We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pono Kai Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
233
344
125
54
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
344
125
54
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenputting greenocean frontwalking pathliving roomthe kitchenvacation internationaletennis courtsbuilding btimeshare exchangeevery other dayshuffle boardisland orientationkoi pondono family restauranttime sharewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 790 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The wife and I, enjoyed ourselfs for 5 nights at this resort, but we noticed it is older and outdated it needs some remolding, the room was huge and spacious. we had fun playing tennis, basketball, mini golf and swimming. The staff were very nice and helpful. The resort is close to everything you need within walking distance. The beach did not have much sand to hangout on in front of the resort so we drove to some really nice beaches. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank branlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband I chose to stay at the Pono Kai beginning on August 17th-24th for our honeymoon and were completely disappointed. Although we had a beach view (only positive), the grounds were very underwhelming. It certainly didn't feel like a resort. The rooms were dated and dingy. Our AC unit was clogged and didn’t cool. We called maintenance who came and wet vacuumed the tubes, but did nothing else. The room was unbearably hot and the carpet was soaking wet. The next morning, I called again. They sent someone out to suck the water up from the carpet but the AC still didn’t blow out cold air. The rooms must not have had any insolation because the noise coming from the people above us was ridiculous. Thankfully we woke up early every day on our own or we would have been up due to the people above walking around and shutting doors. The bed was horribly uncomfortable too and should be replaced. Springs were poking up and it went down in the middle of the bed from years of use. We ended up leaving on Thursday to stay at another resort because we couldn’t take another day of the subpar accommodations. There are many other fantastic places to stay in Kauai that are far superior and even less expensive that this resort. We will highly recommend that nobody stay at this location in the future.

Highly disappointed newlywed,

Room Tip: We did have an ocean view which was the only plus. The problem there was that the beach in front of our room had a bunch of trash littering it. I don't recommend this resort to anyone. There are so many others around the island that are far nicer for less money. Don't book here ever!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TCInman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Aloha,

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Pono Kai Resort. Our vacation rental company manages some condos there, but I don’t believe you stayed in one of the condos we manage. It sounds like most of your issues were with the specific room (A/C, mattress, carpet, etc.). For future stays, if you are not pleased with your room, you may want to see if the management company would be willing to move you to a different condo that will make you comfortable. We have done this for past guests. We hope you got to enjoy the fun onsite amenities like volleyball, horseshoes, swimming pool, workout room, and oceanfront bike path. We hope you give the Pono Kai Resort another try in the future and encourage you to browse specific units online to know exactly what to expect when you arrive.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had two rooms, ocean front was amazing. Beautiful views with small beach area. Unit was clean and well maintained. Would have been perfect if it had central air. Only had a room air conditioner in the living room. Had a ceiling fan in bedroom which was fairly comfortable but none of the beachwear dried because of humidity. They do have coin operated washers/dryers in a common area. Grounds were beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely return. It's Hawaii, we didn't spend much time inside. :)

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room. Set your alarm for sunrise. They were breath taking.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jdieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for the review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our vacation rental company manages, but glad you enjoyed the grounds and location. Many guests comment on the central location of this property on the island, which allows for easy access to explore the whole island!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Booked this on last minute through my Global Discovery Vacation club and could not have been more pleased. The unit was perfect overlooking the ocean giving me a fabulous view from my balcony. Enjoyed every sunrise. The 2 bdr unit in E bldg was spacious and clean. The grounds were very well maintained as well as the pool/jacuzzi. Location was great being in the middle of shopping/restaurants and the bike path right along side to take you to other nearby beaches. Traveled solo but did not have trouble meeting many wonderful, friendly people. Booked surfing and luau through hotel and enjoyed both very much. Recommend renting a car as it is not a far drive in either direction to exploring the island. I found the drive north to be better for my taste but depends on what you like. Beautiful either way.

Room Tip: Floors very squeaky so get a top floor if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Christinamari71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Staff was so help full. Room was very clean and stocked with cooking supplies all we had to do was buy food. Very lovely view of the ocean and they have a very nice path to walk and see everything. We were able to book all of our actives through staff. Perfect location shops and great restaurants in walking distance. Really want to go back!!

Room Tip: loved the ground floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews