We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for exploring Kauai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ideal base for exploring Kauai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Good location, right on the beach and not far from the airport. The hotel was half empty when we were there even though there was a wedding on the day we arrived. We had booked a deluxe ocean view room on the top floor which was lovely. The room was adequate, if a little dated. There were a couple of armchairs as well as a desk and chair in the room and a large wardrobe. Buffet breakfast was overpriced considering the limited options offered. Would have been nice if this hotel offered free airport shuttles considering the other Marriott offered this service. Highly recommend organising a rental car so you can drive up to the north towards Hanalei and drive south towards Waimea. Service was inadequate in the restaurants, though there were always lots of staff at the front desk. Bed and pillows were a little worn. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel and there is an Expedia counter where guests can book tours. 

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    635
    209
    71
    34
See reviews for
282
841
70
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
littleton, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location for exploring all of Kauai. Large (500 sq ft) room ocean front room. Good restaurant menu.
ISSUES;
1, Advertised as no smoking facility even posted on lanai door. Had to call three times about obnoxious smoking on lanai below, MOTEL would take no action until had photographic proof of the offending smokers.. Days old cigarette butts around outdoor restaurant tables.
MOTEL PUTS BURDEN ON NON SMOKERS INSTEAD OF BEING PROACTIVE
2, Loud noise from wall in room woke us up every night between 1am and 4am. Called desk twice was told is motel ventilation system which they always run in early am hours. VERY GUEST UN FRIENDLY

Room Tip: large ocean front rooms are great. Others have smaller lanai's and side view of ocean. Beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Yes this hotel is not a big resort in the more luxurious areas of Poipu and Princeville BUT we found it the most ideal place to base ourselves to see Kauai. The famous Na Pali coast is only an hour drive north and the amazing Waimea Canyon one hour to the south. This gave us ample time to get to many locations whilst then being able to get back to the hotel to spend a couple hours relaxing by the large pool and having a drink at the bar.
Many reviewers complain about the $14 daily parking fee but I simply saw this fee as a resort fee considering that they have tennis courts, a pool and very nice grounds with a nice variety of seating (hammocks, huge lounge couches, etc). The restaurant there was lovely to eat at with great service and the bar area has nightly entertainment. The local cultural group put on an evening show one night with dancing and music which was most memorable. So as mentioned that somewhat annoying $14 fee seems to be more of a worthwhile resort fee which I was more than happy to pay.
The room (executive ocean front) was large and well furnished although the bed a little bit soft to our liking. The bathroom is small but clean and well stocked. The lanai was small but it had a view. Make sure you pay for the Premium Ocean Front if you want a balcony directly facing the ocean. A mistake we made. Housekeeping were excellent.
Overall a great place to stay. Very close to many places to eat if you're not eating there, such as at Kapaa or the nearby Coconut Marketplace. Front desk staff were very good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you're looking for a decent hotel for a multi-generational family trip at a reasonable price, this is it. We are loyal Marriott customers so we have stayed at many of their properties to use as comparison. The perks are that it is located in beautiful Kauai, is conveniently located on the east shore (the west shore is basically inaccessible. Most popular scenery is on north and south), it plays up the Hawaiian feel, has a fresh breakfast buffet (try to negotiate coupons otherwise it costs $18 per person), incredible Expedia concierge service in-house, impeccable grounds and live entertainment.

The negatives are that the property feels pretty worn. Though it offers a great variety of amenities (especially being a Courtyard) it vaguely feels as though it attempts to offer a "resort" feel but falls a little short. Housekeeping seems to have a bit of difficulty with consistent service. There were a couple of days our coffee bar wasn't serviced, the underside of the toilet bowl looked as though it had not been wiped down, there were ants in the bathroom and both our toilet and bathtub were slow draining. Perhaps previous guests had washed their sandy swimsuits out in the tub because the outdoor shower at the pool wasn't working. What housekeeping lacks in service they make up in friendliness however. We've never encountered a more welcoming bunch.

At checkout we were told the property is due for a complete remodel soon. Until then, just know this is a popular hotel for volumes of travelers thus there are a few signs of fatigue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthegorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed back to back 4 night stays here. Priceline At $92/nt, for 4 nights in October and then we added 4 more at the time of bidding at the same bid. parking is another $14 night

We were told this was a Sheraton before. It is nothing like a Courtyard (way better). They have a sand beach, a grassy beach area, a pool, restaurant, bar with pupus, lots of free entertainment, recreation/activities room, tennis courts, convenience store and great location near restaurants and shopping, including groceries.

Check in was good. Only problem was the hotel had not combined our two reservations into one, even though I had sent a letter to insure not issues. it was my wife's birthday, and they gave here a flower lei. They even gave me a lessor one. This was not done for everyone checking in. The "open interior" of the place is very nice.

A third floor king awaited us, as requested, along with the extra pillows and towels we requested in our letter. Our room was 314. It has a small, odd shaped balcony with a garden view. Our bed is okay. The furnishings are Courtyard. There is a small refrigerator which held seveal waters, an OJ, two white wines and some soda. We had to remove a shelve to accommodate the OJ, once it was opened. The water pressure is good for shower and shaving. A/C was always on. Set at 74 when we entered, we moved iit to 73 for comfort. At night we moved it to 75. The closet is large and has a safe. The dresser has 6 drawers. Lighting is good. more to come

We unpacked and then went down to the lobby to get a free mai tai welcome drink they offer each night at 5:30pm. Nice touch. Not too sure on the rules, but we did this each night. many others did as well.

The one problem in our room, was serious. Our white socks soon were darkened on ;the bottoms. We believe this was black mold on the carpet (using a wash cloth test got the same results. the room was very clean otherwise. We asked to be moved after the next days activities. There was not issue. While we repacked for the room move, an employee showed up to check out the carpet. She noticed the smell of mold and offered some help with the move. We thanked here but were fine with the handling by ourselves. We were moved to a room that was very similar, but this time we have a courtyard and pool view. This proved very valuable, as we were able to view the hula dancking one night and the fire dancing another night from our balcony. This room is 203. The bedding in this room is due for replacement. The toilet "sticks" from time to time when flushed. A few nicks and dings could be addressed.

One night we had pupus in the bar. Actually we split a burger (cheese, bacon, onion ring) and fries and an order of pulled port sliders. Each was about $13. Drinks run $7-10 (we had water). They also have a pupu platter for $25. Service was great, except for trying to get a bill.

The parking is good. Large spaces. We have a Crown Victoria rental can (another story), so we appreciate that. The entertainment is hookey to excellent. Overall, the entertainment really is worth an extra $100 over the week to us. Wake up call is by a person, not a machine. Lots of seating by the pool and the beach. NO towel/chair holding that goes on elsewhere. Seemed to be a good balance in people and resources.

Room Tip: Most rooms similar except the view...which you pay for. Our first room quieter. Our second pool vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ranles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Great central location, our first room smelled of musty mold and we were relocated to a fresh great room. Service was good, great value booked through Hotwire for $110 per night. Grounds are fantastic, beach is great and all chairs are free to use on the beach. Wonderful spot to watch the sunrise every day right out back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestAbe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Courtyard hotel right on the beach ideal location to explore the Garden Isle of Kauai.
Large comfortable bedroom on the 4th floor with a triangular balcony facing tennis courts surrounded by palm trees. Complementary coffee supply in the room absolute peace and quiet slept like a log in the big comfortable bed,
Walked on the beach in the morning without seeing another person for over an hour.
Essential shopping malls just a short distance from the hotel into Kapaa village.
Breakfast buffet offered a range to suit all tastes and staff were all friendly and keen to assist with any problems.
The early morning ceremony at sunrise on the beach brought a real sense of what being in Hawaii is all about.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vuepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing