We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely facility and staff”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
University Place, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely facility and staff”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I have visited Kauai many times and stayed at other facilites. We were upgraded to a two bedroom unit and loved it. My only "dislike" was that we didn't have an ocean view, but our garden view was nice and the grounds are very, very well maintained. No, it's not a 5 star Sheraton type place - but that is excatly why we love it!..If you want the Sheraton, go stay there!! Our room was very clean, towels changed M/W/F. I received very pleasant, helpful information both when I went to the front desk in person and when I called. This is an older building, low key, quiet place and EXACTLY the way we like it. Loved having the island trail right in front of the facility and being within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and grocery stores was very convenient. We would definately stay here again and will request it for our next Kauai vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in H building on the 2nd floor. It was quiet with a nice view of the grounds. Not having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juleshomewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    316
    115
    51
    34
See reviews for
213
357
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is old, run down and disgusting. Location may be great but the rooms are old, floors are creaky, the room shakes when others below you close their doors. The bathroom is nasty, someone else's hairs on the floor and in the bathtub, quite frankly I'm scared to get in the shower. The bed is a queen at best. Horrible start to my honeymoon, I think I'll lose the timeshare points and book a last minute hotel and spend the money. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha,
Our condo management company manages a select few of the condos at the Pono Kai Resort. I have forwarded your comments about this time share to the appropriate person that handles the time share units.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is probably one of the most underrated resorts on Kauai. It is located in Kapaa, practically in the center of town. Convenient walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Easy access to the north and south shore of Kauai. Decent beaches in the vicinity and even nicer ones a short drive away.

The grounds are well kept. The pool is average but convenient. There are plenty of activities (i.e., mini golf) on site which are a joy for vacationers. The resort is located on a nice beach walkway which many joggers use for exercise.

Rooms are economical. They feature a full kitchen, bedroom, and living/dining area. This is critical since meals can get expensive in Hawaii. Resort is very reasonably priced. The location is really what makes this property a must see. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a reasonably priced alternative in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mbotaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

If there is a more beautiful place on earth, I definitely want to go there. Pono Kai is located in Kapaa, basically located in the middle of the island. Though I went by myself this trip, I would recommend it to anyone. If you are looking for shopping, nightlife and big city life stay in Waikiki. If you want peace, beauty and beautiful unspoiled beaches visit Kauai. Plenty to do. As for Pono Kai itself, the rooms are nice and spacious. Laundry room is downstairs. On site is a pool, hot tub, tennis courts, workout room, putting greens. Located on a nice beach walkway. Staff are all real nice and helpful. Only drawback is that you have to go to the front office area to use the free wi-fi. Otherwise this a great place on an absolute beautiful island. Another hint for those who have not traveled to Hawaii before, stop off at Costco or wal-Mart in Lihue for food. Groceries at Safeway,and Foodland are fairly expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great location in Kapaa, room was nice, nice pool and large hot-tub. Grounds were very well kept. If you want to go to a luau, the concierge will make your reservation and get you front row seats. This is a perk they offer for Pono Kai guests. The concierge can also save you $100.00 per person on the helicopter tour at Princeville airport, we found this out the hard way. The welcome reception was informative and didn't take much time, but they did offer good rates and almost everyone in attendance received a two for one special. We would definitely stay here again. Kapaa is a great place to stay in the middle of the island, with shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We traded our Grand Cayman timeshares for two one bedroom units, one with full kitchen, one unit with mini kitchen. Both units were well maintained, the 2nd floor beachfront unit had noise from above for one night, the ground floor garden view could not have been quieter. The grounds were beautifully maintained. The resort is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The employees at the front desk were great as were housekeeping. The concierge meeting on Sunday was too much like listening to used car sales persons, but you do get a free donut, and can leave anytime. The concierges were helpful and polite, though one woman on the late shift seemed more interested in a personal phone call than in helping me. Security personnel are at the resort but more exterior lighting would help. Overall the Pono Kai should be rated as a 3 or 4 level resort but no lower.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ChuckUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Centrally located so you can go to the North Shore and down to the South Shore within 40 Minutes. The room was clean with everything you could need for a weeks stay... Towels & Bathroom necessities provided & plentiful and all the necessities in the kitchen to cook a nice dinner with a barbecue right outside our sliding door to small Patio. Perfect view of the sunset... Opt out for a ocean view. Worth the upgrade...Grounds are neat and clean... Pool area could be updated. Very courteous are reception and helpful... The only bad part they should have some sort of breakfast to accommodate the people on the resort...Be prepared to pay at least $25+ for a simple breakfast any restaurant nearby. Resort perfect for family who want to explore Kauai but make sure you go to supermarket and be prepared to make at least breakfast and lunch. Small fortune to dine in Kauai..

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toniD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Property: Pono Kai Resort
Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing