We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price for stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good price for stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The complimentary concierge service was great! I can't remember his name but it was a Hawaiin name. He really took his time to find us activities. Be prepared for $17 per day parking charged the last day and a $50 dollar a day pending placed on whatever card you put down (customary at some places), it will drop off your card in like 3-5 days but budget accordingly. The bathroom door swings open and barely clears the toilet. Could possibly make those open out or something? Some palm trees blocked our "ocean view" and could possibly be trimmed. Ribs in bar are a bit over cooked but tasty. Easy to walk to Safeway, starbucks or the drug store if you needs something. Also, an L & L for cheap late night good eats. Beaches all around! You can rent bikes from the hotel but down the street up north, near some food cards is a bike rental shop that is a little more spendy but the bikes are in better shape. We felt like they were falling apart (be sure to ask for one with a basket for shopping). You can check out towels ONLY for the pool but if you forget anything there are shops around. Also some bigger stores down south that you can get stuff (get a straw towel if possible, doesn't collect sand). Bring bug spray and sunscreen! The Sunrise prayer song and dance was nice but the sunrise made it even better. Skip the pool and go to the beach! That is why you are there! The happy hour bar from 4-7 (I believe) is good. Get the sliders. Trust me. The Saturday night performer is great. He has a beautiful voice. We almost fell asleep so relaxed. Be sure to tip the performers. Would be nice if parking was included but such is life. All-in-all, great place, price, very relaxing, clean and friendly staff. Just remember that it is Hawaiian time - slow down...

Room Tip: be sure to look at the layout and request rooms as close as you can get to the beach and the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortlandOregon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    698
    233
    82
    41
See reviews for
307
947
81
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed over a weekend after our timeshare week ended and were very happy with the location and the setting. The night was beautiful sitting on a large round chair by the ocean listening to live Hawaiian music with my husband.

Beautiful, clean room but we missed a microwave.
We were very disappointed to be required pay 14.00 per night for parking.

All said - we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A nice modern hotel located in a central part of the island. Our room was a 4th floor garden view with a king bed. The room was very big and we also had a high vaulted ceiling because we were on the top floor. Not much of a view but I didn't want to pay extra for the beach view. Very quiet where we were and we slept very well. They are on the beachfront but you cannot swim in it. The beach is too rocky and dangerous. It is great to sit and listen to the waves come rolling in. They do hold you up on the parking at $14 a night. This is not Waikiki so there is no reasonable need to charge this much. It would also have been nice to had a microwave in the room.

Room Tip: Be preparred for the parking charges, they are $14 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The pool was nothing special but very deep and cool. The Beach was great since they had Chairs and we loved the little sitting areas they offered outside, in the sun and shade. Great extras, shows and hospitality. We were on the 4th floor and the room was great too. Friendly staff, coffee in the AM and the Breakfast Buffet was really good. Everything fresh and the Omelet Chef gave great advice and offered places to see on the island. They always had cold water by the bar for those of us in the pool and the Firepit and shows were great. Not a swimming beach but enough to wade in and enjoy the sunrise, even with Hula blessing show if up early enough.

Room Tip: Fourth floor with vaulted ceilings are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Room and staff:
Stayed in an ocean view room as these were supposedly more recently updated. Rooms were spacious, but they did have a musty smell. One room had ants, but staff let us change rooms immediately. Bathroom door was a bit annoying (you'll understand once you see it). All staff were very helpful the entire stay, especially the front desk and the concierge (Heidi was great).

Value:
Parking was $14 a day, but this is much less than resort charges at other hotels in Kauai. Wifi was included and was good depending on where your room was. Restaurant was also very well priced for a hotel as were the surrounding restaurants.

Location:
Hotel was pretty central and Kappa has a lot of restaurants to eat at that are well priced as well. Also, food stores are close. We did stuff in Hanalei and around Kappa when we stayed here. Pretty convenient to ATV tour at Kipu ranch and helicopter tours (~30 min or less drive). Northern side was a bit farther (almost an hour to Tunnel beach, and a bit farther for the Napali coast trails). For swimming, better beaches will be to the north (Hanalei Bay, Anini beach). I didn't bother with any beaches on the eastern coast, drove up but left.

Overall, this hotel is a great value and staff were very helpful and friendly. You won't get ripped off compared to other places for food at the hotel and in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Depending on room, wifi can be poor (was poor at the ends of the hotel). Also some rooms have more o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graniteville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Right on the beach. Courteous and helpful staff. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet--which was expensive, but worth it. Comfortable room decorated with style; balcony overlooked the pool. As is common in Hawaii, some of the corridors were open-air. Quality entertainment in the bar. Do note that they charge for outdoor parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff where nice. The rooms were just fine, but a little small. Pool area was fun with comfy loungers and the open air bar had iced water for guests at the pool. Hotel has free coffee in lobby in the mornings and a garden isle daily newspaper.hotel is right on the beach, not much for swimming but nice. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mngoodeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your business. July is always a great month to visit Hawaii and it sounds like you were able to enjoy some Kauai sun at our Courtyard pool area. If you didn't get a chance see our Hula Show on Wednesday nights you must make sure you do on your next visit. Its wonderful. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing