We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I am currently at the Marriott Courtyard in Kauai. It is a great hotel. Each evening the fire pit near the pool is lit. What a great way to have a drink, sitting by the fire pit, facing the ocean. Each Wednesday evening the hotel has a hula show. The rooms are spotless, and the staff is friendly.
Particular kudos to Kim for all of her help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrishuk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    699
    234
    83
    41
See reviews for
308
949
81
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I liked this place quite a bit. It's definitely not a "resort", more of a business hotel kinda look. But the staff is very helpful and the place is clean. It's not near any of the major tourist spots (which in itself is kinda nice), but anyplace on the island is within thirty or forty minutes. We stayed on a TravelZoo offer for only $97/night, making it a great deal.
Be sure to request a fourth floor room to avoid some noise and get a better view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

we stayed there for one week. welcome was warm but that was it for now. Room was smelling and it was really loud outside at night. next day we could change our rooms and got another room. but this room had an even more interesting smell, like pee.
water in the bathroom didnt get warm.. .I called reception, they sent sb to check. he said thats normal. just keep the water running for 15 min, it will get warm... ahhh ok... the aloha style of solving problems...
last day we asked for a late check-out due to a late flight (check out 4pm)
they said max is 2pm, after that 99usd +tax.
wtf? half of the hotel is empty and they would charge 100 bucks just for 2 hours more?
great service marriott.
after all. deal was ok just for sleeping, but any other service was bad (dirty towels for the pool) or expensive... next time will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: rooms north wing a loud expensive parking fees 14 plus tax
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kobraheintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to tells us about your recent stay. This certainly is not the type of comments we hear. I have already shared your comments with my team so we can one by one understand what may have happened during your stay. Through normal room inspections and routine maintenance any of these issues you mention would have been addressed. There is no reason you should need to wait for hot water so I apologize you were given the wrong information. We strive everyday to deliver and embrace the Aloha spirit, however we have truely let you down in this case. I will be following up with you by seperate email and we hope you will afford us another opportunity to show you how we can do it right. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know and allowing us an opportunity to improve.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in September 2012 and were very pleased with our upgraded ocean-view room on the 4th floor. It was spacious (except for the bathroom--which was a bit tight) and had a very useful mini-fridge and small balcony. The grounds were well-kept and beautiful, and we enjoyed the pool, hot-tub, short-walk to the beach, outdoor hammocks, and complimentary water, coffee, and tea! We even got complimentary mai-tai's one afternoon!!

The location is also convenient--on the east side of the island--making it an easy central location to visit the Napali coast in the north (about 30 mins to Hanalei Bay and an hour to the end of the road) or Waimea canyon (about an hour away) or 30 minutes to the great beaches in the southern Poipu area .

The only thing we didn't like was the additional $15/ day parking fee they charged. We ended up finding parking down the street by the McDonald's, and walked..which was okay but not ideal when they had such a large lot.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade! The 4th floor, ocean view rooms are great and have high ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The view was beautiful, an ocean view fifty yards from the water. The room smelled like mold or something musty. The food at the Voyager hotel restaurant was subpar with frozen vegetables in the entree. I think the dessert was frozen also because the center of the apple tart was still cold.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gernyshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My hubby and I stayed 3 nights at this Courtyard and were very pleased. When we checked in we requested an upgraded room which was granted cheerfully at at no extra charge. We had a beautiful ocean view and slept with our balcony door open to hear the waves (the balcony's had sliding screen doors as well as glass). The pool was nice but a bit cold. The air in our room was cold too but we turned it off to open the doors anyway. Breakfast buffet was tasty and reasonable by Hawaii standards. Would go back to Kauai in a heartbeat and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade...if the hotel isn't busy you will probably get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'm writing this from my patio at the hotel on my second to last morning. Great central location on Kauai. About an hour drive to Kee Beach/Na Pali trails on the north, just over an hour to Waimea canyon and 30 minutes to Poipu area beaches. The hotel is very clean with beautiful pool and large hot tub. Lots of lounge chairs at the pool and on the beach. We've had friendly service all around from the front desk, to waitresses, yard workers and housekeeping. Rooms are typical with coffee pot and fridge. Lobby area has free coffee/tea each morning from 630 to 1000. Pool towels are available on request anytime. You request a wristband daily as colors change, to help keep poachers out of the pool area. Not a big deal to get a wrist band as you get your fresh pool towels for the day. Lovely to have live music every night from about 630 to 8 or 9. We've eaten out in town often but have also had some nice meals at the poolside lounge. They have happy hour from 4-7 daily with selected wine/beer/mai tais for 4 dollars and are nice to let you know when happy hour is almost over so you can order more if you like. I'd come back and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We booked a garden view room but when we asked if we'd get any ocean view, we were upgraded to a...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing