We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,971)
Filter reviews
1,971 results
Traveler rating
709
802
297
107
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
802
297
107
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit resort fee vaulted ceilings parking fee ocean view nightly entertainment small balcony pool area hot tub free mai tai mai tais per day hotel restaurant free coffee oceanfront room nice property nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,338 - 1,343 of 1,971 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I'm a fan of Marriott hotels since I was a young kid traveling with my mom and dad. I picked this Marriott becuase of price and location.
I was surprised what a beautiful resort property this was right here on Kauai. It felt like a resort hotel and not your typical Marriott Courtyard.
Great staff as well

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarkHorse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were in a different resort (timeshare) and it was awful, so we had to find somewhere for my family to stay. We traded in our award points and were able to book two rooms (plus cash) for myself, hubby and our adult girls. The staff was kind, the rooms were super and we upgraded to a direct ocean front room, worth the money! It was a great find and would plan to go back there as a destination spot. Only disappointment was the reef was ocean side and could not swim in the ocean, but their pool and hot tub were very nice. The pool side fire pit was great, but there were never any open chairs so enjoyed it from a distance. The concierge was also very helpful.

Room tip: If you can afford a larger room direct ocean front, go for the upgrade!
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieH621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is a great value. The room ("executive, larger, 2 queens, ocean front balcony") was great, although a wee-bit worn. Bed was still firm, but furniture showing its wear. Still, the value was great, the bar made wonderful drinks for happy hour, pool was nice, and there are plenty of lounge chairs, towels, etc. We didn't eat anything here because they did not have much for vegetarians, but it was not a far walk or drive to plenty of little places.

Room tip: Get the "executive, larger room" if you have a lot of stuff (e.g., snorkeling gear, etc).
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After reading the reviews and because of the price, we decided to book a week here and arrived on 6/1/2013. Our ocean view room was spectacular. It is true that the lanai's are small but two people can still sit on them. It is true that the bathroom is small but the vanity is large and one person at a time is all that can stand in there -- not a problem. There is a room safe and a desk that can be wheeled around and used to eat on as well although it is strange that there is no appropriate desk chair in the room. The one that is provided is too low. The two chairs on the lanai can be brought in and used in the room and that was helpful for eating at the table. The refrigerator was large enough to hold a 12 pack of beverages plus a gallon of milk. This property is awesome and well maintained. The pools are serviced every day and they are immaculate. It is unfortunate that the pool is too cold but the 240 sq ft spa pool was really nice and you can even see the ocean while sitting in it. We tried the breakfast buffet and it was delicious. There is a dangerous reef shelf that exists at the beach so there is no place to swim. Staff is really friendly here and this is a peaceful place. The deal killer for us is that the mattress on the bed was hard, lacked little padding, and was very uncomfortable. After a couple of days sleeping on this, it is painful. If the pool had been heated and the bed had been comfortable, I would have rated this a 4 star property. If you need a beach to swim on, it is best to stay in Poipu but the close proximity in Kapa'a to stores and restaurants and being positioned in the middle of the island to go either direction, has its advantages. Free wireless internet was nice but having to pay to park is not a good thing although there is no resort fee like some other properties charge. Despite the negatives and the terrible bed, we enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: Pick an ocean view room in the main building above the restaurant that faces east and get the 3rd or 4th floor.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank scrivy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good for a Courtyard, well run, terrific location though with some problems in food & beverage.

Room. Wonderful large ocean facing room. Very clean, well maintained. Excellent housekeeping staff that really made the room a very welcome place to come back to after a long day exploring this amazing island. Very tiny bathroom though.

Food. Disappointing. There is a difference between a poached egg and a boiled egg for example, which the chef obviously did not know about. Hash browns are not just roasted potatoes. Average tasting for whatever was on offer at the restaurant. There are several excellent food options open all day long just outside the hotel.

Amenities. Very quiet beach, terrific sunrise views, small pool, but well appointed. Good Spa.

Location. Located about midway on the east side of the island, giving it a central location from which to explore either the North Shore, or the Na Pali side. Traffic around Kapaa can get very frustrating though during rush hour, so be prepared for that.

Staff. Very helpful, always willing to go out of their way to help, offer suggestions on island attractions, things to do etc.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BnT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews