We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great, not so bad...”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
NH
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so great, not so bad...”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We went there and got married on the beach while there. That is why we stayed in the Pona Kai resort. The staff was very friendly to us and helped us find a destination wedding planner before we got there. Kauaiesa.com. Steve the owner was awesome and we had a great wedding experience with him.
Well, as mentioned in some of the other reviews, if you are not a member of this resort or an owner there, you get put in the buildings near the road. We were also right next to the tennis court with the bright flood lights beaming in most of the night. The traffic on the road was loud in the room as we heard every beat of every sub-woofered vehicle on the island.
The room was not bad but we had bought food on the way in and then discovered there was no stove. So eggs, non-microwaveable pizzas all went to waste. The fridge was of the small under cabinet variety and nicely froze our regular food, such as our waters and jams etc.
The pool was nice, the place was clean, and within easy walking distance of many places to eat. We liked the Olympic pub right down the street. Oh and the shaved ice place right next door gave us huge globs of ice compared to other shaved ice spots.
So as long as your an owner there, don't think you will be by the beach or have ocean views.
One last thing both the chickens and the cock roaches were very friendly.......check your luggage before going home. I must say the maintenance guy did come and spray the room with bug spray and the resort had a professional company come later in the day do a better job.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakesrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    309
    114
    51
    34
See reviews for
203
356
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We ended up buying a week time share off of someone from RCI who wasn't able to use their week, so we got a good deal, so it was definately good value! We were two couples travelling together. Our room was a two bedroom, two bathroom, and it was very sapcious. The unit we were in was partially renovates, the bathrooms wern't the nicest, but the kitchen was a good size. The grounds were well groomed and really beautiful. We didn't use the pool, but we used the hot tub almost every night. There was lots to do like croquet, tennis, and shuffleboard, and you didn't have to pay extra to borrow equiptment. The workout facility was pathetic, it was a bow flex, a bike, and one other piece of cardio equiptment.... don't bring workout gear in other words! They had beach mats and towels that you could use which was nice. At check out time, they didn't hold bags for you, you could leave them in there hospitality room that was always open which I wasn't comfortable leaving my bags unlocked and unattended. We didn't like how big into trying to sell you activities they were, we attended there "Island Orientation" which is jut a bunch of tourism companies trying to sell you Luau's, Whale Watching, etc. It is worth going to, as they give you tips as to where the hote spots are, and it is good information. We ended up getting sucked into going to a timeshare presentation, so we got 2 for 1 on a boat cruise up the Napali coast. Our boat cruise was first, and we drove an hour to get to it, and found out that this time of year they only go whale watching, so we cancelled it, and then didn't go to the time share presentation. I was mad because we wasted a whole day, and they never gave us this information at the time of booking. There is so much to do and see in Hawaii, that I know have the opinion that there is no need to book acitivies. you can explore yourself. For the value this place has, I would still recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TavelAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

For the second time in a year and a half, we stayed at Pono Kai. We were in building A on the second floor, rm 208. This is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath. The kitchen appliances were horrible.The fridge was rusty, the stove burners didn't fit and only 2 were working. The microwave is from the 1980's and didn't heat very well. The people above us never stopped moving. It sounded like they were pushing chairs on tile floor and slamming drawers. It started at 4:30am and went on until 11 pm. The view was great though. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We were steps from the ocean. My parents are "gold" timeshare owners with Bluegreen. If this is the best, then I have to question this "gold" status. I love Kauai and I love Kapa'a. This place is such a great location, it's a shame they don't update the buildings. They also don't offer free wi-fi. It's forty bucks a week. This place has great potential, but they blow it with nickel and diming everyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squirrellygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We have just finished our 7 night stay at Pono Kai resort. All our interactions and dealings with the private owner of the condo we're perfect! Location is great, Kaapa is an awesome little town and you are walking distance to small shops and galleries and some nice restaurants, the beach is on your doorstep.

Unfortunatley the condo being a part of Pono Kai is it's only negative. After check in we we're told if we wanted to book any activities to see the activites desk, we declined saying we would do most things ourselves. We were then told about the introduction to the island 'get together' by the pool the next morning at 8am - again we expressed we were not interested. 7:45am the next morning (first day of vacation!) we received a phone call asking if we were coming to the introduction, again we politley declined and mentioned we would be doing things on our own. From then on EVERY day we either received a phone call (to which we declined our welcome package and explained our reasons) or a voice mail on the condos phone telling us we could pick up our welcome package any time. Sometimes the calls came in the afternoon sometimes 8am - 9 am (early if your on vacation!) We have never stayed in a condo complex like this so maybe it's just the 'norm' and what most people do but we do feel that our initial disinterest and no thankyous should have been enough and we should have been left alone.

In our late 20's, we did feel like the youngest people there.........

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Loved the resort. Close to everything. The staff were very accommodating when a problem arose. The living room furniture could have been a little more comfortable, but then we didn't spend too much time there. Can't wait until we can go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Pono Kai is split between guests staying with Vacation Internationale (VI) and Global Connections. My experience only relates to VI. The one-bedroom unit was roomy and nice. It was clean when we arrived except for one lipstick-stained glass. (yuck) When you arrive, there are nine bath towels in the closet - obviously not enough for one week for two people. About mid-week, I asked the front desk when I would get clean towels. Their first response was "That's why you have a washer/dryer." I asked if I could take the dirty towels to housekeeping and exchange them, and the front desk said yes. Since this was outside their rules, I thought this was good customer service. I took the towels to housekeeping and explained what the front desk said. In an angry tone, I was asked "Who told you that?" I have been traveling to timeshare resorts since 1996, and I have never before been asked to do their laundry for them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Best vacation spot! You need to be in one of the beachfront condos to get the full effect. Get perfect views of the sunrise each morning. Get lots of local color, with the walking path next to the ocean. Very well-kept condos with all the amenities. Responsive staff.
Walking distance to good shopping and restaurants. Well-manicured grounds and swimming pool, etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seacoastmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
4.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Property: Pono Kai Resort
Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing