We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel is centrally located on the island, near but not too near airport. Close to shopping and restaurants in area. Loved location on the beach, just a short walk from room to beach. You can walk to coconut plaza which has shops and food. We had a wonderful stay, would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuzzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    645
    210
    72
    35
See reviews for
286
861
72
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip to Kauai. Found it on Trip Advisor and thought it looked good. It's better in person and now I have a new home for my trips to Kauai. Traveling solo - it's nice to have a place where you can relax with a drink after work. The food at the bar was excellent, the people are friendly and its location is excellent. My one gripe is the coffee is horrible. How can you NOT serve good coffee in Hawaii?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Mahalo for your recent comment. We are very happy to hear you have found a Kauai home away from home! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Kauai and we hope to see you again soon. In fact, we should have that new coffee by the time you return. Timing is everything and we were just about to switch to another Hawaii Grown coffee. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice property with plenty of food options etc and pool area overlooking the beach. We stayed one night only for ease to get to airport in morning (we had a car but they offer a free shuttle service). Beach was calm and swimmable but I am told this is not always the case. Easy to get to either side of the island from here provided you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MianaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha and thank you for choosing the Courtyard Kauai. We are happy to see you found us convenient and centrally located. Our Aloha Spirit and great location are two of our best attributes. Hopefully you return to Kauai soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice hotel. Fourth Floor had vaulted ceilings, our room was absolute furtherest from entrance. Requested quite room away from human noise where I could enjoy the surf, Room 485 fit the bill. Be aware a good distance from nearest elevator. New furnishings, very clean no mildew order, Bathroom is small but not spending day in there. Lobby open and very inviting; my wife kept on how lovely the place was.
Wifi was great and fast. Fridge kinda 0f small. Six pack and a little extra. Coffee Maker is one of those single cup makers, two coffee packs in room per day.
Safeway and Foodtown close by, Walmart 10 minutes away. McDonalds, Burger King, Taco Bell are close, (did not stop at any but are close) Little town does not open until after 7:00 drove a ways to get breakfast.
Would stay here again, I am Gold Marriott but no upgrades given at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask desk for upgrade, best room, tell them what you are looking for and they will attempt to accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Right in the middle of Kapaa and a short walk to downtown Kapaa. The lobby and pool area where beautiful and inviting. They also have three hammocks outside for you to enjoy. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, though our Ocean View room was on the side of the building near the dumpsters (but technically you could see the ocean from the tiny balcony.) The location was central to all our planned activites and they also have an expedia rep available in the lobby to help you book anything else that might catch your eye. Enjoyed having the bar in the pool area and also the Free Mai Tai cocktail hour nightly. Only slight hiccup was the attitude of our made who usually did not stop by to clean our room until around 2pm, right when we were usually coming back from an excursion. My wife had told her one day that we would be 10min. and the maid gave her an eye role before moving on. The rest of the staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and we felt very welcomed. Lots of great places to eat nearby and shops within walking distance. Would definitley come back the next time we are in Kauai.

Room Tip: Avoid the right wing of the building facing the ocean. Although you can see the ocean from your balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajtrincado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is one of very few Hotels on Kauai. They are mostly condos, or resorts. This was definitley a great choice. We had an ocean front room. The room was big, and the view is worth it. Watched the sun rise over the ocean every morning. Great staff. they suggested things to do. Went on a helicopter tour of the island - great experience. It is close to the airport. They have a fire pit at night, and the one night there was a hula show, and they sang hawaiin songs. Lots of lounge chairs, and seating outside. This was an awesome experience - our first time on this island. I would recommend this hotel. It is close to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the extra cost. We were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heyjude2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Disappointing!!!!!!
Hotel grounds and pool are lovely directly on the beach perfect! But bars closing at 10pm disgusting!!
We flew over from Oahu for 1 night and all I can I say is thank god! One night is enough!!!

We've had problems with the wifi, and as for the bar I'm on holiday but being sent to bed by 10pm not acceptable!

This is also a honeymoon stop! No extas anything!

I can not express how annoyed I am and when we asked the reveption lady why it closed at 10pm her answer was that's just the way it is !!! crap!! Never heard such rubbish world come here ever again'

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimanolo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Mahalo for your review and we are sorry you did not enjoy Kauai and our facilities. I was just in Oahu and you are absolutely correct, Kauai is no Oahu. Things do close down earlier around our island and we apologize if this ruined your visit. There are a few local places we can point out that stay open longer, so maybe next time you can stay a few extra days and enhance your experience. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
0.3 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing