We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We really had a great stay here and hated to leave. The property is in excellent condition, the employees were friendly, and the atmosphere really had the aloha spirit. The complimentary mai tais in the late afternoon were a definite plus! Our room was very spacious, clean, and up to date. No complaints about the bathroom, either. The beach here is decent for laying out and relaxing, and the pool seemed nice too. There are a number of good local restaurants within a few minutes' drive, as well as a couple of grocery stores and some other small retail shops. The location on this part of the island is ideal if you plan to visit both the western and northern parts because it is basically in between those areas and the highway that follows the coast does not make a complete loop. We traveled around the island quite a bit and found this to be an excellent home base. The airport in Lihue is a short drive from here too, which is convenient. Although this is not a five star resort type of property, it really had that feel to it in many respects and greatly exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcvan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    717
    239
    86
    42
See reviews for
313
976
81
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Kapaa, Kauai. It is a very convenient location to the airport, to the North Shore, south beaches and the Waimea Canyon. There are several good restaurants in walking distance along with two large grocery stores. You can't swim in front of the hotel but driving to Anini or Poipu is easy enough. Lydgate Park (which has a closed in area for kids) is close too. The hotel check-in process was smooth (nice welcome mai tai to boot!) Our rooms had a partial ocean view (we were there on a TravelZoo voucher so didn't expect much.) The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom is on the small size. The complimentary coffee and wireless were greatly appreciated. The property is oceanfront so watching the sunrise with your free coffee in hand is a treat. Breakfast buffet is decent but $18 so we ordered a la carte and were pleased (they let you bring in the free coffee that you were drinking while watching the sunrise). Happy hour every afternoon--we were a fan of the mai tais and daily appetizer special. Service was sometimes slow but this is true for Kauai generally--helps to make you slow down too ;-). Pool area is small but had everything we needed. All staff friendly and helpful throughout the property. Only negative: parking is $14. Recommend this hotel for a Kauai vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearlRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We thought that we got a great deal for this hotel through Travel Zoo but, SURPRISE! IT WAS A FANTASTIC deal at a FANTASTIC hotel!!!!! Right on the beach, with an array of lounge chairs facing the Pacific; a beautiful pool and jacuzzi; outdoor firepit surrounded by comfy chairs; hammocks for lounging &/or reading a great book; walking distance to shops; friendly staff; live music/hula dancers; great bar... We did do a lot of traveling around the island because it was our first time in Kauai but we could have just stayed at the hotel all week and enjoyed the peace and quiet with all the amenities. I would suggest this hotel for those who are really not into night life and excitement and are going more for some R&R. The ocean view is beautiful (east side of island with beautiful sunrises) but not for swimming or water sports. The hotel restaurant is adequate but we did a lot of eating in 'out of the way' places or just picking up food a the local supermarket deli. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room (#201) looked right over the main outdoor area (pool, bar, etc.) and a perfect view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodip630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautiful grounds greet you as you come down the long driveway lined with palm trees - great first impression! This was followed with excellent service at the front counter. There is free coffee (in the mornings) and tea service (all day) located in their lobby market place, open-air bar/lounge, restaurant, comfortable seating around the pool area, and seating on the beach for watching the sunrise. Cherise at the concierge desk was very helpful in providing directions while we were there, and she reserved our anniversary dinner at Duke's Restaurant on Rice Street. When we returned from dinner, she had placed a gift of fruit in our room with a note of congratulations. Bernice went the extra mile to make sure we received a fax that contained confirmation and directions to Steelgrass Farms. During our stay, there was a tsunami alert due to a earthquake in Canada. All of the staff were wonderful in providing assistance to everyone evacuating, and to those who remained under elevation evacuation. Travis called in after he had gone home from work and came back to assist staff still on duty. Tristan made sure our room was clean. Everywhere we went, it felt like we were being treated like family, whether it was the restaurant, the lounge, the lobby market place, or just around the pool. We were close to Coconut Marketplace if we wished to shop, and we could just rest on our balcony and listen to the entertainment that was scheduled almost every day of the week. There were local artisans in the lobby in the mornings selling their pieces. Everything was just perfect. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view to watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Felt the Aloha as soon as we arrived. Staff went out of their way to make us happy. look forward to our next stay. Great location for getting to any part of the island and the airport is a few minutes away. There's a nice pool area with open air bar and restaurant on either side. It is a plus that Kapaa is within walking distance and it is close to the Coconut Market Place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaiisteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a recently renovated property that is in a great location with a great staff.
The rooms are good size and bathrooms are small but this is Kauai, who spends much time in room? Grounds are great. Bar has reasonable price food which is filling. One or two nights a week they have great entertainment. It does have a parking fee which is kinda weird but most hotel/resorts have even higher resort/parking fees

The staff is what makes this place ! You will feel like Ohana ( family)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kavinsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were big very relaxing with the beach steps away. Centrally located on the island would stay here again customer service was great had a problem with tub drain they were there in 5 mins to unclog.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing