We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Nearby Hotels
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$348
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,867)
Filter reviews
1,867 results
Traveler rating
658
777
278
101
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
658
777
278
101
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitparking feevaulted ceilingsresort feeocean viewsmall balconynightly entertainmenthot tubfree mai taispool areaper dayhotel restaurantnice propertyoceanfront roomfree coffeeopen airnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,304 - 1,309 of 1,867 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family of four stayed here 4 days in Mid-March 2013. I'll first say that the grounds are kept immaculent and the loaction was great! Front desk was awesome. We would have rated a 5 other than the cleanliness of our room. Some days were good and others unacceptable. Our first impression was that the room had a musty smell. We opened the slider and sprayed some perfume/cologne (problem solved). The drawers also smelled like moldy wood and we did not use them. The next day the room was not cleaned until ~ 4pm and was shabbily done. The next day the room was cleaned well, but we found a cockroach wandering in the bathroom before we went to bed. My family wanted to move to another room, but I insisted that we stay settled unless we saw another one. I am not sure if they were short staffed, but something was lacking. Our room was near/above one of the restaurants (source of the cockroach??). We did not eat or drink at the hotel so I cannot comment on those. Chances are that we will not stay here again when we return to Kauai next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Excellent hotel for a quieter smaller resort-hotel beach experience in Kauai. Hotel is very open concept, quite chill and relaxing. There is a minimum of development meaning there's a nice wide lawn that turns into the beach in a rustic way. The beach is walkable in both directions with lot's of open space. We only stayed one night before going to a more EcoTourist VRBO cottage. This Courtyard was an excellent starting point on Kauai. The Foodland Grocery store, shops and smaller/local restaurants of Kapa'a are across the highway and just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: We were kindly upgraded to a ground floor Ocean Room on the far north side of property - quietest most private area. Able to walk out sliding door to lanai, lawn and beach.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a week at the Courtyard by Marriott in Kauai recently. The staff, accomindations, resturants and bar were top shelf. The highlight of the hotel is the firepit that is between the bar and pool. Many o nights were spent with a beer in one hand, feet on the fire pit and a good story being told. Great place to unwind after a busy day at our favorite island in Hawaii

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a room with an ocean view. Open the balcony doors at night to let the ocean serenade you to sleep. The sunrise in the monring will get your day off on the right foot.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAS_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this Courtyard By Marriott in January 2013 and loved it. It was a huge dilemma as to which Marriott to stay at on the island of Kauai. After talking to several different people about the 2 Marriott's on the island we chose this one and I'm glad we did. It had everything that we were looking for. This hotel is on a secluded beach and you can watch the sunrise with a nice hot cup of coffee every morning. We saw lots of whales breaching all day long while we laid on the hotel provided lawn chairs. The beach itself isn't really a good one to swim in as there's lots of rocks however we did see some of the locals go snorkeling for their dinner.

The lobby is nice and open and there's a valet stand, a concierge to offer you advise on the local attractions and each day there was a different vender selling their artwork (bone carvers, beaders, woodworkers). There's the typical Courtyard market where you can buy snacks and toiletries that you forgot to bring with you. However I will warn you they are overpriced but the good thing is there's a Safeway & ABC store just down the block where you can pick up these things for much less. Starbucks is only 2 blocks away too.

We ate in the bar a few times and the menu was very good and not too pricey. Pull pork sandwiches, shrimp tacos & Marriott burgers. The usual stuff. I did enjoy the pineapple mango daiquiri several times. The restaurant seemed to be over our budget and we wanted to try some of the local restaurants. However the breakfast menu in the hotel looked real good and very convenient.

They have a Hula show at least once a week with the most adorable little girls shaking what god gave them. Also the hotel offers hula lessons, yoga lessons and lei making lessons.

The hallway that leads to the guest rooms were very dark which at first was a little discouraging but who spends time in the hallway? The guest room had dark wood furniture but the windows were large so it was bright in the room during the day and at night it was perfectly dark and relaxing. Our bed was fabulous and the linens were soft. We had a balcony which was "snug" and really only fit 1 person comfortably. The wireless internet was spotty and really the best place to have good service was out on the balcony! I did hear that in the lobby the internet was much stronger. One plus on the internet is that it was free.

We went to the other Marriott in Lihue and ate at Dukes. That Marriott is huge and you have to walk a mile to get to anyplace. The pool is spectacular and their beach is great for swimming; paddle boarding. I've heard from several different people the rooms are very dated. This Marriott is also close to lots of shopping and several restaurants and lots of traffic. So with this all in mind we chose the Coconut Beach Courtyard to have a more relaxing and secluded time and loved it.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zacklydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved this hotel, we only stayed our first night in Kauai, but wished we would have stayed our entire vacation there. A little pricey but very nice. We had a great time just hanging by the pool sipping on a drink after dinner around the fire pit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews