We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay... even with the ongoing renovation construction...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the small side, but very nice. We had a small balcony with a pool and ocean view. The housekeeping staff, front desk, bar, waitresses, ... were all very friendly and efficient. The relocated lobby was not too inconvenient. The noise of the construction was infrequently annoying.
Location and property was also very nice. Evening entertainment at the bar lounge was good.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,749)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in mid-October for a few nights. The lobby's walled off, along with nearby hallways, and everyone enters though a side door. They gave us a 50% off one appetizer coupon for any inconvenience - which seemed a bit skimpy to me (we also got a welcome drink but I don't know if that was part of it too). The pool isn't too big, but looks nice with a firepit area and lighted fountains next to it. Water is cold though - if it's heated, it isn't by much. My wife tried relaxing one day by the pool but the construction noise was a bit much. For the most part though we were out and about the island, so the construction wasn't an issue. Room renovations are next on the list per the construction timeline photos they posted.

On check-in, they allowed us to switch rooms when the first was next to the elevators and too loud, which was nice since the change was an upgrade to an ocean view. Front desk staff was always friendly and helpful - in fact, everyone was friendly throughout. If you pay more for ocean views and want a nice balcony, you should verify what kind of room you'll get; some have a full balcony, while others have only a small side balcony barely large enough for two chairs. The room was fine. Furnishings are a bit dated as is the carpet, but I really didn't think they were that bad, and only a slight musty smell that air-con took away quickly, which isn't bad for a room in the the tropics with carpeting. Rooms have a more tropical decor than a typical Courtyard. The bathroom is where most will find fault, and needs the most renovations, but that can only do so much. It's tiny - 8 feet square (maybe). 1/3's the tub, 1/3's the sink & counter, leaving the toilet and the door (opens inward) for the remaining 1/3. The door only clears the toilet rim by an inch or so. It's okay, but two people can't fit in it unless one's in the tub.

The beach isn't for swimming here, as with most properties in this area of Kauai, but plenty are a short drive away. Parking's about $15. We never ate at there - lots of good places in Kapaa. You can get coffee and Starbucks and drinks for the fridge in the room at Safeway just down the road; both are walkable or a 1 minute drive. I brought a Frommer's guide (it's also on line) and had good recommendations there for all places we ate around there, except some have closed since publication, so call ahead.

I guess overall it comes down to price. If you get a good rate compared to other similar properties, you should be fine. If it's about the same, I'd say try elsewhere - at least until the work is done.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prolix50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We were entirely delighted with our stay at this hotel. The amenities are being improved as I write but the poolside arrangements are finished and absolutely terrific. The management of the hotel is second to none and we found the service and food excellent. The delight of this hotel is that there is a real sense of being away from home- of actually being in Hawaii, rather than simply being in a classy resort hotel. Why bother to travel thousands of miles for what may be on your back yard.
The ocean front room that we were in was glorious with the sound of the surf on our doorstep.
All in all a magical experience and one we would recommend without hesitation. We hope that the final upgrades do not lose the essence of the hotel as is whoch has a really special 'feel' to it.

Room Tip: Ocean Front
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

If you are planning to explore the island and just need a place centrally located on Kauai, as a base, then I would recommend this hotel. There were renovations being done to the front lobby which made everyone enter through the left side. Our oceanfront was to the side and more ocean view and far to the right, so a long walk. They said it was to keep us far away from the noise of construction. We had also asked about renovations before we booked and they did not post the information for our travel agent. The rooms are musty but you get used to it quickly. The grounds are nice with a lovely fire pit to warm around at night. The bar and restaurant are quite good, although a bit pricey for breakfast, at least. The best thing was the front valet parking/porter who was friendly and in a good mood all the time.

Room Tip: Excellent base to explore the island. Laundry room on each floor. Get a higher floor and pool view...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelVBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for your comments and I’m glad you appreciate our key location. By mid-December our renovations will be complete and we will be a Courtyard like no other. Our new fire and water features have been a beautiful addition to our courtyard pool area. Thank you for pointing that out and I will share your comments about our friendly staff. We are the Embrace of Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

A true trip to paradise! We have been staying here off and on for several days now and are finally relaxing from our lives on the mainland. Up check in, you are treated with a "welcome" mai tai, which is a nice treat. Our room is very spacious and updated, with a wonderful ocean view. The hotel has recently been acquired by a Courtyard Marriott group and new updates are in the works. A new lobby and fitness room are currently in progress. If you like to get out and get dirty, they even have a washer and dryer. The staff is the best! We are pleasantly surprised at how welcoming the entire staff is, especially the front desk. They all make you feel like family. We would definitely recommend this hotel! P.S. Apparently, there is a rule here that you cannot build any higher than the tallest coconut tree!

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor because they have high ceilings, making the rooms seem so spacious.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed for just a few nights and had an oceanfront room with a king bed. The oceanfront rooms really are right next to the beach. Nothing beats falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves and waking up to the sunrise from your bed. The room really smelled musty, but sort-of expected with a room right on the beach. It was a bit distracting, but we got used to it (worth it for the view). Beds and pillows weren't the most comfortable, but having a king made it easier to sleep. Bathrooms were pretty nice, lots of space in the unit (they seemed bigger than the non-oceanfront rooms). The major issue we had was the location of the AC vent - you couldn't have it running while you sat on the bed or the couch because it blew directly on your head. Also, doesn't seem like the fan ever cut off, even with it on auto. We turned it on just to cool the room down, and then turned it off for the rest of the evening.

Pool area was really nice - big cushioned chairs for 2 scattered around, hammocks, hot tub, and a fire pit in the evening. Only had one breakfast and one dinner-to-go from the restaurant - both were reasonably decent. There was music and hula dancing (including drums) for what looked like a wedding party breakfast at 7:30am one morning. Seemed a bit unreasonable for the guests still sleeping, but we were already coming back from breakfast out so it didn't bother us.

Overall, we were happy with our oceanfront unit - worth a little bit extra to not face the pool and to be able to hear the waves as you fall asleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubagal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Since Marriott has such a fine reputation and our visits to other Marriotts over the years have been positive, we were particularly disappointed with this property. We understand that they have only recently become part of the Marriott group, they have a long way to go.

Our room, which smelled, had to be changed, words with the clerk when I told her I didn't want to be looking at "homeless people" on the beach, were not appreciated.

The restaurant service was deplorable - apparently no one told the staff that a group of almost 30 were checking in. Breakfasts, which we waited a long time for, did NOT come with bread unless you asked for it.

One of our group had dinner at the bar and could not get ANYTHING to go with his main course - no bread, no salad, etc.

There was NO restaurant to have dinner on the premises at all and it was a walk in the dark to the next door hotel to have a meal.

The pool area was very nice, but the "beach" was hardly a beach at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MickieB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback especially coming from someone that understands the Marriott reputation. We have already made tremendous progress since your visit. Our Courtyard is completely finished, new televisions have been installed and the rejuvenation of Voyager Grille is complete. I’m sorry you were disappointed in our restaurant service. I have shared your comments with the team and we have made many new changes to our operations since your stay. By mid-December our Transformation will be complete and I hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you. I am confident we can meet your expectations. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $169 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing