We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hard to beat this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
asheville, nc
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“hard to beat this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We like others got this as a travelzoo bargain and were happy we did. even with the parking fee it was about 40% of what you would expect to pay at a similar property. The rooms obviously are recently refurbished. We ate dinner one night at the hotel restaurant and found it to be as good as the no. 1 rated Hukilau Lanai where we ate the next night, and not being crowded the service was excellent. I have already recommended this hotel to a friend going in January even if he cannot get the triavelzoo discount.

Room Tip: spring for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    699
    233
    82
    41
See reviews for
307
947
81
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. Very close to many attractions including a great farmer's market. We really enjoyed our time spent around the fire pit at night having a cocktail. Very relaxing place with beautiful grounds. If you want a Lanai to hang on though, this is not the place, best to hang out by the fire pit!

Room Tip: Don;t choose a room near the tennis courts. A room overlooking the garden is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDeckard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard last year at this time for our 40th anniversary. This week the wife has pulled out the journal we created last year, each night we read of what activities and things we did during each day. Fell in love with this place and the people. Can't wait to go back! This is the only place I will stay. I didn't think it was hard to find for an old southern boy, I think his name was Ernie worked for Alamo car rental place, gave great directions. We stayed in an oceanfront room, third floor, excellent view of the ocean. Monday night was Luau night. I remember a employee with the name of Travis, very friendly and helpful. Miss this place!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was by far my favorite hotel during our two week, four Island tour of Hawaii.

The room was very clean and the view was fantastic! We had arrived on a Wednesday and didn't pay much attention, but there was a free hula show that night. We saw part of the beginning but didn't think there would be much after that. We went to our room and you could hear them playing for at least 2 hours (at least it seemed like it). This didn't annoy us at all. I just wish we stayed down in the courtyard to watch it. If you are there when they are having this, be sure to stay and watch it.

They have drink specials in the afternoon and we loved the pool and hottub. The beach there seems very secluded and very nice. Would recommend for anyway wanting a nice quiet get away.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room on a high floor. We had the top floor with vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha Jeff and Mahalo for your review. You definitely should have stayed for the whole show!! Leilani and her Hula students do a phenomenal show Wednesdays and they also offer the Sunrise Experience twice a week. We will continue to expand our entertainment offerings so next time you are here there will be more to enjoy. Thank you for the kind comments and we appreciate your business. Come back and see us soon!! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Nice rooms. Food is very good. Hard to find at night due to no lighting or signs off highway- trust your gps. We did enter our room to find a dead one inch palmetto bug and at end of 7 day stay two baby roaches in the room. We left bathroom light on at night for this reason. Would stay here again but the roach problem is real and we were on 4th floor (top). Awesome beach and sitting areas. Staff was above average. Hall ways and entrance are not a/c but that did not bother us.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malterio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 15th anniversary at the Courtyard Kauai. We were there for 12 days. We were given an upgrade to an ocean view suite, and it was unbelievable. We were truly in paradise. The staff was wonderful, always smiling, and eager to please. It is a beautiful hotel in a very good location. Right on the beach, with sunrises to enjoy every morning. We never felt a need to go anywhere else for meals, although we did venture out a couple of times, it really wasn't necessary. The food and service at the Makai Lounge and breakfast at the Voyager was fantastic. (High five to Shyan, our server every day. Good job girl!) A big Mahalo out to the entire staff for all of their hard work - Bently, Tom, Lissa, Colleen, Lolita, and everyone else whose names we didn't know. You are all hard workers and make a great team!
Courtyard is the place to go when in Kauai. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. If they are not booked, they will gladly help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowergal94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Courtyard Marriotts are usually basic hotels. However, the Marriott in Kauai attempts to provide more than the typical Courtyard. Unfortunately, they're missing the mark. The room technology is outdated. The bartending is uninspiring and the housekeeping is out of touch with the guests. You may be able to do better elsewhere in Kauai, but the sunrise is something to behold.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you were disappointed in the room technology. Usually we receive great compliments on the complimentary WiFi and in-room movies. We also have a large eLounge with 3 computers and a Family Game room for all to enjoy. I will share your comments about the bartending to see where we could be missing the expectations and make improvements as well as housekeeping. Thank you for sharing. I am happy you had a chance to really enjoy the sunrise!! It truly is one of the best and now we have our "Sunrise Experience" Dance and Chat celebrating the beginning of a new day. Mahalo for your business and we hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing