We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed reviews...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mixed reviews...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for one night on an excursion from our trip to oahu. hotel room was great, clean, comfortable. nice decor, especially the wooden doors to the patio. was able to check in early so we could hike the na pali coast for the day. got back late and starving! decided to patron the hotel restaurant for our engagement dinner. they have 2 areas for food service, one more of a cocktail atmosphere. we chose the restaurant side. the wait staff was at first a little rude because of the lateness of the hour. we proceeded to order champagne, apps, entrees, dessert, and more champagne. server was attentive. atmosphere a little lacking, but nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kauai18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    628
    208
    70
    33
See reviews for
275
834
69
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here every year for the last 8 years ,the staff are now considered family,you really couldn't ask for a better place to stay.from the moment you walk in you feel the Aloha from all the staff.the rooms are clean and the property is beautifully landscaped.Great place to see some of the best sunrises

Helpful?
6 Thank BernieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
153 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. If you are looking for a clean oceanview room on the Coconut Coast, this is the only place to stay! More than 70% of the rooms have a water view, so pricing is very competetive as compared to the Aston Aloha and KBR. The hotel also has many other features not commonly found at a Courtyard including spa, separate restaurant and lounge, complimentary island orientation, outdoor movie under the stars, refridge in room, complimentary coffee/tea in lobby AM's and complimentary Mai Tai on PM arrivals and NO RESORT FEE! There is a $14 daily parking charge though.

Room Tip: As for a room closer to the elevators as the corridors are very long due to the unusual shape of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JetsForFunJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This property exceeded my expectations. The room was more than comfortable and very large and the price for an ocean front room couldn't be beat. Excellent location and LOVED the firewall next to the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank js31401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sorry to say but your REWARDS membership doesn't mean a thing. No free upgrades, no special service or recognition. Had to ask them twice to put in my Rewards number because booking through Marriott (hotel/flight/car rental) couldn't do it for me. ?????

We were there in April, very slow visitor time for the island in general. The a/c couldn't keep up with the high humidity. Toilet ran constantly. Food very expensive. Pool towel service had to go to front desk, pool side bar staff would rather talk to each othe than wait on guests. Small tasteless drinks. Food came from the main kitchen by the time they walked it over to the bar then to your table it was cold. Pool is not heated. Beach was OK, seating at night by the fire and water features was nice but limited space, hotel market you could get a bottle of wine or a bottle of beer if you didn't want to buy a six pack you can get sandwiches and fruit but all were expired dates when we were there. We talked to many on our excursions and found the home rental market is good and a lot less cost then an over priced hotel. Go to the farmer's markets and buy your food at the safeway or food land. Serve yourself you'll like the taste much better. Noisey a/c unit running all of the time, thin walls could hear others chatter and such.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redlexus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 8 nights in Kauai at this Courtyard by Marriott on Coconut Beach and it was great. We were looking for something centrally located on the island and this Hotel fit the bill greatly. We could travel north or south from this location easily. The hotel is right on the beach and although the water isn't perfect for swimming (Dangerous waves, Rocky Reef, etc) it was great hearing the ocean in our room.

We read other reviews of the beds being hard and very springy and we thought the same thing as well. They must be older beds or of lower quality, but this didn't keep us from taking full advantage of the island and our time there. We had an ocean view room on the south side of the hotel. The Bathroom was tiny in the room we had but after looking at other reviews and pics from other users the Ocean Front Rooms have a much better bigger bathroom than the Ocean "View" Rooms.

The pool and fire pit for sitting around at night was great for relaxing at night as well. The Hammocks, Large Padded chairs, and flaming tiki torches at night are an awesome addition as well.

The Restaurant in the Hotel (The Voyager) was great too although a little more expensive than the local surrounding eateries. We paid around $34 for two people for breakfast and almost $70 for dinners and a glass of wine for two there. Overall the food was great and perfect for just staying close and relaxing after a busy day.

Something else that we don't remember reading about or seeing before we booked was the fact that this Courtyard also Charges $14 per day for parking. Not sure if we missed this when we booked the room but it is something anyone considering booking should factor in for additional price per night not included in the original booking.

Overall great place and this hotel worked perfectly for us for exploring the island.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are Small in Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wileyfoxhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stay almost exclusively at Marriott hotels, including a lot of Courtyard properties, and as the front desk clerk said when we checked in, "you've never stayed at a Courtyard like this this one." She was right! The location, the atmosphere, and the warmth of the staff all added up to a most enjoyable stay.

A few things that stood out for us:
1. The location 15 minutes north of Lihue airport makes it easy to reach both the North Shore and the South Shore on day trips.
2. The proximity to two big grocery stores (Foodland and Safeway) as well as a Longs (CVS) drugstore makes it easy to go out to pick up daily necessities without having to travel very far. In addition, there are several good eating places within walking distance, or a few minutes' drive, from the hotel.
3. The nightly entertainment, as well as the other cultural activities such as lei-making, was a real plus, and unlike anything you'll find at most Courtyards.

However, we would suggest that management do a better job of alerting people to each day's activities. At check-in we received a complete daily schedule, but it would be nice if, in addition, there was a board in the lobby to remind people what is going on each day.

All in all, we were very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmrail93455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.3 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing