We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice location”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon for eight days. The place is very well located for activities around the island. Nothing is really more than an hour away except for Waimea Canyon.
We appreciated the Coconut Marketplace right next door for eating and shopping as well as the Foodland, Safeway, and ABC Stores all within a couple of blocks.
Our room had great A/C, was clean, and was quiet. We loved the pool areas where we ate many of our take-out dinners while watching the ocean. They even have a performance at sunrise by a mother and daughter (song & dance) which was very nice.
Great stay for the value too!

Helpful?
1 Thank TGDC503
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    721
    243
    86
    43
See reviews for
316
984
81
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Got a very good price online, so I was not surprised for getting a room on top of the hotel's generator. I havn't switched it as the room was really quiet and we only used it for sleeping.

The hotel is not too big but feels spacious. Rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. Free cocktails @ reception is a great bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofer1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the CY at Coconut Beach. The staff was very friendly and kind in typical laid back Kauai manner. We loved the common areas which were great for relaxing - hammocks, cushy chairs, high end deck chairs, etc. The lounge and the bar food was great and not overly expensive. After a day of sightseeing, it was nice to return to the hotel for a free mai tai, and then retreat to the bar for some great snacks. While the beach is not really swim-able, it is beautiful. On the last AM, we got up at 530 and saw the most spectacular sunrise. The grounds of the hotel are well manicured. The hotel is convenient to the airport, and really midway in the island for trips north and west. Traffic around Kapaa gets pretty bad around rush? hour. No one really seems to know why. But that's ok. Because it's a great place to forget about stuff like that and just chill out. My only real complaint is that the doors in the hall when shut all sound like they are being slammed. Not a great way to wake up, or go to sleep.

Room Tip: We booked an executive room because we thought other executives would be around...mainly it was peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very lovely rooms. Cold front with high winds eastern brought in wetness into a ground floor room, everything was wet and smelled wet. However, we immediately changed rooms to the 2nd floor and it was much improved although we lost the ocean view. The beach is not swimmable but is beautiful to sit by in the chairs provided at the beach. I will stay here again. We got up and packed a lunch daily and beach hopped- Kauai has the best snorkeling experiences ever to be had.One day there was a couple of sea lions on the beach sleeping- priceless.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onmylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This resort was recently remodeled. The hotel is centrally located on the island. The island is small enough that u can be on the north or south shore in 30-40 minutes. The beach is not a great beach for swimming, but you will have the beach to yourself. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Rooms were very "Hawaiian".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JIm52833401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenpasadena
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I arrived in the evening my first night on Kauai and decided to try this Courtyard. Wow, I was pleasantly surprised by the great value, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and ameneties. Kauai may seem like a small island, but there are many parts to it and much to see. I would suggest renting a car so you can conveniently check it out (and not spend all of the time in your hotel room). If you are that kind of traveler, the Courtyard is a great value. It has everything the larger resorts have - at much better prices. Location-wise, you are right on the beach. i got upgraded to an ocean view and it looked like many of the rooms are ocean view, so that might not be such a hard thing to get. The ocean is a "look at" beach not a swimmable beach. Grab your free mai tai and head for the pool or beach to watch the sunset. Live music and lounge were nice. It's close enough to Kapaa that you can walk there for groceries, Starbucks or some of the decent restaurants. I like to run, and appreciated that a beach-front path ran from Kapaa up the coast. I got up early and ran a few miles watching the sun rise (remember, if you are coming from the mainland, you will find it easier to get up early your first day). The room was huge, comfortable, and had all of the basics. I loved the refrigerator in the room where you could store some basic supplies and the balcony was a great place to relax in the evenings or have your morning coffee and watch the ocean waves. If you are on a budget and are thinking about staying in smaller, sketchier places because they are cheap, plug in your dates and see what comes up here. You might get to upgrade on ameneties without busting your budget.

Room Tip: I loved the convenience of laundry facilities on every floor. Great place to wash out your bathing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I've been coming to this property for years and have seen many improvements ever since Marriott Courtyard took over. The outdoor space use to be fairly drab with just a simple concrete hole in the ground full of water to cool off in. Courtyard has added many new features and design elements to the outdoor space to make it more enjoyable to relax and enjoy the outdoors. The outdoor fireplace and fountain being one of my favorites. There are plenty of loungers, daybeds and hammocks around the property to accommodate everyone and you don't feel crowded like many other beach resorts.

The staff is great and does their best to impress with the tools given to them.

The beach isn't a swimming beach at all. Of course it is beautiful to look out on but if you're looking for a swimming beach you must look elsewhere. The hotel provides bike rentals for $10. I usually take a nice four mile bike ride on a great bike path to a beach called Kealia Beach which is nice for lounging and swimming (strong swimmers only).

The room is nothing special, just okay. There is nothing in the room that stands out as being great. I've stayed in a few rooms that smelled really bad of mildew and felt damp. My current room has a leaking toilet and a broken TV. If I were just rating the room I'd give it a two star review.

The location is great as there is a Safeway and Foodland within walking distance as well as many options for restaurants and bars. There is a local farmers market every Tuesday nearby which can be fun to visit if you're into that type of thing.

Overall, it is an alright place to stay if on a budget and you rent a car to explore the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrvlrRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing