We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient location in Kauai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A convenient location in Kauai”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I planned a last minute trip to Kauai. We had previously stayed in Poipu Beach, but all of the condos were booked. Since we are Marriott Rewards members we decided to try the Courtyard by Marriott Coconut Beach. The location is very convenient, located near Lihue airport and surrounded by great restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable.

Our only disappointment was our "Premium Ocean View Room." The room had a partial view of the ocean, not a full ocean view. We checked in at night and did not notice the view until the next morning. By then, we decided not to make an issue with the front desk.

There is ample parking at the hotel. There is a great walking path behind the hotel, along the coast, that literally goes for miles.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    724
    244
    86
    44
See reviews for
317
987
81
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our son's first trip outside of Cali. We stayed here for 5 days and got a quick and pleasant check-in. Throughout our stay, the staff showed that aloha spirit.

Our room was pretty good with a great view of the ocean. The AC had a musky/moldy smell, so we just left it on low for most of the time and just let the sea breeze come and cool the place.

Buffet breakfast at their restaurant was great with a nice omelette station.

The grounds was pretty and so was the beach although the water was rough. But about a mile south a good strolling distance is a beautiful beach with wading pools that our 1 year old thoroughly enjoyed. Church, shopping, groceries and restaurants are a walking distance.

Room Tip: Try to get as close as you can to the ocean + the higher the floor, the better the view. On certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops BC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We requested a room on the 4th floor with Ocean Front View. The view was spectacular and the morning sunrises were breath taking. Our room had 2 Queen Beds, a fridge. The coffee maker was poor but there was coffee on the ground floor until 10am each day. The cleaning staff missed cleaning our room a couple of times. The washer and dryer were located on the 4th which was handy and not busy. The courtyard in the evenings was very pleasant wirh the fire around the pool and live entertainment. The food was ok nothing really special. Walking distance to a small shopping mall one way and Safeway the other way.. Parking was expensive at $14.00 a day. We would go back.

Room Tip: The fourth floor was very quiet, I would suggest requesting an OceanFront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KamloopsBCIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We generally found the Courtyard Marriott quite an adequate place to stay. It has comfortable rooms and a nice pool area with well maintained gardens. Front desk staff were helpful and upgraded our room, which was lovely. I have several negative comments: housekeeping runs late, and rooms are not often cleaned until 3:30 which I found a little on the late side. My other concern is the food prices in the dining room are too high - the food and service are only mediocre. At the pool side, the service is slow and the staff seem almost disinterested in serving anyone. My sorbet took about 15 - 20 minutes to arrive (from the dining room) and was melting all over the plate when I received it. At $9 for three very small scoops, I think they should try a little harder. Parking is also charged at $14/night, which I thought was un-necessary. I would have rated this resort higher if the food and food service was better. However, there are other restaurants within walking distance, so I would advise dining elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carmena16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a good hotel. Well maintained, decent amenities, good location. We had an executive oceanfront with two queens. Nice big room, with a very nice view. However the beds were poor, very poor. Our two nights is basically the maximum duration that anybody would want to sleep on these things.

Breakfast buffet is decent. Children under 12 are free, 12 and older pay $20. We also had a lunch and dinner at the hotel. I think the food was okay-ish, but kitchen was extremely slow.

Parking is for a fee, but internet is free.

Room Tip: Executive oceanfront is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchcanuckVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked an Executive Oceanfront King for our 8 night stay before and during the Aloha Music Camp. Check-in was smooth and efficient. We stayed in a corner room in the North building. Peaceful with beautiful oceanfront views. The weather was so perfect we were able to sleep with the sliding doors open but if you do this, be prepared to be woken up by roosters at 4am . . . then again at 5am, 6am, etc. :) The room had a screen door. The lanai was large with 2 chairs and a small table. The bed was comfortable but a little old and creaky but I didn't have any trouble sleeping and did not experience any back problems at all.

We had to call maintenance about our A/C unit and about the lock on the slider. Both times someone came to fix it within minutes. The room was immaculate and the only complaint was that housekeeping didn't clean up the leftover mai tai cup. Do not leave anything organic in your room. Do not count on housekeeping to clean it up either. Dispose of organic material quickly and in the can by the vending machine. I left a pineapple rind on the counter and the ants descended quickly. But that's life in Hawaii. These things can be avoided by following a few simple rules. No food in your room.

We found the food in the restaurant to be outstanding. The buffet breakfast met our needs on the two days we weren't fed by the camp. We didn't have time to use the pool or hot tub but we did notice people using both. The hot tub is huge.

I can't say enough about the level of wonderful hospitality that Barbara and the rest of the Marriott team showed to all of us during what must have been a very stressful week of rain causing changes in our camp schedule. We were fed well, treated like ohana and with an abundance of aloha.

As for previous reviewers disappointed by the lack of a swimming beach, two beautiful beaches are within a short drive from the hotel, Kapa'a Beach Park to the north and Lydgate to the south.

Room Tip: Executive Ocean Front was worth the extra $$. North building is very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njaloha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was a great place to stay to explore both the north shore and south shore of Kauai. Everything was very clean, rooms are spacious, decor is really nice and the lanai had a nice ocean view. Grounds were really nice and well kept. Great value!! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing