We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Another nice Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another nice Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our 3rd Marriott stay during our 2 week vacation. This property was in a great location very central to both north and south shores. Free wifi. $14/day self park. Our room here was the best with the exception of the bed. The king bed was not as comfy as the other 2 hotels for some reason. But the room itself was great. We had the executive oceanfront room. And when they say oceanfront they mean it! Ocean is right there. We slept every night with the doors open to hear the great noise. Room was really big. Had an extra sink outside of the toilet/shower area. The toilet area was really small. Very poor layout in my opinion. If the budget allows, spring for the oceanfront room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    647
    210
    72
    36
See reviews for
287
866
72
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is located about halfway between the north end and the south end of the island.
My room was a corner unit facing the ocean. The room was small and the balcony just enough for two chars. I recommend requesting room 234 – 235 or 334,335, 336 ot 434, 435, 436. These rooms are much larger and have a great view of the ocean. The lower floors are blocked by the sun in the morning. The upper floors of these rooms give you a great view of the sunrise.
The staff is very friendly. I used the expedia desk to book most of the excursions. Make sure you check the prices with the companies them self before booking them at the hotel. Some of them like the Kipu ranch ATV have better prices if you book online. The difference was about $45 dolars per person. Do you homework.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful all the time. The hotel is very clean. I wouyld stay there again. There are several places that offer condo’s which are much larger, the hotel was enough for me since I usually got up at 6 Am and came back around 4 PM.

Room Tip: . I recommend requesting room 234 – 235 or 334,335, 336 ot 434, 435, 436. These rooms are much large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hb51travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fesjes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for 7 days in April 13 as a result of the reviews here. It was clean, the service was one of the best. Even the groundskeepers were friendly. Had an ocean front view that was stunning. You cannot go wrong staying here. You will love it.

I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fesjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel offered great value for the price paid. It was very clean, had great location for access to both the north and south side of Kauai. It was also within walking distance of a grocery store and other shops restaurants if you didn't feel like driving. The rooms were very clean and the grounds itself were very well kept. The hotel offered a no-frills, clean-cut and relaxing atmosphere with many options for relaxing at a table, lounge of by they pool or beach. The only negative is that the bathrooms are small. Also, the wait staff at the restaurant seem to be a bit rushed. Overall a great hotel especially with the live music each night and we really enjoyed the free the Fire & Hula show on Wednesday night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elseeyel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Enjoyed this hotel, but especially the long stretch of beach area! It was serene and most beautiful! Had a room overlooking the beach which made it all that much more wonderful! The beach was easy to walk, and the swimming was just great. Lots of wind surfers which was fun to watch! The staff were very friendly, the pool area was also very nice. It was close to the airport, restaurants, and attractions, as well as food shopping and a Starbucks (a must for me!) We had lunch and drinks by the pool and wine one evening by the fire pit which I really enjoyed. Dinner was also very good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff was wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Cleaning staff were prompt each day. The grounds had a great view of the ocean. Would definitely stay here again. Everyone was helpful when planning tours. Recommend the Smith Family Liua. The Na Ploy sunset dinner cruse with Blue Dolphine Crusies is a must.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhowarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Courtyard Marriott Kauai was a great hotel! The facility is very modern while still staying true to the Hawaiian culture (paintings, carvings, etc). The rooms and pool were spotless and spacious (which is very important to me). The only negative was the beach on the property which was very rocky and the waves were pretty strong. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with an equally stunning beach I would pass on this hotel or this side of the island for that matter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
0.3 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing