We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel and very private” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel and very private”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this property from dec 19th to 26th. Upon arrival, check in was pleasant and i was upgraded to a executive oceanfront room as a platinum marriott member. The room is great, clean and nice view of the ocean. Bathroom a bit small. Water pressure, hot water all great.
They have a tennis court, a decent gym room with weight machine.
Pool is great, nice lounging chairs and peaceful enviroment. Pool bar food are great, price ok.
Restaurant food are decent, price from $12 to $18 breakfast. Service is a bit slowler than usual but its hawaii, they all slow lol.
Beach is great, very private, can walk along sandy beach but not great from swimming lots of rocks and barrier along the shores. There are few spots where you can find small lagoon kinda pool for soaking.
Nice thing about this hotel is that both side are empty land with trees , so very private and quite.

Room Tip: Hotel is located at kapaa. Taxi one way is $25 if you dont drive. Walking distance are safeway marke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jt93664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    664
    221
    75
    37
See reviews for
291
896
76
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staff is very professional and helpful; hotel is kept very clean; lobby is spacious and bright...and in the lobby be sure to meet Jonathan "Keoni" of Puka Shell Wizard jewelry; he creates beautiful and unique jewelry from seashell, coral and pearls. He is very friendly and pleasant! He has a "make your own" table for necklaces and bracelets...a great way to spend part of your morning before heading to the pool!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family stayed at the Marriott at Coconut Beach December 12 - 15. We had been there before in 2009 and wanted to come back. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The pool area is fabulous. The deck is groomed every morning. The beach is a perfect place for talking walks (not great for swimming with all the coral.) There are comfy lounge chairs to lie on and enjoy the surf while catching some rays. Restaurant staff is so thoughtful. Breakfast was over one morning, so they made my daughter and I a breakfast burrito to go. Great Mai Tai's at happy hour with Live music and hula dancers. Every member of their staff was kind, polite and so helpful. They really take pride in their facility. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: This trip we had a view of the pool. Lovely to sit out on the lanai, enjoy the sunset, listen to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is quite nice and less busy being on the east side of the island. The weather here is slightly cloudier and rainier then the south shore but being less crowded and cheaper. We got a great deal on this hotel which made it well worth it. The only downfall was not having a good beach to swim at. They do have a large beach but swimming is not recommended.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if swimming isn't a must.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an Ocean front room which I would not advise doing. The view was okay but not wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We got here on Christmas Eve and stayed for two nights. The greeters/hops at the entrance were friendly and helpful, as were the front desk. After getting settled in our wonderful ocean view room, we wanted to see what would be open on Christmas Eve and Christmas. The concierge didn't have much of a clue. You would have thought they would have a list ready for something like this! The hotel is really close to Kapaa, which has a lot of good restaurants and shops! On Christmas morning, we went down for our reservations for brunch. The restaurant wasn't ready for the rush and it took 30 minutes for our waitress to take our drink order. On top of that, the food was ok, but not worth the $100 I spent, even if it was hotel prices. Later that night, when we couldn't find anything open (thanks concierge!) we went back to find the hotel bar open and serving. They were prefictably slammed, but great none the less. Very friendly! The mini-me kids' burger is great for little ones. The pool and beach area were great. The have big, teo person lounge chairs and a fire ledge around one side of the pool! Cool facalities, poor customer service!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Open air, pleasant Aloha spirit, even with arrival after 10 pm. The layout was open and expansive and most rooms had balconies facing the beach. We had a top floor room (4th floor I believe) which had pitched, open ceilings, making the room feel enormous.

Bedding, furniture and finish out were all recently updated and well appointed. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request the highest floor, far from elevators and ice machine. A bit of a walk but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niblik2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We are checking out today after staying 2 nights at the Marriott and have nothing too negative to say about our stay. We booked through Hotwire.com (discount site) and expected to get the worst room possible with a view of the parking lot but ended up pleasantly surprised. Our room was standard, with a very comfortable king bed and we could see the ocean if we went out onto our balcony. The room was clean upon arrival and the staff friendly. Yes, the bathroom is small and the balcony even smaller but the rest of the room is fairly spacious.

Outside, there's plenty of outdoor seating that's provided were guests can lounge and enjoy morning coffee and the view of the ocean. The grounds are immaculate, the pool very clean and the beach goes on for miles. The ocean's surf is extremely rough and is not recommended for swimming but you can still wade in and get your feet and legs wet. There's also a great walking path that runs in front of the hotel and all along the ocean taking you past the other hotels and offers amazing views.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised by the Courtyard by Marriott and would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbenson5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
0.3 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing