We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Staff was excellent and gave us an ocean front room instead of ocean view. Restaurants were great and poolside menu is available at both restaurants is and very affordable and plenty of food to share if you're not starving. Close to airport and lots of things to do close by. Be sure and take the Sunshine Helicopter tour! Highly recommend this Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view...beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredandhappy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    730
    245
    87
    44
See reviews for
324
993
81
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

While I don't like having to pay for parking, it isn't so bad when for $6 more it includes 2 Mai Tai's every evening (and they were good, not watered down like I thought they'd be). I was happy with both restaurants on the property. I especially liked that it wasn't crowded around the pool. Free coffee every morning was a plus too. My only complaint was housekeeping. After being out all morning, I like to come to my room to shower or nap. Only one day was it done before 3:00 and that was because I asked about it. That wouldn't keep me from returning though.
Oh, we didn't have a typical Marriott bed. We could feel springs in ours.
We had a 4th floor room facing the ocean. The balcony could have been bigger but we were out most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovinMaui_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The front desk clerk, Orie, was terrific - friendly, helpful and efficient. She went out of her way to make our check in easy.

The hotel is clean, in a great location and has a friendly staff.

We'd stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The rooms are comfortable, we booked a partial ocean view and the balcony was (very) small, we would probably book ocean front if we came again. Air conditioning very noisy an difficult to control, there seemed to be only one fan speed, noisy! The location/setting is good and you can walk to Kapaa in 20 minutes where you can find plenty of restaurants and shops. Internet connectivity is also good and included in the room rate. I would have awarded 4 stars for this hotel but annoyed by the resort fee which it charges. We have travelled all over the world and Hawaii is the only place we recall encountering this "phenomena" where there are significant additional charges to the room rate including car parking and the resort fee. We can understand car park fees in a city location, but not in an isolated beachside location. Hawaii hotels are expensive by any standards and we object to additional fees which makes comparing hotels difficult.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront rook else you will have a very small (practically useless) balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberlee C, Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Tony D,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm glad to hear that our central location was favorable during your visit to Kaua'i. We definitely have an excellent location that makes it convenient for our guests to travel equal distances to the West and North shores of our beautiful island. While I am happy to report that we have replaced the thermostats in each guest room to allow guests to choose a desired temperature based on personal preference, I apologize you were disappointed in the parking fees. As you mentioned, all hotels and resorts that are comparable to ours island-wide charge different fees for vehicle parking. Specifically speaking for the Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach - we have an overnight Security team who is responsible for scheduled patrols and ensuring that only registered guests are utilizing our parking facilities. Should Kaua'i become a destination in your future travels, I hope you consider the Courtyard Kauai for the beautiful atmosphere and exceptional service we continue to offer. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The room is a little old however it was serviceable and worked. The bar food and drinks were reasonable priced. Now when I arrived I expected a full ocean view with my premium room...not true. They lie!! The only rooms that have full ocean view and a lanai big enough for 2 people are the executive suites which I did upgrade to after seeing my original premium room. The premium room is decent and you can see the ocean however you have to go to the balcony and hang your head over the edge then look to the left. Then the premium balcony must be a total of 8 sq ft... it was small and shaped like a triangle so most of the space is wasted. Now the executive suite lanai's are normal about 4ft X 8 ft. Still a couple of other things to share none of the beds face the ocean in any of the rooms... I did see a few ants in the bathroom... some dead cock roaches outside by the entrance to the wing. The hot tub heater was also broken during our stay.
Now one nice thing hardly any kids most likely because nothing there for them to do. I did like the little beach however not good to get in the water but good to walk and hold hands. I most likely would look for another hotel before booking again however if I couldn't find something I thought was better I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you want a lanai big enough for 2 and full ocean view you must stay in an executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2rduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I had to flee a terrible room from airbnb with huge cockroaches to a what we thought would be a safe place. It was an overpriced room that smelled like wet dog from carpet being in the room and not being properly taken care of in tropical conditions. We stayed for one night and we both woke up with an allergy attack. The whole room just gave you that dirty feeling, the TV didn't work and the air conditioning as well, we had to try to find someone to help us at 1am, not fun. Maybe some rooms are better than others, but being a Marriott there are certain expectations and it definitely did not live up to them. They need to evaluate their standards of service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njhassinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberlee C, Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha njhassinger ,
Thank you for your review. While I am glad to hear that you selected our resort after experiencing a less than satisfactory visit to your original planned destination, I am deeply sorry to learn about your experiences as this is not typical of our resort. Although we are aware that the climate in Hawaii is unique, there should be no excuse as to why the carpet did not appear to be cleaned properly. Your comments in regards to the room imperfections have been shared with the Director of Housekeeping and the Chief Engineer for immediate follow up. I hope you will afford us another opportunity next time you visit our beautiful island to prove that we can do it right. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Although our initial impression of this hotel was only mediocre we changed our minds over the course of our stay in the Courtyard. We arrived on a rainy day quite early and, understandably our room wasn't ready. The ladies at reception were friendly enough but gave no indication of when we should return so when we came back we had to go up to the reception desk a few times before we found out.

We decided to try the hotel pool bar which served both food and drink. This was the first large disappointment. The service was dreadful, the cocktails were weak (and I don't just mean alcohol), the food was not good, particularly for the prices they charge. We only ventured back once more at the end if our stay and the cocktails were still sub par.

Our room was clean, bright and spacious with a lovely view of Hoary Head Ridge and sea. The pool area is really lovely with hammocks, a cool water feature in the pool itself, a separate small pool with water jets and a good view of the beach. If it's sea swimming you're looking for you cannot do it here. Rips and general conditions are too dangerous but it is beautiful if only to sit and admire the view.

By far the best thing about the hotel was their Expedia Local Expert Desk. A special thank you to Heidi Gehring for all her help and recommendations. She is a gem.

As Mariotts go this is a nice hotel in a good location. Trees Lounge Bar and Eggberts Cafe are your alternatives for drinking and eating if you have a similar experience to us in the hotel bar!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing