We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My stayed at this hotel, as a 2 day quiet break, from the 2 weeks get away in Hawaii was the best part of our trip. Although only at $90 a night, it is an excellent modern Marriott 5 stars resort at a spectacular beachside setting. The only complaint is that , arriving at 2:00 PM, we still needed to wait almost 2 hours for our room to be ready. There a few essential items missing in the room when we finally checked into it, including all important coffee supply. We stayed for dinner the last night of our stay because it was a rainy evening. We found it strange that the "Aunt Rosie's (or something) Chicken Soup" turned out to be an Asian Ramen. Nothing wrong with that, except it did not go over well with the prime rib roast dinners we both ordered.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BPfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    687
    230
    80
    41
See reviews for
305
931
81
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Were do I begin ,this hotel was renovated a couple of years ago,they did not spend it on the rooms..
We were booked a garden view room from our travel agent.
First room was overlooking a roof which we could have stepped on,the bed was worn.it had a seat spot worn in it.
Second room was on first floor ,the bed was worn also.Room temp was 69 and it was very humid.the room was musty and smelt like mold.
3rd room worn bed spring poking my back,it had a seat spot worn in it..Fan load and blowing strong in face.There is a door for a window but we had to prop it closed.The bathroom was awful,3 different hairs on the walls.Ceiling would fill with water because of no ventilation Ants crawling around(3rd floor).The light fixture is filthy.Very small.
We have a view of a parking lot.
The Lanai is super small,no screen door so at night you had to keep it closed for bugs.NO GARDEN VIEW.
Only half the jets worked in the hot tub.
I would have checked out if we were on the mainland.We stayed because we are in Hawaii on vacation and did not want to spend our time looking for a hotel.
This is our 5th hotel on the islands.
They are very stingy on the towels only allowing 1 per person to take to the beach's with you.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JimmyBoyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for this feedback. This will be shared with our entire team. We work hard to deliver excellent customer service and when we are perceived as Awful we will stop and look at what we are doing. We will use this comment wisely and reevaluate what we do.
Sincerely
Tom Hobson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Head
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

What a disappointing stay! We stayed in a garden view room and got a view of a concrete roof with extremely noisy large hotel machinery right out side the doors which made such a loud noise that went all night. How do the staff expect to put people in a room like this and expect them to ever return to this resort? I have stayed here 3 times before always getting ocean view rooms, which do not have this noise problem.
The room just did not feel clean on arrival, the carpet was dirty, I found rotten food left in the fridge and the bed sheets had sand in them! I had not been to the beach that day so there was no way I had put the sand in there, only conclusion...to my horror, the sand was not from me!
Pool was clean, spa hot, gardens nice, variety of types of outdoor seating, hammocks, circle double lounges.
Such a shame that a nice resort can get something so fundamental as a clean room wrong!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank CrescentHeadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for this feedback. This will be shared with our entire team. We work hard to deliver excellent customer service and when we are perceived as "not getting the fundamental's right" we will stop and look at what we are doing. We will use this comment wisely and reevaluate what we do.
Sincerely
Tom Hobson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The public areas were nice, but the basics I expect from a good hotel is the room shouldn't smell. There is one set of washer/dryer on 2nd floor, 4th floor and west wing, but they were always in use. I will not stay in this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jabba85286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We appreciate your comments. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping department. We will make sure that the appearance of the bedding has a fresh appearance. Additionally, we have ongoing programs to remove any mildew or carpet stains that occur. I regret that the room you occupied had not been treated when you occupied the room.

Sincerely
Tom Hobson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Okay, after the Sheraton Maui, it was fairly disappointing. The Marriot Courtyard is a very basic hotel, but comfortable. Check-in was fine. The rooms were spacious, but not at all that clean. Sorry, but I think the cleaner cleaning these 2 rooms was in a real hurry. But then again, it was like this for the 4 days that we were there. The pool was a decent size and inviting, although the pool chairs at times were messed with bird poo. Remember we had to eat and drink in the same area, as that was the only bar and restaurant on the property that was opened during the day. Although the staff here were very friendly and helpful. The food though was very good. Unfortunately for us we spent New Years' Eve here. What a drab. Nothing, nothing happened here. They had a DJ where the music was so soft, nobody danced. I know Kauai is a fairly quiet island, but come on, everybody looks forward to bringing in the New Year. So that was bad planning on my side. Definitely not my cup of tea.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 3rd floor. Elevators were slow enough to make you want to climb the stairs. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kershree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

the service was good the food was excellent , love the happy hour food , my room was great will stay again. at night sit by a fire have drinks they service free drinks for one hour people was very friend and nice

Room Tip: my room was in middle of build viewing the hotel .and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamstar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our food. Please come back and see us soon.

Sincerely
Tom Hobson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in the Marriott our first night in Kauai. We arrived late and more or less collapsed inot bed. The hotel was very convieniently located for our planned excursion along the north shore the next day. (Although over the course of the next few days we discovered that nothing is all that far from anything else in Kauai) The room was on the small side, but since we paid with points rather than money, I didn't expect to get the best room in the property. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. I did awaken to the sound of a chicken crowing, but this was more amusing than annoying. Kauai has a large number of feral chickens and you'll see them wandering around in parks, towns hotel lawns, etc. The beach is nice, and while we were there a monk seal came out of the sea and of course we snapped many pictures of it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing