We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean rooms, though the fan in the bathroom was a bit noisy, especially at night.
Each day from 5:30 pm to 8 pm you can get free Mai Tais at the desk of the bellboy.
In the lobby there is an office of Expedia offering all kinds of activities you can book through them (usualy giving you a good deal).
Almost each night there is live music in the courtyard, but that stops around 10 pm.
Nearby there is a shopping center with several restaurants as well as several supermarkts, so you can get breakfast and lunch there if you wish to save some money.
The parking fee is $14 a day.
All in all I can (and will) recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerardDeVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    673
    223
    76
    38
See reviews for
302
908
79
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I'm a fan of Marriott hotels since I was a young kid traveling with my mom and dad. I picked this Marriott becuase of price and location.
I was surprised what a beautiful resort property this was right here on Kauai. It felt like a resort hotel and not your typical Marriott Courtyard.
Great staff as well

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkHorse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were in a different resort (timeshare) and it was awful, so we had to find somewhere for my family to stay. We traded in our award points and were able to book two rooms (plus cash) for myself, hubby and our adult girls. The staff was kind, the rooms were super and we upgraded to a direct ocean front room, worth the money! It was a great find and would plan to go back there as a destination spot. Only disappointment was the reef was ocean side and could not swim in the ocean, but their pool and hot tub were very nice. The pool side fire pit was great, but there were never any open chairs so enjoyed it from a distance. The concierge was also very helpful.

Room Tip: If you can afford a larger room direct ocean front, go for the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is a great value. The room ("executive, larger, 2 queens, ocean front balcony") was great, although a wee-bit worn. Bed was still firm, but furniture showing its wear. Still, the value was great, the bar made wonderful drinks for happy hour, pool was nice, and there are plenty of lounge chairs, towels, etc. We didn't eat anything here because they did not have much for vegetarians, but it was not a far walk or drive to plenty of little places.

Room Tip: Get the "executive, larger room" if you have a lot of stuff (e.g., snorkeling gear, etc).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton CO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

After reading the reviews and because of the price, we decided to book a week here and arrived on 6/1/2013. Our ocean view room was spectacular. It is true that the lanai's are small but two people can still sit on them. It is true that the bathroom is small but the vanity is large and one person at a time is all that can stand in there -- not a problem. There is a room safe and a desk that can be wheeled around and used to eat on as well although it is strange that there is no appropriate desk chair in the room. The one that is provided is too low. The two chairs on the lanai can be brought in and used in the room and that was helpful for eating at the table. The refrigerator was large enough to hold a 12 pack of beverages plus a gallon of milk. This property is awesome and well maintained. The pools are serviced every day and they are immaculate. It is unfortunate that the pool is too cold but the 240 sq ft spa pool was really nice and you can even see the ocean while sitting in it. We tried the breakfast buffet and it was delicious. There is a dangerous reef shelf that exists at the beach so there is no place to swim. Staff is really friendly here and this is a peaceful place. The deal killer for us is that the mattress on the bed was hard, lacked little padding, and was very uncomfortable. After a couple of days sleeping on this, it is painful. If the pool had been heated and the bed had been comfortable, I would have rated this a 4 star property. If you need a beach to swim on, it is best to stay in Poipu but the close proximity in Kapa'a to stores and restaurants and being positioned in the middle of the island to go either direction, has its advantages. Free wireless internet was nice but having to pay to park is not a good thing although there is no resort fee like some other properties charge. Despite the negatives and the terrible bed, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room in the main building above the restaurant that faces east and get the 3rd or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank scrivy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good for a Courtyard, well run, terrific location though with some problems in food & beverage.

Room. Wonderful large ocean facing room. Very clean, well maintained. Excellent housekeeping staff that really made the room a very welcome place to come back to after a long day exploring this amazing island. Very tiny bathroom though.

Food. Disappointing. There is a difference between a poached egg and a boiled egg for example, which the chef obviously did not know about. Hash browns are not just roasted potatoes. Average tasting for whatever was on offer at the restaurant. There are several excellent food options open all day long just outside the hotel.

Amenities. Very quiet beach, terrific sunrise views, small pool, but well appointed. Good Spa.

Location. Located about midway on the east side of the island, giving it a central location from which to explore either the North Shore, or the Na Pali side. Traffic around Kapaa can get very frustrating though during rush hour, so be prepared for that.

Staff. Very helpful, always willing to go out of their way to help, offer suggestions on island attractions, things to do etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach. We spent a lot of time lounging around the pool and bar area, which is literally on the beach. The centrality of the pool makes it a great meeting and lounging area. The hammocks are a nice touch too.

We had an ocean view room on the fourth floor. We were happy with the size and the view. Also, since our room was on the top floor, it had vaulted ceilings which made it feel bigger.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. We got a lot of good information out of the concierge.

This hotel's best feature is its location. It is within walking distance to Foodland, Vons, Starbucks, and several restaurants. It's also within walking distance to bike, surfboard and kayak rentals. The trade winds keep Kapa'a more comfortable compared to more southerly areas like Lihue or Poipu. Also, Kapa'a is about halfway between Hanalei Bay to the north and Poipu to the south, so it's a good home base for traveling around the island. If you're debating between the south shore or the east side (Coconut Coast), I highly recommend the east side.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have vaulted ceilings. Always ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing