole unit needs a paint job. Not much in the way of beach supplies: two towels, a boogie board and a styrofoam cooler. Would love to stay again, but NOT in 115. Hopefully we can request a different unit next time!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Mahalo for your review of the Wailua Bay View. I am glad you enjoyed the sounds of the ocean nightly and the convenient central location on the island. We are surprised to see a mediocre review of unit 115, as it is quite popular. I am glad you enjoyed the updated kitchen and recent condo renovations (new furniture, comfortable bed, and complete paint job all completed in 2013). We are aware of the living room drape not covering the full sliding door and are just waiting for the correct measurement to arrive, so we can install it. Each condo we manage also comes complete with four bath towels and four large beach towels, so I am sorry if you were not able to locate the large beach towels. We hope to see you back at the Wailua Bay View in the future!
Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.8 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
6.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
780 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailua Bay View Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailua Bay View Condominiums

Property: Wailua Bay View Condominiums
Address: Papaloa Road, Coconut Coast, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailua Bay View Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wailua Bay View is a three-story oceanfront condominium complex overlooking Wailua Bay, a popular surfing and kite surfing beach in Kapaa. Each condo has a private lanai overlooking the ocean, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wailua Bay View Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Hotel Kapaa
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing