We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Nearby Hotels
$317
$289
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$210
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,856)
Filter reviews
1,856 results
Traveler rating
651
775
277
100
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
775
277
100
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitparking feevaulted ceilingsresort feeocean viewsmall balconynightly entertainmenthot tubfree mai taispool areaper dayhotel restaurantnice propertyoceanfront roomfree coffeeopen airnice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,411 - 1,416 of 1,856 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We (wife and I) stayed for five nights mid-October using a Travelzoo deal that included a food credit. Consistent with what most others have said, it's a nice property for the price. Management and staff are very eager to make your stay enjoyable. As a reference point, the local paper reported that as of the beginning of October room rates in Kauai averaged just over $200 per night. Our rate was less, and I suspect the property is above the island average in quality.

Our first night was in a third-floor ocean-view room. We asked for a top-floor room based on reviews we'd read here. They said none were available that night, but they could move us the next day for the remainder of our stay. The first room was fine (pool and ocean views), but the fourth floor room was better due to the cathedral ceiling making the room seem more open.

Rooms include a coffee maker and mini-fridge (no mini-bar, thank goodness), so we were able to stock some simple breakfast items and snacks for the week. They also have free coffee in lobby every morning. Best deal is the free Mai Tai after 5:00 at the bell desk. Tip him, please. Nice guy and worth it.

Because we had the food credit we had drinks and food in the bar several evenings and the breakfast buffet one morning. Happy hour drink prices are reasonable ($6 for select drinks, wine and beer) and food prices weren't bad. The fish tacos were excellent for about $13 and were large enough to be a meal. Pork sliders were also tasty. The breakfast buffet was fine ($18). Taking a look at the menu, I'd probably order off it instead. It'd be about the same or less and offered more choices. Room service is not available.

There are a couple of very reasonable "food shacks" in the Coconut Place Market, within walking distance to the south. Dinner was less than $10 each at the Fish Hut and barbeque place, which are very close to each other in the center of the complex. You'd have no trouble finding them or checking out reviews on Trip Advisor (we did before we chose to eat there). The Fish Hut also had excellent "shave ice," a Hawaiian novelty.

Much to see on the island, and a car is pretty much a necessity to do so. We rented from Alamo, about $175 all-in Wednesday-Monday for a full-size car. Alamo gets mixed reviews, but they were quick and friendly both arriving and departing. Best gas price is Costco in Lihue, if you can find it. The gas station is behind the Home Depot, not the Costco.

I've attached a property map they gave us at check-in. Just add the floor to the room numbers

We'd definitely consider the Marriot if visiting Kauai again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are more open due to cathedral ceiling.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had heard or read that this former property had been recently acquired by Marriott and underwent a top-to-bottom renovation. We were'nt disappointed. For the more budget-minded Hawaiian visitor, a very impressive hotel it is. Spacious room, nicely furnished, comfortable beds, bathroom a bit small, large screen cable TV, room safe, etc. Gorgeous vegetation, well maintained grounds, lots of parking ($14 per day), great restaurant, poolside bar. Friendly staff. Nice spa, though we never used it. Overall, no complaints. It's a Marriott!

Room Tip: We were assigned to Room 225 with a "garden" view facing north. Similar rooms on the north side of the property have more limited natural light.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Here for 3 nights and enjoyed this hotel every minute of our stay. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable and the views of our room was breathtaking. Me and husband loved the lounge chairs facing the ocean, there every night till sunset. Nice to just relax and watch the ocean. Also, the ribs, fish tacos and sangria of the restaurant are yummy. Two downside, our room wasn't available till 4 pm, but the room given to us was worth the wait. Second, $14/day for parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is very clean, the ground is beautiful. the staff is amazing.
the pool is small, but it is cozy enough.
I did not care for the activity coordinator. She basically read off the flyer and has no personal input.
the house keeping are very attentive. I requested many small items for my children, like extra plastic bowels and knifes, from the restaurant, they not only helped but also added hot chocolate for my kids with grateful smile.
location is convenient, and not too far from the airport. parking is easy.
very nice computer working area, with great view. kids play room with air hockey table is a nice addition.

Room Tip: most of the rooms has partial ocean view. I choose the cheapest room part of Expedia package and it was nice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oxytec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Aloha
Thank you for the wonderful comments about the staff and cleanliness. We are proud to hear we "exceeded your expectations"......this is always our goal! It is very nice to hear about the special added touch of the hot chocolate for the kids. That's the extra Aloha that can make the difference. I will most definitely follow up on your comments about the activities desk. Thank you for your honest review and thank you for choosing the Courtyard Kauai Resort. Please come back and see us soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Most people would agree, a 5-day trip to Kauai from the mainland is not enough time to really wind down from work and enjoy, but it's what we had. My husband and I wanted to celebrate a special birthday in a special way and we took advantage of a package offer to experience Kauai again; not our first time there, but our first at this hotel. We experienced breakfasts, lunch and dinners in the on-site restaurant and lounge, and all were excellent quality. The table wait service was a 9 on a scale of 10, and the hotel staff quickly took care of a minor room issue. The courtyard is well laid out with pool, spa, elegant 'fire pit' area, nearby bar/grill, and lots of seating areas on and near the beach to enjoy your morning cup of coffee or tea. In addition to your little coffee maker in the room, free coffee and hot tea were supplied in the small market area by the front lobby. The hotel is right on the beach south of Kapaa, just north of the Coconut Marketplace shops (some were closed due to the economy, but many were open and we snagged a few bargains and a beautiful Bamboo Cay Christmas-theme Hawaiian shirt for my husband to wear this holiday). A sandy, surf-side walking path goes from the Wailua River bay south of this hotel to just north of it, allowing tourists and locals alike to get a short walk in before breakfast, or an evening stroll. Many rooms have ocean views; if possible, ask for one of the ocean-facing rooms at the end of the halls to get the full effect.

Very close to this Marriott Courtyard is a 'Foodland' for all your little needs once you get there. There are also several other restaurants in the area within short driving distance within Kapaa if you don't want to eat on-site the whole time.

Only areas we experienced that needed work were the slightly overworked check-in staff who most times had a small line that kept you waiting, and the spa maintenance, which was down for part of our stay. I would definitely consider going back again with all the positives this location offered for the $.

Room Tip: If you want the best view possible, ask for 2nd or higher floor and a west-facing end unit.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews