We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, but not a swimming beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Spent 8 nights here in March, right after the major rain storms that broke records. Hotel is on the windward side, so fairly constant breeze (to 30 mph winds) off the ocean. The photos would lead you to believe that you could actually swim in the ocean here, but not a chance when we were there. Great sand beach and chairs for sunning and reading, but not swimming, rocks just offshore and a pounding surf when we were there. Pool and hot tub excellent, and very Kid friendly, strollers, little ones welcome. Quiet, relaxing, excellent staff will do anything to accomodate. Food expensive (the norm on Kauai), so-so, breakfast best, appetizers great, great bar, no dinner served. Lots of choices nearby in Kapaa, walk to Coconut Village shops and restaurants, Safeway just a few blocks away. Rooms nice, small refrigerators can help you keep the costs down by going to Safeway. Great ambience, quiet at night (we were even there during spring break), great for kids/ families.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the parking lot are quietest, we had to move after the first night to get aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank puck45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

I'm not sure what this place looked like before, but the place looks great now (for a Courtyard Marriott) after a multi million dollar renovation. And it IS a Courtyard Marriott so don't expect resort service like drinks being served to you in your chaise next to the ocean or pool. There's really not even any towel service or cabana boys. Nevertheless, they do have a nice poolside lounge, nice beach views and a nice hot tub and pool area.
The food and drinks were very good. Ask for an ocean front upgrade and it's free for honeymooners, $20 if your same sex honeymooners. Overall, a good experience for the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttirres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Unfortunately during our time here the island had storms and rain of a scale that I have rarely witnessed. This made our experience quite different than what we were expecting. However, this was not the fault of the hotel so won't factor into my review too much.

Location: set off the main road somewhat behind a shopping area. You can walk to a large location of shops. Restaurants and a grocery store are very close by as well. The airport is maybe 15 minutes south of the hotel.

Beach: The beach is not bad, the sand is fairly clean, but there are rocks at the edge of the water, so swimming or water activities are probably not possible, at least not directly in front of the hotel. There are chairs set up at the top of the beach by the hotel. Sunrises are easy to see from the beach or from a ocean-view room

Staff: Pretty friendly, helpful with questions that we had. Since the weather was so bad, they were particularly busy this week with hotel issues so we did not bother them too much for very many things.

Rooms: Our room was a pretty typical courtyard room, good size, nice bed, etc. However since it was cold and rainy the whole week, we were colder than usual. Even though we turned the AC off, and kept the room temp in the 80s, the AC still came on frequently, making our room freezing cold almost the whole time. Our room was also situated on the 3rd floor directly over the loading dock at the back of the hotel. This meant a lot of noise in the mornings, as well as employees taking smoke/chat breaks, all of which we could hear. I suggest avoiding this location if at all possible.

Other amenities: We did not use the restaurant, so I cannot comment on the quality of the food. The prices however seemed quite a bit high for fairly regular food, even higher than hawaii standards.

There is a business center, fitness center, pool bar, pool, hot tub, etc.

The pool is small but fine. There were plenty of chairs while we were there. The hot tub was never quite hot enough for whatever reason, possibly due to the weather that week.


Overall: It is hard to know how this hotel would have been with better weather. We did notice an unusual amount of older guests, but that may just be how Hawaii is. This hotel had kind of a slow sleepy pace and feel to it. However the quality of everything was good, so if you just need a place to crash at night and relax, this should be a pretty good option. If you are looking for a wild place to spend a lot of time partying at, or a fantastic beach in front of the hotel, this may not be the best choice.

Room Tip: I checked in on foursquare when I arrived, and there was a deal for an upgrade to a ocean-view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The location of this property is ideal to see the island! It is at the half-way point between exploring the north and the south of the island. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We stayed in the Discovery Suite which was absolutely amazing! Extremely spacious and comfortable. Whale watching right from our balcony! Great layout....I loved that you could shower while looking out at the ocean! :) We loved the hot tub and pool area with the surround fireplace. Cozy bar....they make great smoothies for the kids. Every meal we had at the restaurant was good and they had a good selection of wines at reasonable prices. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squishyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel had everything we needed to have a great time in Kauai. It is conveniently located in Kapaa on the East shore. Not far from airport, greeted at check in with a mai tai, great helpful staff, very comfy bed and pillows, nice hot tub, shopping less than a mile away, beachfront close by. The pool was cold but we didn't care. Be aware there is a 14.00 a day parking charge at the hotel. Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The garden view room we stayed in was peaceful and we didn't need the ocean view to enjoy oursel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

What a nice property! The ocean front location is beautiful, and the customer service was outstanding (more on that later). As others mentioned, the hotel is almost finished with renovation. The highlight is the "firepit" feature that surrounds one corner of the pool. Perfect for hanging out in the evening and talking with fellow travellers. Also, the solid wood plantation shutters in the rooms are gorgeous. The location is pretty much equidistant from both the North and South shores, making exploring easy. Now for customer service: my husband is a Premium Elite Marriot member. We have stayed in other properties where the desk clerk thanked him for his loyalty, but at this hotel, he recieved a personal letter from the GM. We were also upgraded to an ocean front room, which was much appreciated. The real test came this past Wed evening, when a transformer fire caused an island-wide blackout from approx. 5:00- 9:00 pm. The food services manager had his staff fire up the bbq, and they were grilling steak, fish, and chicken sandwiches for the guests. How nice to sit out by the pool, by the light of tiki torches, candles, and some emergency lights, and enjoy a nice meal. Kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitbytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This staff works to make sure you are comfortable and taken care of. Beachfront property with a great pool, free Internet, excellent coffee in the room (Kauai Coffee is smooth & really good!), hot tub, restaurant and a bar.... everything was better than expected.

Notable: Clean - comfortable - within walking distance of the Coconut Marketplace with plenty of shops (Crazy Shirts, eateries and the like) ....

TIP: know that you are going to have to pay the $14 per day for parking but there is NO resort fee so you should negotiate your lowest possible rate before you get there.

Room Tip: The hotel will get very busy at times during the year - so consider an ocean view before you make yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $167 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing