We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, nice staff, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient location, nice staff, excellent value”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is a great value. The room ("executive, larger, 2 queens, ocean front balcony") was great, although a wee-bit worn. Bed was still firm, but furniture showing its wear. Still, the value was great, the bar made wonderful drinks for happy hour, pool was nice, and there are plenty of lounge chairs, towels, etc. We didn't eat anything here because they did not have much for vegetarians, but it was not a far walk or drive to plenty of little places.

Room Tip: Get the "executive, larger room" if you have a lot of stuff (e.g., snorkeling gear, etc).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    721
    243
    86
    43
See reviews for
316
984
81
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton CO
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After reading the reviews and because of the price, we decided to book a week here and arrived on 6/1/2013. Our ocean view room was spectacular. It is true that the lanai's are small but two people can still sit on them. It is true that the bathroom is small but the vanity is large and one person at a time is all that can stand in there -- not a problem. There is a room safe and a desk that can be wheeled around and used to eat on as well although it is strange that there is no appropriate desk chair in the room. The one that is provided is too low. The two chairs on the lanai can be brought in and used in the room and that was helpful for eating at the table. The refrigerator was large enough to hold a 12 pack of beverages plus a gallon of milk. This property is awesome and well maintained. The pools are serviced every day and they are immaculate. It is unfortunate that the pool is too cold but the 240 sq ft spa pool was really nice and you can even see the ocean while sitting in it. We tried the breakfast buffet and it was delicious. There is a dangerous reef shelf that exists at the beach so there is no place to swim. Staff is really friendly here and this is a peaceful place. The deal killer for us is that the mattress on the bed was hard, lacked little padding, and was very uncomfortable. After a couple of days sleeping on this, it is painful. If the pool had been heated and the bed had been comfortable, I would have rated this a 4 star property. If you need a beach to swim on, it is best to stay in Poipu but the close proximity in Kapa'a to stores and restaurants and being positioned in the middle of the island to go either direction, has its advantages. Free wireless internet was nice but having to pay to park is not a good thing although there is no resort fee like some other properties charge. Despite the negatives and the terrible bed, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room in the main building above the restaurant that faces east and get the 3rd or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank scrivy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good for a Courtyard, well run, terrific location though with some problems in food & beverage.

Room. Wonderful large ocean facing room. Very clean, well maintained. Excellent housekeeping staff that really made the room a very welcome place to come back to after a long day exploring this amazing island. Very tiny bathroom though.

Food. Disappointing. There is a difference between a poached egg and a boiled egg for example, which the chef obviously did not know about. Hash browns are not just roasted potatoes. Average tasting for whatever was on offer at the restaurant. There are several excellent food options open all day long just outside the hotel.

Amenities. Very quiet beach, terrific sunrise views, small pool, but well appointed. Good Spa.

Location. Located about midway on the east side of the island, giving it a central location from which to explore either the North Shore, or the Na Pali side. Traffic around Kapaa can get very frustrating though during rush hour, so be prepared for that.

Staff. Very helpful, always willing to go out of their way to help, offer suggestions on island attractions, things to do etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach. We spent a lot of time lounging around the pool and bar area, which is literally on the beach. The centrality of the pool makes it a great meeting and lounging area. The hammocks are a nice touch too.

We had an ocean view room on the fourth floor. We were happy with the size and the view. Also, since our room was on the top floor, it had vaulted ceilings which made it feel bigger.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. We got a lot of good information out of the concierge.

This hotel's best feature is its location. It is within walking distance to Foodland, Vons, Starbucks, and several restaurants. It's also within walking distance to bike, surfboard and kayak rentals. The trade winds keep Kapa'a more comfortable compared to more southerly areas like Lihue or Poipu. Also, Kapa'a is about halfway between Hanalei Bay to the north and Poipu to the south, so it's a good home base for traveling around the island. If you're debating between the south shore or the east side (Coconut Coast), I highly recommend the east side.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have vaulted ceilings. Always ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our family recently spent 10 nights at this hotel in 2 rooms - an executive oceanfront (larger) room and an ocean view room. We received a courtesy upgrade on the ocean view room from a pool view room. We requested a microwave and shower chair in advance of check in, and both were in place upon arrival. Check in was quick, friendly, and efficient. The room was fresh and clean. Renovations included new air conditioning system, wifi, and flat screen TV. We did have a slight ant problem in the bathroom, but the staff sprayed every day. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant or lounge, as there are many good alternatives handy in the area. (Hukilau Lanai for dinner is a must!) We found the front desk staff to be friendly and attentive, as well as the maintenance and cleaning staff. Contrary to what I've read in other reviews, towels were new and fluffy. Only complaints, besides the ants, were the uncomfortable chairs and sofa in the oceanfront room, and the springy mattress, which was just adequate for a decent night's sleep. We've previously stayed at the Marriott in Lihue, and we prefer the relaxed atmosphere of the Courtyard. I'm not a big fan of valet parking, and prefer easy access to our car without assistance. Also, bellman assistance was available, but not forced on us. The fact that the beach is not good for swimming actually was a plus for us, as it keeps the crowds away. There are other swimming beaches close to the property. One other annoyance, having to wait ridiculously long times to simply charge a market item to the room, standing in line, when a party is checking into the hotel. They could use a little more backup support at the front desk.

Unrelated to this hotel but worth a comment - highly recommend shave ice from Aaron at Hawaiian Blizzard in Kapaa in front of the Big Save (Mon-Fri, 1:30 - 5:00). Also try Na Pali Catamaran, leaving from Hanalei, for a great Na Pali coastline trip, including snorkeling and sea caves.

We would gladly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive oceanfront rooms have larger lanais and great panorama views of the water. Prefer floors 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Very Disappointed Gold Member

My husband and I are VERY LOYAL Gold Member Marriott travelers, and have been for years. To say that our stay at this property was so disappointing that we are considering taking our loyalty to another hotel chain says more than words!! Management does not have a good grip on their employees and the lack of acceptable customer service proves this point. Forgetting to place a surprise welcome anniversary gift of cheese plate and champagne in our room (which was pre-paid for and later given on-the-house due to their mistake) as well as forgetting a surprise flower arrangement, poor service in the restaurant with a wait staff that could seem to care less, toddlers and infants around the jacuzzi while (paying adults) are trying to relax, ants in our 4th floor bathroom, living area and MY BED and waiting 20 mins after check in to have our safe opened. All in all this was, by far, THE WORST MARRIOTT EXPERIENCE I've ever had and we will NOT be returning. Maybe The Grand Hyatt will be a better choice for us next time (not big fans of the Marriott Resort either. Stayed there 2 years ago).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KimberD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As part of a tour, my husband and I stayed here in May, 2013. This is a beautiful hotel, with one the neatest rooms we've ever been in! The dark wood furnishings were complimented by dark California shutters on the windows and lanai doors. I've never been in a room with shutters like this before. We had brunch in the hotel dining room on Mother's day and it was excellent. The hotel is right on the beach, but there's no swimming because of dangerous currents and coral that could cause injuries. The only drawback is that this hotel is on the windward side of the island, and so this coast gets a lot of rain. The day we arrived it was nice, but it rained or was cloudy the rest of the time, as well as being very windy and cool. However the hotel doesn't control the weather, so it's not responsible! We still had a great time. We walked around the nearby shops and read in a sheltered area around the pool. There is a gas firewall that surrounds two adjoining corners of the pool with chairs beside it. It's very pretty at night.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean are probably the most expensive. We could have upgraded, but didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaddyNiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing