We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

we stayed at the end of January 2012. The staff was very nice and helpful. Even though the hotel was remodeled the rooms were not. the first room we were given had a musty ordor.the next room was not as bad but still had that same smell.
the location is convenient, the sunrise was wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharri82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Kauai. I'm glad you felt the staff was friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves in delivering true Aloha. I apologize you had odor problems with your room. I have since made sure housekeeping thoroughly inspect these rooms and had the issue addressed. We hope you return soon so we can fully meet your expectations. I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy the sunrise and many more await you in Kauai!! Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Marriott on coconut beach in late January 2012. The staff was great, they heard we were on our honeymoon and upgraded us to a beautiful ocean front room on the forth floor! The room was beautiful with vaulted ceilings and a spectacular view and balcony. We enjoyed the beach and pool area very much. The staff treated us very well and gave us a bottle of champagne to enjoy in the courtyard! I understand that renovations had just been finished when we arrived and they were very nicely done! We thought the restaurant and bar were very good though if I had one complaint it would be that the dinner menu was small, and that the scheduled breakfast buffet wasn't on when we expected due to the lower number of guests that weekend. However they did give us free mimosa's with our breakfast since we were disappointed! All in all great experience, and because of our expience there we booked into a Marriott on the big island for the final leg of our trip as well! If we are lucky enough to go back to Hawaii I will definitely be booking us back in there!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyandbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel! My husband & I just returned from a beautiful vacation to Kauai. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and affordable. I think the best part of staying here is the location. Perfect location for sightseeing around the island. The staff are friendly and helpful, very relaxing pool area and the fire pit is a wonderful site after a long day on the island. We were lucky enough to see the whales from our lawnchair and the last day on our island, while waiting for our flight . . . an endangered monk seal decided to sun himself on the beach of the hotel. Couldn't have asked for a better vacation or hotel to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paradise-hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have stayed at this property for the past 3 years (2010, 2011, 2012) in an oceanfront room & have loved it! The room is very spacious & the balcony really is on the ocean. How great to wake to the sound of the Pacific Ocean & a glorious sunrise. This property is quiet, off of the highway & has great staff. For a Hawaiin vacation, it is also great value and good dining close by.

Room Tip: ocean front rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stargirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent three nights there in January, and found everything about the property to be outstanding. Accommodations were clean and comfortable, the location was perfect, and the staff was courteous and efficient. We had a great time sitting by the pool at night, enjoying the fire from gas-heated lava rocks. The beach is wonderful, as are the sunrises. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, and everything on the island is within an hour and a half drive. Many are much closer. We enjoyed drives to the north shore and to Waimea Canyon. Great time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I would not hesitate to stay here or recommend this hotel. The $13 million remodel shows! The staff bends over backwards to help. They are friendly and are tidying areas to maintain a spotless hotel. It was SO comfortable with space outside to relax, swim, read with space between areas. From hammocks to comfy outdoor couch furnitue and wicker chaise lounges on the beach, it was not hard to find privacy. You can take a leisurely walk along the beach or open area to Coconut Marketplace or Hukilau Lanai for a great meal avoiding crowds. I really feel I would choose it over the more crowded Poipu hotels.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a larger lanai/patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Staying at this hotel now. Wow what a find! Property is really centrally located, oceanfront and beautiful! More for adults than kids as there is no swimming beach, kids programs or other kids around. Amazing happy hour w $4 frosty tropical drinks! Nice pool w chillin' firepit and waterfalls. Staff is very friendly and helpful. You can drive north or south easily. Nice restaurant (with nightly music which u can hear in the expansive public areas), bar, internet lounge, spa, tennis court and gym in hotel. Valet parking is incl in price of $14 a night. Lounge chairs, cozy round 'room for 2' sofas and benches scattered throughout 11 acre property. Swimmable Lydgate beach is a short drive where there are snorkling lagoons that work nicely when its rough water elsewhere. Many good restaurants nearby (fish, steak, sushi, pizza, chinese, mexican) most w specials, live music and happy hours. Their public space renovations are completed and wow! Negatives are few. Small ants found in bathroom but you have to know you are visiting a tropical island. Pool is not heated and was too cold in Febuary. This place is big and elevators were far from our room. Rooms are a nice size but bathroom are small and room needs updating. Believe me, the positives far outweigh the negatives. Get your best price, we went through blue hawaii and book it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $167 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing