We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice room....skip the food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room....skip the food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent a week in an Executive Oceanfront room, and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a few negatives, and many positives during our stay. Negatives: The mattress was old and moderately uncomfortable--definitely not as good as in most 2-star lodging; sheets fit poorly, often didn't quite cover at foot of bed; RESTAURANTS UNDERSTAFFED-----slow service the first night, and NO service on a subsequent night. We gave up waiting for service poolside, went to dining room and were told the manager would not allow guests to be seated there due to lack of available servers. Disappointing! On the positive side, room was large, well-appointed, with fabulous view. Beach was great, with really nice walk in both directions. Great hot tub and very nice fitness room. Evening mai tais were tasty and fun. Facility was clean, as was our room. Would stay again...and would hope for mattresses to have been upgraded.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mommacita321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    699
    233
    82
    41
See reviews for
307
947
81
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The beautiful landscaping really beckoned us right away and made us feel welcomed. I didn't give it a 5 because there were several small things in which we were disappointed, and I have communicated those to the management. I would stay here again in a heartbeat regardless.
Free coffee in the lobby from 6:30-9 which was wonderful. Expedia concierge had great maps and snorkeling suggestions. We were able to rent beach chairs to take to the other side of the island, and they also had mats and umbrellas for rent. Parking was plentiful. Great chairs and recliners out at the beach with several trees for shade. Our complaints were small- a small lanai which barely fit 2 chairs, a very rusty and almost inoperable sliding door to the lanai, small black ants which congregated above the fridge where we kept some food (a small note on the counter warned us that they were having problems with ants and to keep the lanai door closed), and some disinterested front desk ladies.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Rooms weren't big, but we had an ocean view, which you should pay for. Free Mai Thais nightly were awesome. The staff was excellent. Pool isn't great for little kids. Mondays there is a free hula and fire show for guests.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The rooms are dirty and feel like a Days Inn room...not the quaility you are used to from a Marriott. I'm not a fan of the courtyard brand but have stayed in them before but none so aweful as this one. The sheets were stained, the sink cracked, lots of spider webs on the balcony and to top it off the front desk staff really doesn't care and is almost anoyed when you complan, Would NEVER stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dmj23mco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great right in the beach. The pool is descent sized. The bar has good cocktails and tasty bar food at reasonable prizes. The rooms are nice, however the bathroom and lanai (balcony) are tiny.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We just got back from attending a music camp at this hotel. The last hotel that hosted this group was terrible, with multiple hassles reported by most attendees (including us). The staff at this hotel went out of their way to attend to our needs and make us feel welcome. The hotel is well-located on the east side of Kauai, which makes for easy touring to either the south or north shores. It's very convenient to the airport (about 20 minutes away), but I never noticed any noise from planes. The hot tub is big, though the pool is a bit small. The grounds are attractive and well-maintained, and the rooms, while not luxurious, were clean and pleasant. Food in the restaurants was quite good. A couple of caveats (which is why I'm giving 4 instead of 5 stars): (1) they had some electricity issues during our stay, including problems with the computerized room keys and one day when the fire alarm went off repeatedly. (2) The service at breakfast was slow if you arrived after about 0800 (though we appreciated that they gave us free coffee and extra fruit as compensation). Overall, though, we really enjoyed our stay, and are already booked to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Roberts, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have stayed here before but wanted to review again. This is an excellent hotel with the best of locations - easy to go both directions on Kauai. The staff here continues to just amaze me. From the bartender who remembers you by name to the back office manager who helped me in a jam (reservations were messed up, my fault but she accommodated me and at the original price when she could have charged me the maximum for my error). There is a reason I always return here when there are other Marriott's on the island ... this place is just perfect. Thanks for another outstanding stay, see you next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkDragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing