We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execllent! much better than the photos.... Beautiful resort”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
rancho cucamonga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Execllent! much better than the photos.... Beautiful resort”
Reviewed October 22, 2006

Just left PONO-Kai, SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE PHOTOS! Our 2drm was large, nice, clean and well equipted. Building A-D are excellent ocean view. Nice activites, employees, rentals, internet, and beautiful grounds. Super location for traveling the island. Not a swimming ocean, but TERRIFIC ocean view . Great family resort as well. HIGHLY recommend this resort for your kaui experience.
The Millers.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank millers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    305
    114
    51
    34
See reviews for
201
353
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Five twenty-somethings (who are also School Psychologists) stayed at the Pono Kai over Labor Day weekend. I booked the room through Arned Forces Vacation Club and did not know what to expect. We had a 3 bedroom apartment and it was great!It was furnished very nicely, had great A/C, a small lanai with two chairs, pots and pans, and a a full kitchen. We loved it!! It was so close to downtown Kapaa andthere were many cute restuarants and coffee shops. I was actually surprised just how nice our unit was! I do believe that each unit is individually owned, and therefore the decor varies, but ours was very nice! One thing the beach nearby is not useable. You need to drive a bit to get to the beach, but that is not really an issue. I would highly recommend this place and would stay again.

  • Liked — Loaction, big, clean room, and good A/C
  • Disliked — Front desk staff confused. Check out time is 10 a.m. instead of 11 a.m.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlohaNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

My family and I arrived at the Pono Kai not expecting the Ritz but definitely something nice according to the reviews. I must say that the room was clean and nice. However the grounds, beach and pool are in bad shape. The pool is a joke. It is just a rectangle in the ground and had several local children in it. There is no restaurant facility on the grounds so forget about laying out at the pool and enjoying that pina colada. We were so disappointed that we checked out right away and stayed somewhere else. I also must include that Kapaa is a very busy city and it is in desperate need of a face lift. You are much better off staying in Poipu. If you dont care about the pool, grounds or setting than this place is for you. When we checked out right away, the staff didn't even ask why. Sounds like this happens all the time!

  • Disliked — The pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont stay here. Even the locals joke about it.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cbsnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We just returned from 5 days at the Pono Kai in June 2006. We were very satisfied with the resort. We got there late at night, and the resort was very charming with all the tiki torches lighting our way. In the morning, we were not disappointed. The grounds were well kept, the room was clean and spacious, the people there were very friendly and helpful. Our room was first floor, oceanfront, building B. We enjoyed the sunrise almost every day and felt we had the entire yard as our own private patio. Only slightly negative thing was that the people above us must not have had carpeted floors. It sounded very loud when they were walking around above us. Every morning when they got up at 6 AM, we were up too as it sounded like they were moving furniture up there! This was such a minor complaint I almost didn't want to mention it. Getting up that early enabled us to see the sunrise, so it may have actually been a good thing. The grounds had croquet, golf putting, a pretty fish pond, a lending library, a courtesy room to store your luggage in. The orientation at the resort on Sunday mornings is a good way to find out what tours are available. They want you to decide instantly what you want to do, but I don't think that is necessary. The conscierge staff are very helpful and friendly. You can rent beach chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards from them as well. The beach is not much to speak of and on a few days looked like it could use some tidying up, but it was still enjoyable to spend a few hours there relaxing when we had time. We would definitely go back to Pono Kai and can't wait to do so.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank ghuff507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 5, 2006

The Pono Kai Resort is much nicer than some of the reviews. We were there March 06 and had an absolute wonderful vacation. The unit we had was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly. The pool area was very nice. Was sceptical of the pool size because of previous reviews but we found it very nice and the hot tub and sauna were also nice. Loved the location lots of shopping and good restaurants nearby. Would highly recommend the Olympic Cafe and Wahoos. Great food. We definatley will stay at the Pono Kai again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ma
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2005

Normally I check Travel Advisor before I visit a resort. This time I'm glad I didn't because most of the other reviews don't sound like the same place. We had a very large two bedroom unit right on the ocean. This is a large resort so it is possible they stagger refurbishments but our unit seemed pretty new and had a fantastic view out. I should note that a number of units are set away from the ocean witch may explain the different reactions. The pool is small but we didn't use it. We did enjoy feeding the fish in their large fish pond. The staff was helpful and I witnessed them accomodate someone whose reservation had been at another place

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank PekingDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2005

My partner and our two seventeen month old twins just finished staying at Pono Kai for one week, (November 5 through 12). First I will tell of the few negative items, then the positive items.

We got to Pono Kai late in the evening due to a late plane arrival. We had been assured in past phone calls that cribs would not be a problem, just let the front desk know when you arrive. Even with that I called the morning we left and they noted on our reservation that we needed them. When we called on arrival we were told that cribs were not guaranteed and that they may or may not be in the room when we arrived. That was bad news to two people who had just spent seven hours on a plane and needed to be able to put their babies to sleep, (no cribs = no sleep). When we got there they still didn't know if we had cribs, we were told to check our rooms. Thankfully the person I had talked to in the morning had gotten house keeping to put them in there. It would have saved A LOT of stress if they had better communications. The moral of the story is if you are arriving late and need a crib, bring your own portable one. There is a Walmart on the island where you can buy a portable crib for about $40. Pono Kai charges $20 per week to rent their cribs.
The second negative thing was the rooms are nice and roomy with every thing you need. But if you need the furnishings to be new and updated, then you will be not be satisfied. Every thing was clean, but is was of Home Depot quaility and a little old.
The last negative was that the pool is small and there is just one jacuzzi. If you look to those items as a big need, then for as many units as they have the pool space is limited.
There a number of positive items about the Pono Kai. The two units we stayed in were clean, and reasonably roomy. They came furnished with all the cooking items you might need. The bar-b-ques that were placed all over the grounds worked very well. The housekeeping staff was attentive, though not terribly well organized. The grounds were kept up very nicely. We needed to stay an extra night and they made a one bedroom unit available to us at $99.00, (a real bargain). The Pono Kai also has an extra room with a bathroom and a TV and a microwave/kicthen area available. This is for use by guests who have a late plane and need to check out by 10AM, (Pono Kai checkout time). This was a real great feature for us we had a departure time of 10PM and this allowed us to tour the island and come back later for a quick shower and some down time for the babies.

This a a good family resort for those who like to have a comfortable place where they can cook their own food and want a centrally located resort. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Bruce081957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
4.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Property: Pono Kai Resort
Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing