We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice and clean rooms, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, nice and clean rooms, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We came here with our 2 boys and loved this place!!! The ocean is too harsh to go inside with kids, but the pool and jacuzi are great. The Island has amazing beaches close by with life gards. A shirt drive to the amazing north and all other amazing placed to see in this beautiful island. We came in at 10 AM and got a nice big room, we love this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikiPeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    724
    244
    86
    44
See reviews for
317
987
81
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We spent 6 days in the hotel for my wife's birthday. This is our 3rd trip to Kauai and 10th trip to HI islands. We tried a package deal through United. The location in Kapa'a makes it easy to walk to restaurants, shopping and beaches. The staff generally is pleasant, a few behind the desk that can be a bit unfriendly, but otherwise a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldExplorer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Kauai at Coconut Beach. I am disappointed to hear the less than perfect comments about the staff. That is very unusual and I sincerely apologize for that experience. We promote "Hospitality with Aloha" here at the courtyard and we let you down. We hope you return soon so we can provide you an even better experience in the future!! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our room was lovely, clean, and comfortable. All of the friendly and helpful staff was truly the icing on the cake. We had great view of the pool and beach. We came to get married and have our honeymoon so we had a full week there and we had no complaints; we actually got married right down on the beach just outside the hotel. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSV333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the last 3 nights we were visiting Kauai. The location is great for those that want to be close to shops and restaurants. It is on the ocean, but the water is too rough for swimming. The staff was great and very helpful. The room was a typical Courtyard by Marriot room, but slightly smaller.

Our favorite thing was the nice view from the swimming pool and bar. The worst hotel feature was the tiny lanai, barely big enough for 2 chairs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your business. Please make sure you ask for me next time you stay with us and I will ensure you get a larger lanai. we do have some a little smaller than others. We are very proud of our Courtyard views. This was one of the first areas improved with our $15 million dollar Transformation!! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our experience with this hotel was overall positive. Our room was clean and very neat....no musty smells or anything that was overlooked by housekeeping. But....we didn't care for the a.c. at all. It clicked on and off intermittently all night with blasts of cold air directed at the beds. We had to turn it rather high to help the problem. The grounds were well kept. The pool area was hosed down and the pool itself was spotless. Noticed the wide walkway in front of the bar was regularly vacuumed for sand etc. We liked how there was a big jug of ice cold water with lemon/lime slices available in the lower level. Looked forward to a refreshing drink whenever we passed it. Even though there was some construction....for us it was not bothersome or noisy. They did the painting around the pool and vicinity in the early morning hours. The service was overall very good. The thing that stood out with this Marriott hotel was the cleanliness. Everything about it was clean.....from the sweet smelling bed linens to the scrubbed pool deck and grounds. Wouldn't hesitate to patronize this Courtyard Marriott hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahinewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We have a great housekeeping staff that works hard everyday to exceed expectations. I will make sure your comments are shared with all team members. Hopefully you return soon!!! Mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard because we needed an extra two nights stay until we checked into our condo. It was a great stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Yes they are under some construction and remodel and the pool was closed but I felt they compensated us well for it. They did not charge for parking and provided free breakfast both days. If I had planned to be there for my whole stay I would have been really frustrated especially if I had kids with me. The workout room was small but worked fine. It is nice that they are right on the ocean and you can take a nice walk just out their back door. The room was spacious and comfortable. The deck we had was small with no real great view but for the deal we got I don't have one complaint. Our objective wasn't to hang out at the hotel anyways and I felt it lived up to Marriott standards. The beach it is on is not a swimming beach but nice for walking by.

Room Tip: Best room view is Ocean Front but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onehotjogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for the great comments. Many guests find us very convenient for pre and post condo stays. Hopefully you can stay longer with us next time. We appreciate the loyalty during the short time we had to close our pool area. We tried to do all we could to alleviate any inconvenience. You should see it now!!! Follow us on Facebook as we complete our $15 million dollar Transformation. Our new hot tub turned out awesome and our fitness center will be much larger and state of the art. I will share your comments with the team.....Mahalo and hope to see you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Awesome place! Loved our stay! The Restraunt had good food and ambiance. we love the east side location. Beach is very nice. The view from our room was gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginanorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We appreciate your business and look forward to having you as our guest in the future! Thank you for your kind comments. We are definitely the most centrally located hotel on the island and offer some of the best views. Hurry back....Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
6.8 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach

Property: Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1402 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard Kaua'i At Coconut Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing