We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our 11 nights stay was comfortable with beautiful ocean/mountain views room. The hotel is 10 mins from Lihue airport. It is located in the middle of the island, so is great if you plan on seeing the entire island. Room was clean and comfortable, the grounds were pleasant, clean and well kept. The staff was extremaly nice and helpful. We spent the most of our time out exploring the island, but we really enjoyed our time in this hotel. The beach is great for walking and enjoying the waves ( not for swimming). Breakfast buffet (yummy fresh fruits), and dinner at the hotel restaurant were great (especially Kauai Roast Fish wrapped in banana leaf).
We enjoyed drives to Waimea Canion, Kilauea Lighthouse, Princeville, Hanalei Bay, Anini and Kee Beach, Lucky Lady katamaran tour to breathtaking Polihale and Na Pali coast and also kayaking to secret waterfall and Fern Grotto.
We were very happy with our choice. Great time!

Room Tip: Top 4th floor with cathedral ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chevalier_park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,550 - 1,556 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

Only two real negatives here:
The obnoxious $15 parking fee. Yes, per NIGHT! Factor this into your price comparisons. a car is a must for getting around.
The "free internet" is nothing more than a bizarre TV setup with an internet channel, with no way to plug in your laptop. Very lame, useful only for checking email. Whoever decided to install this system should be shown the door! Even worse, the wireless network in the lobby is not iPad compatible - the browser pop-up to sign on never appears (yes, my popup blocker was off). Someone needs to get on that ASAP. The infrastructure is there, Marriott, how about getting it to work?!
The hotel itself is top-notch, and the rooms themselves are fine - clean, albeit a little small, quite narrow, with a very small balcony in the economy parking-lot view room I had. Of course, this is Kauai - what kind of dummy stays in the room?! The central location is perfect for going North or South. The beach here isn't great, but pretty to look at, and the pool looks very nice too (I didn't get a chance to sample it or the restaurant & bar). LOTS of beaches close by, of course.
I didn't see any sign of construction in my early Jan. 2012 stay, maybe it's all done?
Restuarant tips:
Mark's place in the Puhi industrial park for lunch may be the best plate lunch on Kauai - if you can find it. Awesome teriyaki beef and cheap!
Meme Thai on the highway is almost in walking distance. Good food, perhaps the slowest service ever, even for laid-back Kauai. Bring something to read while waiting! BYOB.
Hanalei Dolphin at Hanalei. Outrageously expensive for OK food. You pay for the view, which is indeed awesome.
Mariachi's, the Mexican restaurant at Nakawiliwil harbor (just south of the airport) has pretty good food at affordable prices (you don't see that word often here). No view, but a great place, Ignore the parking gate in the lot and drive around the back to exit (LOL).

Last but not least: the Princeville Ranch zipline is the best on Kauai, rivaling the Arenal zipline in Costa Rica. It's $125 a pop, and worth it. Book early, it fills up fast.

Room Tip: The stairs are the way to go, so don't get a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcmacguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel was very nice. And unless your really picky about the small stuff them you will really enjoy your stay. So now I will list the small bad stuff then the good,lol. The elevators are really slow, so just take the steps. The free coffee service in the mornings runs out about every 10 minutes so your always waiting. We were there for the storm of the century and our balcony door leaked and soaked about 8 feet of the carpet around the door, and the bathrooms are tiny. Now for the good, it's clean, the grounds are top notch, pool is very nice, beach is very nice, the staff is super nice especially the bellmen, it;s very close to two awesome waterfalls, and the best part is that because of the location you can drive to the north shore or far southwest shore in an hour or less. Make sure you drive the entire island too.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoulardMarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

When we booked this hotel we weren't expecting a whole lot but we were pleasantly surprized.

Although there was construction going on, the staff made it easy to negotiate the renovations.

The room was very spacious. One of the bigger rooms I've stayed in. And a small useful veranda too.

It may not have been a busy time but it was extremely quiet at night. Easy to get a good nights rest.

The beach is a few steps from the hotel. it's long, private and beautiful at sunset. The hotel had plenty of beach towels. There are beach loungers there, no shade but a convienient gorgeous BEACH!!!

The Marriot has a great outdoor fireplace. After jumping into the ocean or getting out of the hot tub it was nice to sit around the fireplace and warm up and chat.

The staff was very accomodating. Helpful with all things-hotel. We even got a welcome cocktail and 1/2 price appetizers upon arrival!

The location was fine, we had a car so we got around easily anyway. It was close enough to get to all the businesses but isolated enough so you could feel "the quiet".

All in All, I loved this hotel.

Room Tip: facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Putnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our room was very clean and close to the elevator.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilaueagirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon the end of feb, beginning of march. The hotel was much nicer than we expected, especially considering the pricing. We thought it could be rated a 4 star hotel. The staff was always kind, helpful & made great recommendations for local dining. We booked our excursions through the activities center, and also our car rental. The car rental was cheaper than any deal we found online & cheaper than going through our USAA membership. The only setback of this location was that the waters are rougher on the east side, but you are close enough to visit both the north & south shores. The only thing we didn't like about our actual room was the small bathroom... and hot showers should be taken in the am, not pm (we noticed that all public restrooms on the island did not have hot water, only cold). Enjoy the beach during the day & hot tub at night!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The Marriott Courtyard is on the beach away from the highway outside of Kapaa, 8 miles for the airport in Lihue. There are hundreds of towering palm trees in the area and make an interesting photo. The hotel had just undergone an complete renovation, everything was freshly painted, and the rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I had booked a Garden View room, but we ended up with an Ocean View room. The pool area and the beach were very well maintained as was all of the property. We had breakfast the first morning at the hotel, but a few minutes walk away at the Coconut Marketplace you can get more food for less money. There are a couple of grocery stores and many restaurants a short walk away. We would recommend the Courtyard, the only complaint we have was the exhaust fan in the bathroom came on at random, no control and it was extremely loud even with the bathroom door closed it would wake you up. We were on the top floor so that may have contributed to the problem with the proximity to the fan. The location of the Courtyard is more central to the island than are the resorts in Princeville to the North and Poipu to the South, both are remote and don't have as many choices for dining and shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms would have a nice view of the picturesque grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenAndJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
141 reviews
14.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $229 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing